We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This would of been 4 star if it was not down to a bad end to our stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Sorrento Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Ranked #34 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“This would of been 4 star if it was not down to a bad end to our stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Hilton from Monday 9th June until Saturday 14th June where we were in Sorrento to get married. I booked this hotel in January through Expedia, paid upfront and emailed immediately the Hilton to explain that we were getting married & to see if we could get a free upgrade (you have to try). I received a polite reply back offering us 2 upgrades offers of EUR 35 or EUR 135 extra per night for different upgrades. They said that any free upgrades could only be given upon check in.

The night before we arrived at the Hilton I sent another email asking if a upgrade was possible.
I did not receive a response.

Upon check in we were told by the receptionist that our room was fully paid for (as we booked / paid through Expedia). I again asked about any free upgrade to be told that we already had a good room.

When we arrived in our room we had a sea view room and a bottle of sparkling wine, we thought this was a very nice gesture and must be from the hotel as we were getting married.

We then enjoyed the rest of our stay at the hotel until it came to checking out.

We had a car booked to take us to Naples airport for our honeymoon and whilst we handed in our key to checkout we were told we had a bill of EUR 170 to pay, when we asked why we were told that it was for the upgrade. We explained that we never agreed to pay for a upgrade and was not even aware that we were given one.

They eventually removed it from the bill so we could leave but we were not very pleased as this was all done in front of other guests and I found it very embarrassing

We then went to Sicily for our honeymoon, upon arrival in Sicily we were given a bottle of prosecco on the house and a seaview room as a gesture for our wedding.

When we returned from our honeymoon 2 weeks later I checked my emails and had 4 from the Hilton.

The first email was sent around 1 hour before we checked in on the 9th June to say we would be upgraded for a cost of one night at EUR 35.00. This email we only saw weeks later plus this was not mentioned to us at the time of check in.

I then had 3 emails from the Hilton asking why we would not pay the extra costs and for me to provide my credit card details.

I emailed back explaining we never agreed this cost and at no time was we even aware of them.

They never even bothered to reply.

It is a beautiful hotel that served us well for our wedding and its a shame that this poor customer service ruined it for us.

We stay regularly at Hilton hotels over the world for business & this has put us off so will avoid them in future. I did mention this in my email to Hilton Sorrento and they did not bother replying so my business cannot be that important to them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigRayleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSorrentoPalace, General Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear CraigRyleigh,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience at our property.

We are sorry about the misunderstanding with our reservation office, and once we realized that you had never confirmed the supplement for getting an upgrade, it was immediately removed.
I would value the opportunity to restore your confidence in the Hilton Sorrento Palace and would appreciate if you could contact me directly may you wish to come back to Sorrento, so that we can provide you with exemplary service that keeps so many Guests returning to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,452
    965
    378
    96
    55
See reviews for
834
1,150
50
424
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Positives: Awesome pool, great executive lounge, WONDERFUL staff at the executive lounge, rooms are large, all rooms have a balcony, beautiful views of the city, short walk into town.

Negatives: No concierge. Since my husband is a diamond member at Hiltons, we were told (without asking) that we would be moved to a better room the 2nd night of our stay. Unfortunately, they moved us to a smaller room that didn't have a view. We tried to talk to them about this, but always were told we had to talk to someone else and never ended up figuring it out. Not a huge deal, but worth noting!

Still would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Tip: Take the tour to Capri through the hotel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSorrentoPalace, General Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Kristy P,

Thank you! I am so glad you found such a plethora of positive attributes of our Hotel and with your stay at the Hilton Sorrento Palace! As a Hilton Honors Member, your feedback is most precious and we truly appreciate your continued loyalty. It was a true pleasure to have you visit us! We hope that if your travels find you on the Sorrento Coast in the future, we will have the wonderful opportunity to welcome you back for another great holiday!

I am so sorry for the misunderstanding in regards to your room upgrade. It is difficult for me to understand exactly what occurred and I just wish you had brought it to my attention while you were still a guest with us, so I could have had the opportunity to address the situation immediately and make certain you were completely satisfied with you room.

My hope now is when you return for another trip to the Hilton, I can assist in your room allocation personally and ensure that you and your husband receive the exemplary service you deserve and that keeps so many Guests returning to our Hotel!

All the Kindest Regards,

Paolo Pedrazzini

General Manager

Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent hotel and facilities. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Location is brilliant and ignore the reviews that say it is up a steep hill - it is up a hill yes, but not a steep one. Would highly recommend to anyone going to Sorrento for a holiday. Breakfast was amazing and the pool simply the best we have ever had.....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 819Jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSorrentoPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Darling 819Jamie,

The entire Hilton Sorrento Palace Team and I wish to say Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us! I am glad to hear you were pleased with your entire holiday and all of the hotel facilities, our location, breakfast and our pools! And thank you for reassuring future Guests that our location on a slight hill is really a benefit!

Should your travels bring you back to Sorrento, we absolutely hope we can welcome you to return to our Hotel! The Team and I remain at your disposal should you need any future assistance!

Warmest Regards,

Tina Vespoli
PA to the General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This is second time we have stayed here in last four years. Great option when traveling with kids. Pools are great as is the breakfast buffet. We have never eaten dinner on property since there are so many great options in town. Quick walk into the town center or to the train station. If you have high status as a Hilton Honors member, the executive lounge is a very nice amenity throughout the day.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingduncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSorrentoPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Dearest Travelingduncs,

On behalf of the whole Hilton Sorrento Palace Team, Thank you for your two wonderful holidays with us! As a Hilton Honors Member, you are one of our most valued Guests and we truly appreciate your continued loyalty. I am so pleased to hear you, and your family, have enjoyed your time spent at our Hotel! Thank you for noting the pools, breakfast and of course the Executive Lounge!

Should your travels bring you to the Sorrento Coast again, we truly hope we can welcome you back to the Hilton Sorrento Palace! The Team and I remain at your disposal for any future reservations or travel plans!

All the Best,

Tina Vespoli
PA to the General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Rey, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Ok, we were there a year ago....the room had a great balcony, great view, comfy bed. The food on the big terrace overlooking the pool was very good, no complaints. But the thing we have not shut up about and compare all others to was the huge buffet breakfast! Food quality was great, and we have NEVER had such delicious coffee! So go and enjoy it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSorrentoPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Mark S,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your experience at the Hilton Sorrento Palace.

We are so glad to read that our services & facilities met your expectations and look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Tina Vespoli
PA to GM & DBD
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

What a great place to stay in Sorrento. We used this hotel as our base for traveling all over (i.e, Amalfi, Sorrento, Capri, Positano, Ravelo, etc. Service was excellent, staff fantastic and the room was so spacious. Anything we needed we received. We had the use of the executive lounge for breakfast and lunch. Breathtaking views of the city. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are planning on visiting the Sorrento. What a gem!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for use of the executive lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSorrentoPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Janice B,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience at our property. We believe travel websites to be a powerful tool, as it is useful for us to grow and better understand how to continually improve our levels of service.

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the Hotel, our food and service.
It is always a pleasure for us to know when our Guests appreciate the services we provide.

Arrivederci,

Tina Vespoli
PA to GM & DBD
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We spent a terrific 2 weeks at the Sorrento Palace, and found it to be absolutely wonderful. We did pay to have an executive room, large bright airy, beautiful 180 degree of the Bay. The facilities this afforded in the Settimo Club on the roof were great. Breakfast on the terrace, but a constant supply of drinks and snacks all day complimentary.Sunbeds and a dip pool, and views to die for.
The hotel l was so spacious, the grounds perfect and so quiet at night. It is a short stroll of 10 minutes to the main street in Sorrento, easy walking there and although uphill return, just a gentle uphill stroll.
The staff were just so helpful and attentive, it would be hard to find better.Thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get Room 607, it is fabulous. Bed looks straight out onto the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmstrongPeteHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSorrentoPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear ArmstrongPeteHeather,

Thank you for your valuable comments concerning your visit at the Hilton Sorrento Palace.

I am pleased to know that you are satisfied with your stay in our Hotel, as we do our best to make sure every Guest's visit is as unforgettable as possible.

We are all looking forward to again welcoming you to Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Tina Vespoli
PA to GM & DBD
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sorrento Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sorrento Palace

Property: Hilton Sorrento Palace
Address: Via S. Antonio 13, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sorrento Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting destination all year round, the Hilton Sorrento Palace retains its charm throughout the seasons. The Hilton Sorrento Palace is only 5 minutes away from the historical centre of Sorrento, which is the ideal for shopping 7 days a week or enjoying the bustling nightlife. The Hotel offers a breathtaking sea view: just in front of you the enchanting Gulf of Naples dominated by Mount Vesuvius and from behind Punta Campanella you may catch a glimpse of the exclusive Isle of Capri. The Hotel offers rooms with sea view, garden view, mountain view and family rooms for 3 or 4 people. All Executive Rooms, Deluxe and Suites have large windows and balconies with breathtaking views over the Bay of Naples. Executive and Suite Guests also enjoy exclusive access to the Settimo Club Lounge, where a rich and varied buffet is always available and a private swimming pool waits for you. The property is located a 5-minute drive away from the port of Sorrento, where guests can catch ferries to the island of Capri. The Amalfi Coast is 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Hilton Sorrento Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sorrento Palace Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Palace
Sorrento Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing