We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location , location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Ranked #34 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location , location!”
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for a few nights, as the last leg of our Italy trip. The room was less than basic, especially after some of the fancier boutique hotels of Rome & Florence. We reserved a king sized room, but what we got were three individually made twin sized beds - not so romantic. An update may be due, However, they were clean, and our balcony view of Mt. Vesuvius & the bay could not be beat. All staff we encountered we're gracious & helpful with all of our inquiries.

Access to the Executive Lounge made a huge difference to our experience, again, with fantastic views from the balcony.

Hotel location was a convenient, safe walk to the action. We would definitely stay here again, but perhaps request a better room.

Few complaints/recommendations:
- Room safe is inadequate for storing all electronics, I-pads.
- To avoid frustration, they should have a card in the room instructing guests that the safe key needs to be obtained at the reception desk, as well as the daily wifi code - Better yet, this should be given out at check-in, especially for diamond members.
* * * Update your web page!!! - we spent over one hour driving in circles, trying to find the hotel which is attached to an incorrect, nonexistent GPS location. Your web page should warn guests of this, as should any reservation confirmation paperwork! The only negative service from reception was to this complaint, and the reply was, "Sorry, we know about it, but can't do anything about it," & that they expect guests to call in advance to find this out...how would you know to call for the true coordinates if you don't know the ones that come up will be wrong?! Please have your web master make corrections/additions to this effect. No one wants to get stressed when you're in paradise.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPR, General Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Annmarie W,

Thank you for your positive comments on this website and I wanted to personally respond and thank you.

Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations. It was particularly pleasing to see that your impression of our staff was good and that you felt well taken care of during your stay.

As far as the location is concerned, I am deeply sorry someone responded you that “we can’t do anything about it” as in-fact we are working on it and have asked Hilton to add a “GPS address“ field on our website.

Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sorrento Palace.

With kindest regards,


Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,543
    1,001
    385
    97
    57
See reviews for
867
1,207
51
455
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
279 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We are a family of 3 and Marriott platinum members after being gold HIlton members for years. We were staying 6 nights in Sorrento with our 8 year old son. When planning this vacation 10 months out, the room prices of the Hilton were astronomical. We booked a lovely apartment in town. About 6 weeks out, the prices dropped drastically and with the help of a lovely Daniela Somma, we decided to change locations and take an EXECUTIVE level king bed room for the 6 nights. The main motivation was the access to a pool on HOT Italian afternoons after a morning of sightseeing.
We arrived from Naples and at 3pm had to wait about :30 minutes for our room to be ready. We were on the 4th floor executive room (431) and was very roomy and larger than we expected. There was a small bed nicely made for our son. Everything seemed clean and beds made up perfectly.
This hotel room is a bit strange. There are virtually NO drawers for storage of clothes and the closet is a rack - no doors, nothing. There were 3 small drawers in a cabinet the safe was attached to. They were small enough and held underwear and pjs for each of us but that was it. Plan on hanging all your clothes or living out of your suitcase, like we did. The hotel was nice enough to leave a bottle of complimentary water every day. The views from the shared terrace were amazing and did not disappoint! We met some American neighbors who warned us NOT to close the sliding glass doors out to the private/shared terrace area. It would lock us out from the room and others had already used their room as a way to get back into the hotel.
The 7th floor executive lounge made a welcome treat every morning for breakfast. A lovely and always stocked array of breads, muffins, cereals, bacon, fresh squeezed OJ and champagne! The executive pool was nice for adults, of course our son preferred the regular pool.
We had a couple lunches at the pagoda bar and room service. I was surprised that the menu and hours online were nothing like the menu and hours once we were there. Prices typical for hotel food and the good enough. No complaints. You get used to paying 5 euro for a coke light quickly in Italy!
We had a pleasant stay and the pool was fun, beautiful and worth every penny. The staff
always was helpful and recommended some fantastic restaurants and helped everytime our room key would not work (about 5 times? elevator troubles too our last day)
My warnings would be - for the regular prices of rooms in this hotel, you could end up with a view of a cliff, a room with interesting furnishings (we saw in other rooms) and the general building and rooms could use some 'freshening up'. The outside walls when sitting at the pool are chipping and peeling and not very attrative. The 'cover' in the room over the fridge was water damaged or warped at the bottom of the unit. The tables in the lobby have been repaired and painted over and seem like a home decorating project I would do at home, not at Hilton. My son and a friend had a game of who found the most pool tiles that were on the floor of the pool one day? There were so many that had come up they were always stepping on them.
it is a simple and lovely walk to the Piazzo Tasso area. A little sweat uphill but we never felt any threat or danger even later. Well lit and pleasant enough walk.
For kids, you cannot go wrong with the outstanding pools. Just not at full rate.

Room Tip: Executive level on 4th floor - great amenities in the lounge..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

After staying staying in Rome at the Rome Caveleri, also a Hilton property, this hotel was a huge disappointment. The staff was unfriendly, rude, and unhelpful.
The rooms were cheap looking as they had torn bed linens, scuffed walls, an ancient television, refrigerator and safe. The thermostat in the room was not adjustable and was set at approximately 75 - 76 degrees. One member of our party has asthma and had a hard time breathing. The hotel manager was unwilling to adjust the temperature of the room and refused to provide a fan for air circulation.
As for the location, it is not ideal. It is a good 15 minute walk which was challenging for an elderly member of our party. The hotel does not provide a shuttle into town and a taxi ran $15 euros. If you are fortunate enough to get a room facing the water, the view was beautiful. Our room faced a parking lot and hillside.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPR, General Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Christie K,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience at our property.

I regret that your stay did not meet your expectations and that you did not appreciate the room category you booked. As also visible on our website we have different types, at a different price range.

I would also like to explain with regards to the air conditioned that, according to the norm UNI 10.339, our system does not allow the inside temperature to go extremely low in comparison to the outside temperature.
During this season we have experienced a long period of exceptional heat and humidity which is certainly not the norm for Sorrento.

As you can see from the various comments regarding our property, there are diverging opinions concerning its location, some favourable and others less favourable. What I can say is that the walk to the Hotel from the centre of Sorrento is not up several steep windy roads, but maximum a 10 minutes walk, however, this depends on your walking speed and what you consider to be the town centre. If you also check on any map site on the web you can see that closest point of the central Corso Italia is only mt 860 which means about 10 minutes walk.

Please rest assured that management takes all comments very seriously and is open to any confrontation or compromise to reasonably accommodate our Guests and this is why we have so many clients returning to the Hilton Sorrento Palace year after year.

I remain at your disposal for any further clarification.

With kind regards,


Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We arrived home last week from staying at this Hotel.

- The pool area is amazing. It consists of 6 pools and we never felt they were overcrowded.
- The room was lovely and big with a balcony but they could do with updating the colours as they consited of organge and yellow. Balcony was lovely but the partition between between each room only came up to my hip so not alot of privacy. We were at the back of the hotel and facing the cliff which didnt bother us at all.
- The lounge and communal areas were fab and kept very well - the only downside was i used the gym once and there was no air-con in the room so it was extremely hot so i didnt return after that.
-We had dinner at the hotel once and it was quite pricey for what we received. I have to admit there was better food down the town for cheaper. But the views were amazing and i guess that is what you pay for.
-Most of the staff were lovely and friendly but once or twice we encountered some "old school" snobbery - maybe due to it being the Hilton chain.
-The only major complaint was the noise in the rooms. We did not hear the guests in the room next door but every night sleep felt like we were sleeping out on the corridor. The noise was ridiculous but reading previous posts, i know i am not alone in my opinion of this. Not once did we wake up feeling rested due to the interrrupted sleep every night/morning.

Overall it is a lovely hotel but when we return to Sorrento we will try another hotel as i believer there are better hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamh197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

While the rooms are purely functional, the views can't be beat. If you are Hilton Gold, the club floor offers free happy hour every day!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motownpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

pro
- furnishing of Executive Rooms
- service at Executive Lounge

contra
- definitely no hospitality at check-in by Hans (no warm welcome or anything like that)
- hostel-like Deluxe rooms (welcome for a timeshift back to the 70')
- main pool (shedule a demolition)
- water quality of pool
- service at breakfast on the main buffet
- style of the breakfast restaurant (chow hall?)
- appearance of the building (outside)
- opening hours of Executive Lounge (closing way too early)
- snack selection at Executive Lounge
- dinnerware wasn't clean (wherever)
- the blinds light up the room in orange/red in the morning instead delivering darkness
- quality of food from room service
- poor WIFI quality at Executive Room as well at Deluxe Room

Most of the Hilton Hotels in Europe are more upscale compared to the US. Don't expect this in any kind for a visit of the Hilton Sorrento (no, not Palace). Forget to feel welcome as Hilton Diamond Member, even with advance notice by American Express Centurion Service.

Yes, you can see the Vesuv?

Room Tip: Don't even think about booking a non Executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HighMountain18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPR, General Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear HighMountain18,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience at our property and for your positive thoughts on the Executive Lounge.

In regards of the quality of the pool water, I would like to inform you that the water treatment system is fully automated and computer controlled and it is set to monitor pool chemical content and pH levels every 20 minutes and depending on the readings, the pool is dosed accordingly. Back-washing of the sand filters and topping the pool up with fresh water daily is standard practice to further enhance pool water quality. The chlorine and pH levels of the pool are also monitored manually every 2 hours on top of the automated checks. We strongly feel that such protocol is enough to ensure that the quality of water is more than acceptable for our guests to enjoy a swim without any microbiological risk.

With regards to the other comments, I carefully read all of your impressions and I will personally discuss them with the relevant Management Team.

I am sorry to hear you did not feel welcome as Hilton Diamond Member and even sorrier that you did not try to contact me directly, so that I could have addressed your concerns in person and made your stay more enjoyable and pleasant.

I would value the opportunity to restore your confidence in the Hilton Sorrento Palace and would appreciate if you could contact me directly may you wish to come back to Sorrento, so that we can provide you with exemplary service that keeps so many Guests returning to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

There are some great things about this hotel and a few things they could really get better.

So, what's good? We had access to the Settimo Lounge on the top floor and this totally made the holiday. Beware if you are a diamond card holder...you won't automatically get access so it's worth checking this out. The staff in the lounge were lovely and we spent most of our days here...without being able to use this I am not sure I would have still given the hotel a 4 * rating.

The views from the hotel were amazing so I think it's worth paying the extra for the rooms with views.

The hotel is a 5- 10minute walk from Sorrento. We really enjoyed the walk but some people may find getting back a bit challenging as it is a short walk up quite a steep hill. There used to be a bus from the town but this has now stopped and taxis are hideously expensive....15-20€ from the train station which is minutes away.

Reception staff were very mixed...some helpful and polite, a few more rude and unhelpful. One of the staff claimed there was no wi-fi in the hotel. This was totally wrong, we were even entitled to free wi-fi with our diamond card and it's available everywhere in the hotel. It had nothing to do with a language misunderstanding, it seemed more like he just couldn't be bothered to sort it
It. The next day I asked someone else and it was sorted straight away. I saw reception staff be openly quite rude to another guest who was being perfectly civil.

Onto the rooms.....they are a really good size and all seem to have balconies. The decor is very, very tired however we could see a refurbishment programme was underway so I guess it's pot luck on whether you get a new room or an old one. We hardly spent anytime in our room so whilst they weren't great it. Are no difference to our stay.

The public areas of the hotel were very clean, the bathroom in our room never felt clean and toothpaste marks etc were still there days later. Partly this may be because the facilities are old so it may be hard for them to ever look sparkling clean.

I can see why dedicated Hilton customers have posted reviews saying they are disappointed. The hotel is good but not consistent however if you know this when you go you will have a lovely time!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view and one of the newer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCCCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sorrento Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sorrento Palace

Property: Hilton Sorrento Palace
Address: Via S. Antonio 13, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sorrento Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting destination all year round, the Hilton Sorrento Palace retains its charm throughout the seasons. The Hilton Sorrento Palace is only 5 minutes away from the historical centre of Sorrento, which is the ideal for shopping 7 days a week or enjoying the bustling nightlife. The Hotel offers a breathtaking sea view: just in front of you the enchanting Gulf of Naples dominated by Mount Vesuvius and from behind Punta Campanella you may catch a glimpse of the exclusive Isle of Capri. The Hotel offers rooms with sea view, garden view, mountain view and family rooms for 3 or 4 people. All Executive Rooms, Deluxe and Suites have large windows and balconies with breathtaking views over the Bay of Naples. Executive and Suite Guests also enjoy exclusive access to the Settimo Club Lounge, where a rich and varied buffet is always available and a private swimming pool waits for you. The property is located a 5-minute drive away from the port of Sorrento, where guests can catch ferries to the island of Capri. The Amalfi Coast is 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Sorrento Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sorrento Palace Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Palace
Sorrento Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing