We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the word "Palace" in their name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Ranked #31 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

pro
- furnishing of Executive Rooms
- service at Executive Lounge

contra
- definitely no hospitality at check-in by Hans (no warm welcome or anything like that)
- hostel-like Deluxe rooms (welcome for a timeshift back to the 70')
- main pool (shedule a demolition)
- water quality of pool
- service at breakfast on the main buffet
- style of the breakfast restaurant (chow hall?)
- appearance of the building (outside)
- opening hours of Executive Lounge (closing way too early)
- snack selection at Executive Lounge
- dinnerware wasn't clean (wherever)
- the blinds light up the room in orange/red in the morning instead delivering darkness
- quality of food from room service
- poor WIFI quality at Executive Room as well at Deluxe Room

Most of the Hilton Hotels in Europe are more upscale compared to the US. Don't expect this in any kind for a visit of the Hilton Sorrento (no, not Palace). Forget to feel welcome as Hilton Diamond Member, even with advance notice by American Express Centurion Service.

Yes, you can see the Vesuv?

Room Tip: Don't even think about booking a non Executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HighMountain18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPR, General Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear HighMountain18,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience at our property and for your positive thoughts on the Executive Lounge.

In regards of the quality of the pool water, I would like to inform you that the water treatment system is fully automated and computer controlled and it is set to monitor pool chemical content and pH levels every 20 minutes and depending on the readings, the pool is dosed accordingly. Back-washing of the sand filters and topping the pool up with fresh water daily is standard practice to further enhance pool water quality. The chlorine and pH levels of the pool are also monitored manually every 2 hours on top of the automated checks. We strongly feel that such protocol is enough to ensure that the quality of water is more than acceptable for our guests to enjoy a swim without any microbiological risk.

With regards to the other comments, I carefully read all of your impressions and I will personally discuss them with the relevant Management Team.

I am sorry to hear you did not feel welcome as Hilton Diamond Member and even sorrier that you did not try to contact me directly, so that I could have addressed your concerns in person and made your stay more enjoyable and pleasant.

I would value the opportunity to restore your confidence in the Hilton Sorrento Palace and would appreciate if you could contact me directly may you wish to come back to Sorrento, so that we can provide you with exemplary service that keeps so many Guests returning to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,949 - 1,955 of 3,498 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

There are some great things about this hotel and a few things they could really get better.

So, what's good? We had access to the Settimo Lounge on the top floor and this totally made the holiday. Beware if you are a diamond card holder...you won't automatically get access so it's worth checking this out. The staff in the lounge were lovely and we spent most of our days here...without being able to use this I am not sure I would have still given the hotel a 4 * rating.

The views from the hotel were amazing so I think it's worth paying the extra for the rooms with views.

The hotel is a 5- 10minute walk from Sorrento. We really enjoyed the walk but some people may find getting back a bit challenging as it is a short walk up quite a steep hill. There used to be a bus from the town but this has now stopped and taxis are hideously expensive....15-20€ from the train station which is minutes away.

Reception staff were very mixed...some helpful and polite, a few more rude and unhelpful. One of the staff claimed there was no wi-fi in the hotel. This was totally wrong, we were even entitled to free wi-fi with our diamond card and it's available everywhere in the hotel. It had nothing to do with a language misunderstanding, it seemed more like he just couldn't be bothered to sort it
It. The next day I asked someone else and it was sorted straight away. I saw reception staff be openly quite rude to another guest who was being perfectly civil.

Onto the rooms.....they are a really good size and all seem to have balconies. The decor is very, very tired however we could see a refurbishment programme was underway so I guess it's pot luck on whether you get a new room or an old one. We hardly spent anytime in our room so whilst they weren't great it. Are no difference to our stay.

The public areas of the hotel were very clean, the bathroom in our room never felt clean and toothpaste marks etc were still there days later. Partly this may be because the facilities are old so it may be hard for them to ever look sparkling clean.

I can see why dedicated Hilton customers have posted reviews saying they are disappointed. The hotel is good but not consistent however if you know this when you go you will have a lovely time!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view and one of the newer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCCCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed for a total of ten nights.
overall meets Hilton standards ( and I have stayed in many in all corners of the world).
Agree with most comments on the room. big bathroom, whacky orange decor in the bedroom, Ikea type stand for tube tv and mini, bar. Small safe in the mini-bar, key operated.

Reception is a bit hit and miss. Most of the men behind reception seem to have forgotten how to smile. Do not ask for too much information at once as this could confuse them. Simple things like asking at checkin, if you need a key for the mini safe, appear to be too much trouble.

Restaurants throughout hotel serve good food. Good breakfast, great views and service if you have dinner on the terrace. Only minor negative, is the the menu is limited compared to many restaurants in town.

Poolside bar is good for snacks but service can be hit and miss. "Headless chickens" spring to mind. We complained during our stay and the issue was sportingly resolved by the manager.

Do take evening drinks in the bar. The staff are great. Better to order wine by the bottle as 10 Euro a glass is a bit steep.

Fantastic pool and garden area with plenty of sun beds and parasol. ( you will not get this in the centre of town)

I am surprised about all the comments regarding the walk to and from town. If you want a room on the cliffs in Sorrento you will pay at least double the price of the Hilton. We are in our 50's and the walk into town takes 10 minutes, downhill. This of course means a up hill trek on the way back. 15 minutes, at a leasurely pace, 20 if you stop for a beer on the way up. This is the price for taking a hillside hotel with magnificent views, and the benefit that at night, you do not hear the traffic in the town.

In conclusion, a great place to stay with many friendly and helpful staff. And remember this is a holiday resort, so who cares about the tv!

Room Tip: the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave1NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The best thing at this hotel is its waterfall shaped pool. It is large and there are always enough sunbeds for everybody. Another great thing is the view, as you can always admire Vesuvies while swimming, eating breakfast or enjoying a drink on the terrace.
At breakfast it was annoying that there were never any vegetables served.
Hílton is clean, but a very costly hotel. Some of the personnel are so overwhelmingly helpful that it is pretencious - it doesn't feel very genuine. Others seem that they don't care. They just do their work and are not exactly friendly.
Common areas, especially the stairways are extremely beautiful. Also the inside pool is very beautiful with its Roman style.
Rooms are nice and spacious, but you can hear everything from the corridors; at least our room was located so that we couldn't sleep properly.
Hilton is situated nicely, not too far from the centre of Sorrento and the beautiful beaches. It is easy to do trips from this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TainaEspoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPR, General Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Matka-arvostelut,

Thank you very much for communicating your experience at the Hilton Sorrento Palace and for your positive comments.

We appreciate the opportunity to hear our Guests’ opinion concerning our property and take this as constructive feedback that can help us better our service.
For this reason, I am pleased to inform you that we are working on the sound proof issues reported from some of our Guestrooms.

I would be delighted if you chose to return to our property and would appreciate if you contacted me should you wish to arrange your next holiday in Sorrento.

With kind regards,

Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Hotel is immaculately clean. Bright colors remind me of MIlan. Staff are clearly there for their guests , as they were always very attentive. Rooms are spacious with large bathrroms.Common areas are beautiful with white floors and bold orange colors on walls and draperies.Pool area also very clean with beautiful gardens.Had a lovely dinner in the lemon gardens . Food and wait staff also excllent . Breakfast buffet was huge ! The only minor problem was that there was only one chef making eggs, omelets and waffles for many guests, therefore there was long lines to receive same. I would definitely stay here again if in Sorrento.

Room Tip: Balcony, pool side of hotel has excellent view of Sorrento and Mt. Vesuvius.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed in Sorrento for three nights. Its a small town and you can walk to anywhere in the town. With luggage its a bit too far and we paid 15 Euros for a taxi from the station to the hotel.
Check in was smooth.
Room was large but furniture very basic. The pools were excellent buy the pool side restaurant way overpriced.
The breakfast is excellent and plentiful-- with excellent pancakes and fresh orange juice.
The balconies are a welcome change to other European hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miles28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

sorrento is a nice small town in the south of Italy close to amalphy coast, vesuvio montain, napoly, and capry, the hotel is located about 1 km from the sea shore. the hotel has all the facilities for tourists : beautiful view, big garden, nice indoor and outdoor, the staff were very friendly. we enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arina1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sorrento Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sorrento Palace

Address: Via S. Antonio 13, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £162 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sorrento Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting destination all year round, the Hilton Sorrento Palace retains its charm throughout the seasons. The Hilton Sorrento Palace is only 5 minutes away from the historical centre of Sorrento, which is the ideal for shopping 7 days a week or enjoying the bustling nightlife. The Hotel offers a breathtaking sea view: just in front of you the enchanting Gulf of Naples dominated by Mount Vesuvius and from behind Punta Campanella you may catch a glimpse of the exclusive Isle of Capri. The Hotel offers rooms with sea view, garden view, mountain view and family rooms for 3 or 4 people. All Executive Rooms, Deluxe and Suites have large windows and balconies with breathtaking views over the Bay of Naples. Executive and Suite Guests also enjoy exclusive access to the Settimo Club Lounge, where a rich and varied buffet is always available and a private swimming pool waits for you. The property is located a 5-minute drive away from the port of Sorrento, where guests can catch ferries to the island of Capri. The Amalfi Coast is 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Sorrento Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sorrento Palace Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Palace
Sorrento Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing