We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Opt For The Executive Floor Level” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Sorrento Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Ranked #34 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
287 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Opt For The Executive Floor Level”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I stayed at the Hilton for four nights using my HHonors points. Being a diamond member, I was upgraded to the executive floor with access to the executive lounge on the 7th floor - key only entry on the elevator. The executive rooms are large and tastefully furnished. The bathroom had a tub and a separate shower. These rooms all face the water and a view of Vesuvius. The beds are very comfortable, something that we did not experience in some of the other hotels that we stayed in. I have seen pictures of the other rooms and they do appear small and face the rock wall on the other side of the hotel. It's worth paying the extra money for this level as the lounge has food & drink out all day long. Breakfast included bacon, saugage, eggs, cereal, rolls, meats and cheeses, yogurt, juices, etc. A real nice experience. In the evening, they have hot and cold food as well as wines, vodka, gin, etc. And you just help yourself. And Manuela is there to assist you. She runs the Executive Lounge very efficiently. She can also assist with restaurant recs in Sorrento.
To get to town, is a gentle downhill walk. We did not find the walk difficult as has been written in other reviews. We also used the convention entrance and exit to the hotel which saves you some walking to the main entrance.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the executive level. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plasmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,459
    966
    379
    96
    55
See reviews for
835
1,156
50
426
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

To celebrate our 20th anniversary we booked the Hilton as I am a HH member. On arrival we were upgraded to a seaview room and provided access to the excellent Lounge and pool on the 7th floor.

This made a real difference to our holiday as soft drinks and wine were available all day with spirits/beer in the evening. The staff in the lounge were excellent and the food/snacks were of a high quality. The view was amazing from both the lounge and our room.

Being out of the centre of Sorrento was an advantage as it was lovely and quiet at night. Sorrento is a lovely place, but take the trip to Capri, it is amazing.
Overall an excellent break in an excellent hotel. We will be going back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

October 2011 Hilton Hotel Sorrento. Up several steep windy roads from centre of Sorrento. NOT for the less mobile. Modern concrete block, depressing, built into rock face. Single roms very small, dark, dingy and poor quality. Overlooking rock face and road and hotel refuse. Some rooms virtually on the pavement and road. Balconies so small and in long line at either side and above and below. Very low dividing partition between. Absolutely no privacy or appeal. Rooms only have shower no bath. Bed very hard and uncomfortable and pushed against a wall on two sides - not the standard expected of a 4* Hotel. This is primarily a business conference Hotel and not ideal for a holiday. Asked to be moved to better room but due to business conference there were no spare rooms. Hotel full of "Business people at conference" Not good.

Room Tip: Upgrade to very best de-luxe room or suite on 7th Executive Floor. However still stuck with Hotel p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovesquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPR, General Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear Lovesquality,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding the services we supply at our property.

As you can see from the various comments regarding our property, there are diverging opinions concerning its location, some favourable and others less favourable. What I can say is that the walk to the Hotel from the centre of Sorrento is not up several steep windy roads, but maximum a 10 minutes walk, however, this depends on your walking speed and what you consider to be the town centre. If you also check on any map site on the web you can see that closest point of the central Corso Italia is only mt 860 which means about 10 minutes walk as confirmed also by overridejg and salm0n1 who recently posted their comments on Trip Advisor.

Please see the following link:
http://www.tuttocitta.it/tcol/percorsi/sorrento-sorrento?cb=0&cx1=14.37102&cy1=40.62142&dv1=Sorrento (NA), Italia&ind1=Via Sant'Antonio, 13&cx2=14.37005&cy2=40.62478&dv2=Sorrento (NA), Italia&ind2=Corso Italia, 41&tp=p&ccd1=81610&ccd2=81610&op=rs&poi=0000&mtp=1&me=0&ae=0&te=

I regret that your stay did not meet your expectations and that you did not appreciate the room category you booked. We are very attentive when communicating the single room description and size to our Tour Operator and, as also visible on the Tour Operator website, we have different room types, at a different price range.
However, I also understand that it is a matter of taste, which is different from person to person as also testified by Sunstorm2000:
http://www.tripadvisor.it/ShowUserReviews-g187782-d231243-r118243540-Hilton_Sorrento_Palace-Sorrento_Campania.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

As I understand from your comments, the Hotel was fully booked during the period of your stay and, therefore, there was not much we could have done to move you to a different room.

Please rest assured that management takes all comments very seriously and is open to any confrontation or compromise to reasonably accommodate our Guests and this is why we have so many clients returning to the Hilton Sorrento Palace year after year.

I remain at your disposal for any further clarification.

With kind regards,

Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

My husband and I just came back from Italy and ended our 2-week trip with a five-night stay at the Hilton Sorrento Palace. From the minute we walked into our room, and onto the balcony, the view took our breath away. We were only on the second floor and still the view was amazing.

I don't understand any reasons for negative reviews of this hotel.....the rooms were spacious, the bathroom was big and well laid out.

The breakfast room is just wonderful!! You can choose to eat in or outside and out of four hotels in Italy, this one by far had the best breakfast. It was more like a resort in that sense - omelettes and waffles made to order, many choices of breads and sweets and we found the staff to be very attentive.

They even had very-close-to-real maple syrup - for a Canadian, that was much appreciated!

The walk into town is not long at all and we found that after the busy streets of Sorrento, it was actually nice to get away, walk up the hill and go into the hotel for some calm.

The pools were great - but very cold!! But you just can't beat that view across the bay to Naples and Mount Vesuvius.

Our only complaint was that the jute-type carpeting in our room was a bit dirty. It took us a day to figure out that this is why the bottoms of our feet were getting black. After that, we took advantage of the free slippers!!

And the local rooster that crowed us awake every morning around 5 a.m. just added to the experience!!

A very enjoyable hotel - I'd recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Bay........
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mortyatport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

the hotel was not really Hilton standard. Service all in all ok. Bad cleaning was bad. Service in restaurant was very poor. Some waiter are occupied by 150% the higher level waiter just on idle. Used dishes over almost hours on empty tables. This was very low service permormance in general. Food was good.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPR, General Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear Mario 12345,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience at our property and for your positive comments about the food, it is always a pleasure for us to know when our Guests appreciate what we provide.

Concerning the service received, as the Hotel has three different restaurants, I would be grateful if you can give me more details about it.

I very muck look forward to hearing from you soon in order to further investigate the issue and come back to you with a satisfactory answer.

With kind regards,

Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Although as not up to date as a typical Hilton hotel room, the rooms were very spacious, quiet and well appointed. The beds were extremely comfortable.
The position, up above Sorrento, is first class and is just high enough to overlook the surrounding buildings out to the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius in the distance, just be prepared for the short'ish (10 min) walk down a bit of a hill to get to Sorrento town centre.
The breakfast was first class with all the trimmings and was well serviced by the staff.
The bar area is second to none and opens out onto a deck that also overlooks the bay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roddy_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

I spent 3 nights in this hotel and only recommendation I can give is to use it for the business eg. conferences as generally hotel lives from them. During my stay it was few of them. For such standard breakfast was rather poor and Internet costs 22 EUR a day what is quite to much.
Electricity steering in the rooms is very loud and TV comes from previous century
Pluses are location - 10 minutes walk to center of Sorrento and view to Vesuvius and bay of Naples.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichalK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sorrento Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sorrento Palace

Property: Hilton Sorrento Palace
Address: Via S. Antonio 13, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sorrento Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting destination all year round, the Hilton Sorrento Palace retains its charm throughout the seasons. The Hilton Sorrento Palace is only 5 minutes away from the historical centre of Sorrento, which is the ideal for shopping 7 days a week or enjoying the bustling nightlife. The Hotel offers a breathtaking sea view: just in front of you the enchanting Gulf of Naples dominated by Mount Vesuvius and from behind Punta Campanella you may catch a glimpse of the exclusive Isle of Capri. The Hotel offers rooms with sea view, garden view, mountain view and family rooms for 3 or 4 people. All Executive Rooms, Deluxe and Suites have large windows and balconies with breathtaking views over the Bay of Naples. Executive and Suite Guests also enjoy exclusive access to the Settimo Club Lounge, where a rich and varied buffet is always available and a private swimming pool waits for you. The property is located a 5-minute drive away from the port of Sorrento, where guests can catch ferries to the island of Capri. The Amalfi Coast is 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Hilton Sorrento Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sorrento Palace Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Palace
Sorrento Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing