We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change in Executive Lounge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Ranked #32 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Change in Executive Lounge”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in July 2010 and as he is a Daimond Member we were upgraded and had use of the executive lounge which we loved. The staff were just wonderful and so attentive. We enjoyed it so much we booked for the following year. On arrival however we were told that although we had been upgraded we could not use the Loung on the 7th floor, now called Settiomo Club but could only use the other executive loungs on 2nd floor which had no sunbathing area etc. We were told this change had just been made the month before our arrival. We complained as my husband still had Diamond status and eventually very grudgingly we were allowed access but the attitude of those at the front desk spoiled our first few days and would not like to be treated in that way again. Is this a new policy and has anyone else been upgraded but only to 2nd floor use?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,594
    1,021
    394
    99
    58
See reviews for
889
1,235
52
475
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Amazing experience. Hotel, food, staff, views, indoor pool were amazing. Maybe because it was not crowded during the off season but the staff was incredible. Everyone was extremely helpful and would do anything for my family. Antonio at the door and Gennero at the bar get special recognition. This hotel is well managed without a doubt.

Room Tip: You want sea view not cliff view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomeLessZeroSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights back in Sept. - Oct. 2011 and our experience was fantastic. We booked a standard room on Hilton points. By the time of our trip, my husband was a Hilton diamond member and we were upgraded to the executive floor with a room that had an amazing view of the hillside and bay of Naples. The floor was quiet, clean and our room was huge and modern. The executive lounge was wonderful for catching a few appetizers and a glass of wine before heading down to dinner in town. It also has great views of Sorrento and the bay of Naples.

We ate a small breakfast in the executive lounge a couple mornings and then tried the larger breakfast buffet. We were able to eat on the veranda each day and it was a nice spread. We ate dinner in the hotel once and it was good, although I thought the food in town was better for the price. Luckily, although it was Sept/Oct, it was still warm enough for the pools to be open which I found to be clean and chairs were readily available. They also made a delicious lemon margarita.

The hotel is up at bit on a hill so you will need to walk into town, which we did each night. The trip takes about 5-15 minutes depending on traffic and where you are going, It was about a 10 minute walk to the train station and longer to the marinas. So long as you have no mobility issues, the walk is not a problem and fairly easy. I felt safe walking everywhere around Sorrento. I would suggest getting a taxi to the hotel when checking in or out as walking while trying to maneuver large bags towards the train station wasn't the easiest thing.

Overall, the staff was very friendly and helpful in answering questions. The only annoyance I had was that you had to get a new wireless password every 24 hours. So long as you remember to grab one before you head up for the night, it shouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sap0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in mid-February. From arrival to departure the staff were fantastic. As another reviewer stated I maybe, as a long standing diamond member, I may have gotten an excellent room. However I can only comment on how were treated for our stay. We woke each morning to see Vesuvius, covered in snow, across the Bay of Naples. Of course at this time of the year the hotel was not packed by any imagination, and therefore I guess there was a somewhat reduced staffing level. That said we just could not have asked for better attention from those members of staff that we interacted with. I do agree that it being on the edge of the town at the end of some steep roads, a shuttle, a la Rome would be a bonus, as the local taxis are exorbitant.
Some members of staff were so friendly and helpful that I sent an email to Paolo Pedrazzini, naming and applauding their level of service.
But all that said we would certainly return, and plan to do so.

Room Tip: Ensure you get one facing the Bay of Naples as the back of the hotel faces a sheer rock face.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Would rate this hotel 3.5 stars if we could. Nice comfortable hotel in Sorrento although up a bit of a hill and 15 min walk from town centre. Good views of Vesuvius in the distance.

Facilities are good with a nice pool and a couple of bars/restaurants. The prices are very high given this is not a Four Seasons/Aman resort [but the whole region is generally over priced!]. Park on the road [a biy fiddly but better than the €20 a day the hotel charges]

A bit of a trek from the airport and Amalfi etc, if driving yourself in a hire car but the transportataion in the region is somewhat hampered by the narrow [if beautiful & spectacular] coast road. Not too bad to get to Pompeii though.

Definately recommend a trip to Ravello - and the Caruso hotel in particular for dinner [make sure you go and see the pool !!]

Room Tip: definately avoid rooms on the back [hillside] esp on the ground floor as they are right by the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KL_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPR, General Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear KL_Sue,

I do appreciate your taking the time to write, it is invaluable to us to get feedback as it helps us to see what we are doing right and wrong and where changes should be made. It also helps us recognise and reward a job well done.

Should you decide to return to Sorrento, we would, of course, be delighted to welcome you back to the Hilton Sorrento Palace.

Do not hesitate to contact me should you need any further assistance.

With kind regards,

Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Ended two weeks of touring with 5 days relaxation stay. Views are great , rooms more than adequate clean and airy .Great pools , no need to reserve loungers with a towel early which is such a pain = small tip every day helps.
Lovely walk to town, about 20 minutes.Shuttle there bur exercise much better.
Went in for every dinner and wanted to stay in order to try more restaurants and night life.
Numbers of tour groups makes it a bit trafficky,but gives it life as well.
Would certainly return.

Room Tip: Higher floors , facing Pools and the Bay of Naples
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jacky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urmston Manchester UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

After a great stay last year, we decided to stay in Sorrento again and the Hilton was our first choice, albeit mainly for the indoor pool - which due to the weather was a Godsend with a little one (nine).

They have changed a few things slightly, the exec floor is now only accessible by room key and they now present an egg menu with breakfast, they've done away with minibars in favour of a vending machine. But it retains its charm and these changes are not really for the better nor for the worse.

We were placed in a family room which was disappointing as two fo the beds were broken, so in the morning we asked for a room change. They duly obliged, upgrading us to two joined seaview rooms with balcony. And to top it off a nice bottle of Spumante and a small toy for our little to apologise. They even moved all our clothes etc so we did not need to pack / unpack again.

Reception staff were great with lots of advice on where to eat in the town or surrounding areas, the bar staff were very attentive but discrete - only there when you needed them and not using you to talk to pass time, unless you wanted to.

Highlight was snow on the terrace on Sunday evening, one of the bar staff has worked for the hotel for 30 years and had never seen snow on the terrace, so they were all excited and taking photos of it. It was great to share a personal experience with them.

Finally upon check out there was a mix up on the rooms, and we were overcharged by one night, but Pina on reception was patient worked through it all with us and spoke to central reservations to sort the issue.

Overall excellent service as usual slightly changed but it had no real affect on our stay. We are going to go back in the summer when the weather is better!

Room Tip: Get a sea view room otherwise you will face a cliff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acydman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,291 reviews
1.2 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sorrento Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sorrento Palace

Property: Hilton Sorrento Palace
Address: Via S. Antonio 13, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sorrento Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting destination all year round, the Hilton Sorrento Palace retains its charm throughout the seasons. The Hilton Sorrento Palace is only 5 minutes away from the historical centre of Sorrento, which is the ideal for shopping 7 days a week or enjoying the bustling nightlife. The Hotel offers a breathtaking sea view: just in front of you the enchanting Gulf of Naples dominated by Mount Vesuvius and from behind Punta Campanella you may catch a glimpse of the exclusive Isle of Capri. The Hotel offers rooms with sea view, garden view, mountain view and family rooms for 3 or 4 people. All Executive Rooms, Deluxe and Suites have large windows and balconies with breathtaking views over the Bay of Naples. Executive and Suite Guests also enjoy exclusive access to the Settimo Club Lounge, where a rich and varied buffet is always available and a private swimming pool waits for you. The property is located a 5-minute drive away from the port of Sorrento, where guests can catch ferries to the island of Capri. The Amalfi Coast is 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Sorrento Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sorrento Palace Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Palace
Sorrento Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing