We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable Hilton Experience...But Lacks Character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Ranked #34 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Reliable Hilton Experience...But Lacks Character”
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

I'm a frequent customer of Hilton Hotels. My wife and I stated the Sorrento Palace for 5 nights in September. We are fortunate to have access to the seventh floor executive lounge and private pool area. This was a very nice perk given the beautiful view and complementary breakfast, snacks and evening bar.

As other reviews have stated, the room furniture was nothing special. In fact some of it was a bit strange. The rooms were quite noisy because the hallways have no carpet, so sound echoes throughout them.

The location was mixed. On one hand, the hotel is situated on a hill with a beautiful vies of Sorrento...on the other hand, it was quite a long walk (15 minutes) into town.

If you are looking for a large multinational hotel chain with predictable service, this is a good choice. If you prefer a hotel that has the character of Sorrento, look elsewhere.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CRSabol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,539
    1,000
    384
    97
    57
See reviews for
866
1,203
51
454
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

A 60's style hotel, kept up to Hilton standards. Wonderful spacious facilities and pool overlooking the bay. I had a bargain non-view king room, which was huge, had the new Hilton bed, and a large pool side patio for cocktails. There were good resturants and shops within walking distance, but luggage required a 20 euro cab ride up the mountain. The local ATAC bus company was on strike without notice(it's Italy).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We just stayed here for three nights and the kids begged us to stay longer! The pool area is magnificent, and entertained the kids all day. We ate at the pool bar and we found it cheaper and better quality than most of the restaurants we ate at in the city. I opted for the cocktail of the day and it was cheaper than my sons sprite..... The breakfast buffet is unbelievable, so big and friendly staff too. The hot breakfast chef cooked eggs to order, as well as crepes, and pancakes. Perfect stay. Plus, we found a shortcut to the main piazza and with two children we walked home from town in under 10 mins. No problem. Only pitfall was it was very difficult to find when we first arrived. Better signage would be my only suggestion.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tropea27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The Hilton Sorrento Palace is a very large hotel. The advantages of this are a wide range of facilities, marvellous pools, and a fantastic view across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius. Checking in and out was efficient and fast (if a little impersonal). Service was excellent whenever we required it; rooms were furnished to a high standard, clean and bright, with a fridge (something that we missed at a lot of smaller hotels). The public areas are very spacious, a little under used and lacking the intimacy of smaller hotels.
The pool area and gardens are extensive, well laid out and busy, with restrooms of the highest standard. There is a poolside bar and restaurant, with service to the lounger for those who require it. We also saw organised activities for the younger children. So tempting were the facilities that we had to take a day out from our busy schedule, (Capri, Amalfi, Pompeii & Vesuvius), to have a day at the pools. There is a fantastic indoor pool that could grace any Roman villa, unfortunately it was closed; I think it is only open in the colder months.
The site of the hotel is up a hill, about a 20 minute walk to the centre of town. Those with mobility problems would require the use of taxis. Be aware, it is only a short distance from the train station but because of the one-way system the taxi ride is much longer and cost us 22 euros before tip.
Some reviewers appear unsuited to the hotel they've chosen, do your homework, read reviews, look on google earth, then decide if this is the hotel for you. The management may consider a shuttle service is a good investment. Asked if she would go back their my wife said "certainly, for the pools and the view, you couldn't match it." If she's happy, I'm happy!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view over the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikehoward13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We only stayed two nights thank goodness because we couldn't carry on with broken sleep for many more nights. My husband is a diamond member and we had booked a family room overlooking the cliff. I knew we wouldn't be in the room much so I wasn't concerned with the view from the room, more with space for all three of us and quiet to sleep. The hotel 'upgraded' us to a family room overlooking the pool but didn't have a balcony like the room we reserved and was by the elevator and stairs. I wasn't too happy with this choice so they showed us a room at the far end of floor two overlooking a garden, this would have been just fine except there was no room for the single bed they were going to some how put between our bed and the wall, where only a side table fit. So we kept the 'upgraded' room, since even our original room was not available. The beds were comfortable and the room was huge, but not one piece of furniture matched and the closet was as previously mentioned a free standing rail against the wall. Since my husband travels with work he stays in Hiltons every month and we make it a point to stay in them when on vacation. I have experienced many and I have never stayed in one that had such tacky, cheap furnishings. Don't even get me started on the slamming of doors, they are large and have to be slammed shut. Hilton really needs to do something about that, I couldn't imagine sleeping there for any length of time, mind you being next to the stairs and elevator did not help our experience.
The pool area is beautiful, the staff were helpful, breakfast was included with our rate and was great, and the executive lounge on the second floor was good too. Lots of positives but the lack of sleep and hideous decorating really lets this Hilton down. Please renovate your rooms to match the rest of the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGD'sMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPR, General Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear KGD’sMOM,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience at our property.

I am sorry you did not like the style of the hotel, which is of course a personal taste.

Thank you very much for your positive comments on the breakfast and pool.

I sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again in the future and would appreciate if you could contact me directly may you wish to come back to Sorrento.

With kind regards,

Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
764 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Recently stay at this hotel in a Deluxe King with access to Executive Area.
It was a fabulous hotel where everything seemed special.
The room was comfortable and although it had a 70's look was cheerful
The breakfast buffet was excellent with tons of choices
We had dinner one night on the outside area facing the water and the lights of the city and the food was very good.
The Executive Lounge is one of the best we have encountered in all of our travels.
At the Hilton Sorrento you are treated like a King
The manager was also very helpful in sorting out a problem with our accommodations.
As travel agents we certainly would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade or use of the Executive Lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickmacross, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

As part of our honeymoon we had planned a week in Sorrento and the Hilton came highly recommended by our travel counsilior so as this was going to be a once in a life time trip we decided to treat ourselves .
What a big mistake, the hotel is located up a hill about a ten minute walk from the town square and is situated in a quiet location.
Upon checkin we were excited by the grandure of the lobby and friendliness of the staff but that was where it began and ended for us. We were shown to our room which was on the ground floor, upon entry to the room we were disappointed by the decor and then when we walked out on to the balcony "the view" which consisted of the delivery entrance and what we thought was an unkept garden and what was once their outdoor restaurant.
They did supply a bottle of cheap champagne as a honeymoon gift. As we were going to be spending little time in the room we left things as they were and decided to enjoy Sorrento .
At night time we realised the rooms weren't sound proofed as between the noise from the delivery entrance from down below and people walking outside our corridor, other room hair dryers blairing it would drive anyone mad but we were on honeymoon and most nights we came back we were "slightly worse for wear" from the fantastic wines in Sorrento and dosed off eventually.
The only good thing i have to say on the hotel was its outdoor pool it was refreshing. Its indoor pool looks fab too but unfortunately its in the same room as their banquet hall !!
We felt robbed as when we booked first we thought " Yea The Hilton" as the brand name carries so well, if we were better off we could have upgraded to an executive room and we may have been writing a different review but in fairness we just expected so much more for what we paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPR, General Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Captainbb,

Thank you very much for communicating your experience at the Hilton Sorrento Palace. We appreciate the opportunity to hear our Guests’ opinion concerning our property and take this as constructive feedback that can help us better our service.


I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
During the months of high occupancy like August and September we sell our rooms by category to make sure that entirely fulfil our promises at the time of reservation.
Please let me know if there has been any problem of communication or with the confirmation you have received by your travel counsellor.

Thank you very much for the nice comments about our staff and pool.

I would be delighted if you chose to return to our property and would appreciate if you contacted me should you wish to arrange your next holiday in Sorrento.

With kind regards,

Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,909 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sorrento Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sorrento Palace

Property: Hilton Sorrento Palace
Address: Via S. Antonio 13, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sorrento Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting destination all year round, the Hilton Sorrento Palace retains its charm throughout the seasons. The Hilton Sorrento Palace is only 5 minutes away from the historical centre of Sorrento, which is the ideal for shopping 7 days a week or enjoying the bustling nightlife. The Hotel offers a breathtaking sea view: just in front of you the enchanting Gulf of Naples dominated by Mount Vesuvius and from behind Punta Campanella you may catch a glimpse of the exclusive Isle of Capri. The Hotel offers rooms with sea view, garden view, mountain view and family rooms for 3 or 4 people. All Executive Rooms, Deluxe and Suites have large windows and balconies with breathtaking views over the Bay of Naples. Executive and Suite Guests also enjoy exclusive access to the Settimo Club Lounge, where a rich and varied buffet is always available and a private swimming pool waits for you. The property is located a 5-minute drive away from the port of Sorrento, where guests can catch ferries to the island of Capri. The Amalfi Coast is 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Sorrento Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sorrento Palace Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Palace
Sorrento Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing