We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$402
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Tonnarella(Sorrento)
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tasso Suites(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$326
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Leone(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Central(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Aminta(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Desiree(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,548)
Filter reviews
3,548 results
Traveller rating
1,803
1,121
447
113
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,803
1,121
447
113
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungeindoor poolkids clubdiamond membersettimo loungebay of naplessea viewlarge hotelfamily roomwalk into townup hillmain restauranttop floormount vesuviusbeautiful hoteltrain stationamazing views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,350 - 1,355 of 3,548 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Booking on the website, we were promised a smoke-free room with Hilton Serenity Bed. We arrived to find the standard, hard European mattress (bottom of the line). We complained, and were told the Level 7 hotel had received a "waiver," meaning although the website promised Hilton standards, they did not have to meet those standards. They tried to accommodate us by adding a comforter to make the bed softer, and we appreciated that. Just as we settled in for the night, our room filled with the choking smell of smoke. We called to complain and were told they would look into it in the morning! Unable to sleep, we called again. Someone came up to inspect our room and offered to move us for the night (What about the people who are smoking?!), and they never addressed the root problem of our neighbors smoking in a non-smoking room! It doesn't help you can hear toilets flushing as well conversations from other rooms as the doors are hollow. The only selling point so far is the view. The hotel is high up on a hill but far away from the city center, and no shuttle is offered. Keep in mind, this place costs $400+ a night. So sad! We were so excited about this trip and this hotel and are still here right now hoping they address the problems. We are still hoping for a way to enjoy this vacation.

Room Tip: Even the lower levels offer a good view of the water.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Honeymooners_811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSorrentoPalace, General Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Honeymooners_811,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience at our property and as a Silver Hilton Honors Member, we appreciate your loyalty and continued patronage.

We are sorry about the misunderstanding and we are so glad you brought your dissatisfaction to our attention during your stay as it gave us the opportunity to rectify the amenity description on our website.

For your stay in Sorrento we had 3 different reservations totalling 4 nights, and only for the reservation on the garden view room we received for the second night it was mistakenly indicated that there would be a serenity bed in the hotel. Of course in an effort to make your stay as comfortable as possible we have granted a garden view upgrade also the first, thind and fourth night.

My Front Desk and Housekeeping Staff informed me that immediate action was taken on your behalf and not only was a comforter added to your bed for additional comfort as you had mentioned in your Trip Advisor comment, but also your mattress was replaced in room 208.

As for the unpleasant smoke smell in your room, we have all realised that it was coming from the bathroom extraction as most probably some other guests were smoking in a room adjacent to yours. We are so sorry if this caused any inconveniences.

The Front Desk Staff offered you a new room that very night, but you declined the offer and wished to remain in your room.

The very next morning, we made certain you were upgraded to an Executive Room, and you were offered complimentary access to our extremely exclusive Settimo Club Lounge on the 7th floor. I hope that this experience restored your confidence in the Hilton Sorrento Palace and made your stay with us much more enjoyable. Personally, I was disappointed to see that you still felt so strongly and so negatively about that first night to deserve such a bad review, as I really feel we tried to accommodate you needs in any possible way and this was the impression I had after meeting with your husband.

I would welcome the opportunity to see you again at the Hilton Sorrento Palace and it will be my pleasure to look after your reservation and room allocation should you wish to visit again the Penisola Sorrentina.

Kindest Regards,

Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
The Hilton Sorrento Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We loved the Hilton Sorrento. It is a walk into town but it isn't far. The pool area was amazing and my children loved it. We didn't even use the Kids Club although that looked like a fun place for younger children. Sorrento is a beautiful little town. Our room was very comfortable. We did have access to the 7th floor lounge which was great for happy hour. The included breakfast was amazing.
The doors to the rooms are thin although we never had any trouble with noise.

Room Tip: Room with a view is a must-looking out over the sea and Mt. Vesuvius was incredible. The rooms on the back side face a hill-no view at all.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nicolefrancien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSorrentoPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear Ms. NicoleFrancien,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your holiday stay with us! We appreciate our Guest’s feedback and I was pleased to read you and your family enjoyed your visit. I am glad your children had such a wonderful experience in our pool! I am equally happy that you were delighted with the room, breakfast and the Settimo Club Lounge!

The Team and I hope you return to stay with us again at the Hilton Sorrento Palace! We remain at your complete disposal should you wish to book a return trip!!

Warmest Regards,

Tina Vespoli
PA to the General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just returned from a week here with my wife and young son. Had a great time. Staff were lovely and hotel excellent value. Spacious rooms, great facilities, fantastic view and good (if pricey) food. Could do with better TV channel choice (Sky?) as we could not follow the sport or get much English language drama.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a Seaview (our Italian travel company did not offer us the choice and it was too late to upgrade)
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billwebb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSorrentoPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Dear Mr. Billwebb2014,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with your wife and son! I am pleased to hear your positive comments regarding the Staff and Hotel alike, especially the rooms, facilities, food, and lovely view! I take all of our Guest’s comments very seriously and we will keep your constructive comments for future enhancements.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Sorrento Palace in the future!
The Team and I are at your disposal.

Kindest Regards,

Tina Vespoli
PA to the General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

OK, So this is a mid size Hilton hotel.
I noticed many reviews describe the rooms as small. Well, ours measured 4m x 6m = 24sqm (about 260Sq Ft) which matches the description on the Hilton web site. But if you are used to USA sized hotel rooms - it will feel small. From my experience, hotel rooms in Italy can sometimes be on the small side even compared to elsewhere in Europe.

We had two rooms for our party of four, the 24Sqm room being at the front of the hotel, 4th floor with nice views across the bay of Naples and to Vesuvius beyond. Our teenage children had a room at the rear of the hotel with a view of a cliff. But - their room was bigger, about 5.5m x 6m = 33 Sqm. (350Sq ft).

The other thing mentioned in reviews is the noise. So - first night, I did notice quite a lot of noise from the corridor. After examining, there was no noise from adjacent rooms although the hotel was full for most of our stay. I concluded the sound insulation between rooms is good. The noise from the corridor I think is mostly due to corridor and room being tiled, so generating more noise than from carpeted arrangements. While louder than normal (and we were quite close to the lifts - so more traffic than elsewhere) it didn't disturb us.

Hotel facilities are very good. The swimming pool is well maintained, and a strict system of not being able to reserve beds until 9am and some moving things off beds if not occupied for a couple of hours means we didn't have any problems, as I said, even though the hotel was full.

The beds by the pool were also well provided for by umbrellas and were of good quality. There is also a very pleasant garden area which has some deckchairs in it, although we suffered quite a lot of insect bites when we spent an early evening in the garden.

Breakfast is very comprehensive, nothing significant missing, and they provide, waffles, pancakes and omelettes as well as smoked salmon, which keeps everyone in our family happy. Bread rolls were fresh and good quality as were the croissants. (I mention this as some UK properties struggle to have decent quality croissants and bread)

We ate dinner in the Executive lounge on a couple of nights, and food was good quality, but without being exceptional. Service was very good throughout though, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Lounge has excellent views from 2nd floor across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius (same as front facing bedrooms) and has an open air terrace area which was very pleasant in the evening. (No insect problems here, and we tested this every night we stayed).

Some nibbles always come out between 6pm and 8pm.

Curiously, wine in the lounge is available all day, until 11.30pm, but beer only comes out between 6pm and 8pm.


Regarding poolside drinks and snacks. Big plate of French Fries (ask for a big plate) is €7.00 ($10.00) which seems a lot - but Sorrento is an expensive place, and a hotel pool is never going to be a bargain. to put it into perspective, a portion of 'chips' or french fries from the Queen chip shop in town is €5.00 (~$6.50). We live in Edinburgh, not the cheapest part of the UK, but chips here are only £1.80 ~ €2.30 ~$3.00 at time of writing. But hey - we went to Sorrento to be on holiday, and we kind of knew it was an expensive place before we went.

Ice cream by the pool is comparative bargain at €4.50 for a 3 boules of yummy delight. In the town you will pay €4.00 for about the same size portion. Drinks - I think water was €1.00, but it might have been €2.00. We got complimentary water in our room every day (2 x 500ml bottles). possibly due to Hhonors status. The Price of coke was a surprise at €5.00 for 330ml, but its €3.00 at a cafe in the town, and €1 if your walking about. Or if you want to be extravagant, we paid €6 in a cafe on the Isle of Capri.

So drink less coke and eat more ice cream seems to be the answer. :-)


Location is very good. Your slightly outside the centre of the town about 5-10 minutes walk from the old city wall up a fairly gentle slope. (I very much doubt you would have a problem with it unless you had disability or lung/heart condition) the centre proper (I forget the name of the square) is just a touch over 15 minutes walk away (We walk fairly slowly in the heat, being used to lower temperatures). Port is 25 minutes Walk as is the train station. (Port for Capri, Train Station for trains to Pompeii, Herculano, Vesuvius and Naples.) Both local buses and City Tour buses go from the station, but be careful where you buy your ticket. Train station official booth is adjacent to the platforms - i.e. up one level from where the main entrance to the station is.

Train times here :
http://www.eavcampania.it/web/ (Italian)
http://www.eavcampania.it/web/en (English)

It was about €4.00 per adult for a return to Pompeii Scavi. (station is directly outside the ruins)
Same for Ercalano Scavi - or Herculano ruins (We preferred these to Pompeii). Vesuvius is closer to Ercalono, but price to get to the top seems to be the same from either place (€10 per person, not counting 'admission' to the top of the mountain.).

Bus wise - for the Amalfi coast drive, you can choose between the €6.80 hop on hop off local city bus. (which was extremely busy how only Southern Europe and London Underground / Paris Metro in rush hour can be) - this is what we did.

Or you can take what we meant to take - which is
http://www.city-sightseeing.com/tours/italy/sorrento.htm
oooops - see note about buying tickets in the right place, we didn't find the right place for this tour, although we saw the bus - how hard can it be - right.



Back to the hotel.
We didn't try the fitness centre, so can't comment.

The lobby is very nicely appointed and well air conditioned.
Bar is spacious with plenty of comfortable seating.
The conference facilities (which we didn't go inside) seem to be spacious, but don't intrude into the hotel - at least not while we were there.

Whole facility is very clean and seemed to be efficiently run. We didn't have cause to test complaint handling.

There is a sandwich shop at the bottom of the hill before the city wall on the left hand side if you don't fancy a snack at the pool.

The hotel has vending machines for chocolate, drinks and shaving gear etc etc. if you forgot anything. (Plenty of shops in the town as well).

Hotel seemed to have plenty of parking available when we visited in a secure car park opposite the hotel. I wouldn't recommend taking your car to Sorrento - public transport is good, its not such a big place, and on street parking is a nightmare. There were parking lots, but they looked busy and expensive. Also - if you do take a car - be ready for the driving style of Southern Italy - which is somewhat different for those of us used to Northern Europe, like UK, Sweden, Germany, Netherlands etc.

If your looking for a good taxi company to take you from the airport to the hotel - try Charmlimos. (you will find my review on trip advisor). http://www.charmlimos.com/index.php

In terms of internet access, we had good wireless reception in our rooms, not specially fast but not too bad for a hotel - achieved 4.5 Mbps download on speedtest.net. Poor reception by pool. Our rooms also had a wired option, which was a bit faster.


Only thing I would mention for improvement was the air conditioning in the rooms was OK, but not exceptional. Better performance would have been appreciated.. It was hot when we visited (30 - 32C daytime max.). It probably would have been OK if left on all day, but the key card system prevents this.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ei3014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSorrentoPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dearest Ei3014,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us at the Hilton Sorrento Palace! You have made some excellent observations throughout the review!

We appreciate the time you took to share every bit of your stay in detail! Our Guest's feedback is very precious because it enables us to improve our services and facilities day after day. It also helps us recognize and reward a job of high quality. It is wonderful that all of your contact with our Staff and experience of service within the hotel was good! I am also happy you and your entire family found the rooms to be satisfactory as well as breakfast, and the facilities to be well maintained, especially noting the pool area which is a crowd favourite during the summer months!

I am delighted to hear you found the entire Hotel clean, orderly and spacious, duly noting the Lobby, Sorrento Lounge and Bar and our Conference facilities. We too, hope there is a next time, and when there is, please ask the Front Desk Team about the possibility of keeping your Air Conditioning on throughout the day, even while you are not in your room! :)

It is wonderful to hear you were able to enjoy the Executive Lounge and the views from there and your room balcony! I am also happy to hear you were able to take so many memorable adventures to our neighbouring sites and cities and have great feedback on transportation for future visitors!

On behalf of the entire Hilton Sorrento Palace Team, Thank You and we hope to welcome you back in the near future! We remain at your complete disposal should you wish to return to Sorrento!

All the Warmest Wishes,

Tina Vespoli
PA to the General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Sorrento Palace, the views are magnificent, the staff friendly and the food was very good.
A couple of negatives first, it is quite noisy in your rooms, but as there are a lot of families it tends to be at the sort of time you should be up anyway. The WiFi was quite expensive per day and you had to pay per device, so a phone plus iPad was double, also it didn't work at the pool bar.
However the positives more than make up for it. The view over the Bay of Naples from the pool and restraunt are spectacular. Now this does mean a 15 mins easy walk into town but a bit of a slog back up the hill at night.
We were looked after very well by all staff but especially Giuseppe and Antonio in the main bar. The breakfast was what you would expect at a Hilton with all bases covered and good quantities. We ate at the hotel in the evenings a couple of times and on both occasions the meal was excellent although a little pricey.
Sorrento its self is well worth a visit, there are good shops, and bars and restaurant to fit most budgets. The quality of all the meals we ate ranged from very good to fabulous. Wondering around the town is good fun and there is a huge amount to do in the area. We especially liked Capri and the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinp29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSorrentoPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Dear Colinp29,

Thank you for your review of your stay here with us at the Hilton Sorrento Palace! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and also thank you for choosing our Hotel for your holiday!

I was delighted to read of your satisfaction with the hotel staff and their friendly dispositions especially noting Giuseppe and Antonio at our Sorrento Lounge & Bar. I have delivered your comments to them personally. I was equally happy to read that you enjoyed all of the meals you had with us and of course the sweeping views of the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius!

Please rest assured that Management takes all comments seriously and is open to hearing constructive feedback in order to assist us to better our service and facilities.

We are at your complete disposal if you should choose to return to Sorrento and would love to welcome you back to our hotel!

All the Best,

Tina Vespoli
PA to the General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews