We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Ranked #32 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Chehalis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel is beautiful, clean and the pool is wonderful! The location of the hotel is a little walk from town but the view, the rooms, the pool, the amenities and the staff make it worth the walk. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,631
    1,034
    401
    102
    59
See reviews for
920
1,259
52
477
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Full Disclosure: I'm not usually fond of Hilton. Big lobby, small room, charge for every service. Generally, better service, and cleaner, bigger rooms can be had in hotels that spend less on their lobby. But this place took all that to a new level and then some. The lobby was beautiful, and a good thing that, as the free wifi advertised only operates there, so you might as well get... comforatble isn't really possible. In the room, while the marble flooring in the halls and foyers may look nice, it also echos every sound. But hey, they make so much noise until midnight, and are at it again at 7AM on the service balconies, it isn't like that interupts much of your sleep. Also not present: advertised A/C in the rooms. Thankfully it was cool enough in the evenings we could open our balcony window. Good thing we had one of the few such that were not shared with another room. I kind of expect rooms to come with an ironing board, and a few other simple ammenities that this room also lacked. Wall hangings would be nice, even. Carpet instead of hard fiberglass would might even be expected at well over 200 euro. At least the bed was reasonably comforatable.

Since we were there on business, this was livable. It wasn't costing me anything. At least, that was the plan. We had told them back in March that it would be 2 of us, and had slightly shortened the length of our stay. When we arrived, we confirmed our dates and they informed us we'd be charged and additional 44 euro per night for the second person. Nothing we could do at that point. Then when we left, they charged us for the night we were leaving "early." We are still fighting that, or rather our comany is. We were also charged extra for accidentally logging into the wrong free wifi. Lovely.

Breakfast was included. And I must admit, the fresh squeezed orange juice machine, the coffee and fresh fruit were excellent. Everything else was an attempt at an American style brekfast, and failed horribly. Certainly not worth the extra 44 eruo.

The staff was much less than helpful, checking in and out took 15 to 30 minutes per person, which created ridiclous lines at the desk. Concerierge reccomendations were limited to "go down to the main square." (with a nice paper map and directions).

Were it not for the amazing view of the water and Mt. Vesuvius, it would have been a total wash. I would never pay my own money to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ratio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSorrentoPalace, Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Ratio,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience at our property.

I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay in our hotel especially with regards the rooms and the service we provided.

The extra charge for the second person was agreed with your company, I cannot realize where the miscommunication was.
As far as the noise, it is a shame you did not try to contact me or any of our Front Desk Team Members, so that we could have addressed your concerns in person and arrange for your room to be moved to a quieter side of the hotel and make your stay more enjoyable and pleasant.

Thank you very much for your positive on the comments about the view of your room, the breakfast food.

Dear Ratio, I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again to Sorrento and make sure that your next stay with us will be a memorable one.


Sincerely,

Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Imagine waiting 15 years to go to Sorrento and Positano with your Wife ,
And 1-1/2 days into trip in Rome,
Your Puppies Dies Suddenly!,..
In Your Daughters Arms,..

This Hotel, these wonderful people ,
Who went beyond anywhere else in
Italy we have been

The driver taking us from Sorrento
to Amalfi, and Positano were better,
Than BORA BORA or Gleneagles

We finished the Most Difficult start
On a vacation , thanks to Allesandro,
Guiseppe, and a young gal at reception
with Grace and Calm ,
Thank you Sorrento Hilton Pallace ,
Italy, Molto Gratze
From young Gal at reception to
And Breakfast outside facing the Bay
So Special
Allesandro and Guiseppe ,
We were at home .
American TV channels
Were fun at night..

Room Tip: A higher Floor facing the Bay would be Great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harveyravitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to the Hilton Sorrento Palace in recent years and have once again we found it a lovely relaxing place to stay. The rooms are as to be expected of a Hilton anywhere in the world but the staff make your stay. Warm friendly welcome from all the staff who are immaculate and attentive at all times.

The hotel is just a short walk from the town, bus and train station. Sorrento is an ideal base to see the many attractions around the bay of Naples and the Amalfi coast and would recommend the Sorrento Hilton.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Willynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had read very mixed reviews about this hotel before staying...so were a bit apprehensive. We were staying for two nights with our children aged 14 and 11.
Positives:
Great views over Sorrento (bear in mind the hotel is on a hill so taxi may be needed if you are not a great walker)
Massive family rooms - we had a room with twin beds and a bathroom, leading through sliding doors to a room with huge bed and another small ensuite. This was perfect for us. Admittedly these rooms are facing the back of the building, so no lovely view, but we weren't spending our holiday in the room, so enjoyed the view from the pool and bar.
Helpful reception staff - some great advice on where to dine was given.
Friendly bar staff - remembered our names and greeted us using them.

Negatives:
Breakfast was a bit of a let down - staff not very attentive, lacking in customer care. Choice of food was good though.

Would we stay here again? I'd be tempted to say we'd try somewhere else, but we would never say never!

Room Tip: We were in room 624 and this backs onto the lifts. Although not hugely annoying, we could here the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tazzerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Have just spent 4 nights at this hotel and it was wonderful. We were a little dubious before we went when we read some of the less than flattering reviews but we were thrilled with every aspect of this hotel. Our room and bathroom were large, airy, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. There were complementary toiletries and plenty of snowy white towels. The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was delicious. The gardens are beautiful and both the indoor and outdoor pools are lovely. It is a little distance from the town centre but a 10 minute walk takes you to the main shopping street and the walk back up the hill is easy if you take your time. We are 65 and 76 years old and had no problem with the walk at all. All in all we were puzzled as to exactly what was expected by the people who left bad reviews. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mungbean48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
上海, China
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

we stay here 2 nights in the early May, the hotel location and sea view is good. Breakfeast is acceptable, however the outside swimming pool cannot be used because the temp is low, the inside one is closed for this season. Wifi is really slow.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jingwen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,342 reviews
1.2 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sorrento Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sorrento Palace

Property: Hilton Sorrento Palace
Address: Via S. Antonio 13, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sorrento Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting destination all year round, the Hilton Sorrento Palace retains its charm throughout the seasons. The Hilton Sorrento Palace is only 5 minutes away from the historical centre of Sorrento, which is the ideal for shopping 7 days a week or enjoying the bustling nightlife. The Hotel offers a breathtaking sea view: just in front of you the enchanting Gulf of Naples dominated by Mount Vesuvius and from behind Punta Campanella you may catch a glimpse of the exclusive Isle of Capri. The Hotel offers rooms with sea view, garden view, mountain view and family rooms for 3 or 4 people. All Executive Rooms, Deluxe and Suites have large windows and balconies with breathtaking views over the Bay of Naples. Executive and Suite Guests also enjoy exclusive access to the Settimo Club Lounge, where a rich and varied buffet is always available and a private swimming pool waits for you. The property is located a 5-minute drive away from the port of Sorrento, where guests can catch ferries to the island of Capri. The Amalfi Coast is 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Sorrento Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sorrento Palace Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Palace
Sorrento Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing