We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property, great views, real luxury, we loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Ranked #34 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, great views, real luxury, we loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

The Hilton Sorrento Palace is a beautiful property located at the top of the city. The views from this hotel are unparalleled. We found the staff to be courteous and helpful. I highly recommend upgrading to the executive level in order to enjoy the private pool, deck, and snack bar on the top floor (7th). I felt like I was on the set of "Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous." The indoor, Roman-grotto pool is something from a fantasy film and I squealed with glee and delight when jumping in. The outdoor pool on the main level is also quite beautiful, something you'd find at any major resort. The facility is clean, welcoming, relaxing, and well worth the price. I would definitely stay here again and refer my friends. Where else can you awake to a perfect view of Mt. Vesuvius, watch nightly fireworks from your private balcony, swim in three gorgeous pools, enjoy dinner overlooking the Bay of Naples and be treated with respect and courtesy? The breakfast buffet on the second level is excellent, with diverse offerings, something to please everyone, including vegetarians. The breakfast will last you through lunch because there's so much from which to choose and enjoy. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did! Ciao.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilush14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,488
    981
    381
    97
    56
See reviews for
852
1,173
50
434
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

A first class hotel in a good location some 10-15 minutes walk (up a gentle hill) from the centre of Sorrento.
The rooms were OK although a tad lacking in space - ironic as the bathroom was capacious. Our room was on the road side which did get a bit noisy from 6-7 in the morning. It had a balcony which offered absolutely no privacy whatsoever with no screens between adjoining rooms, only a small wall (2-3 feet high). We did ask about upgrading to a room with sea view which would have been 55 Euros extra per day; decided not to take this, not least as the view was across quite a lot of pretty uninviting roof tops in Sorrento, although - in fairness - the sight of Vesuvius in the background would have been stirring.
Service in the bar and at reception was first rate. In the restaraunt, there were periods when there seemed to be a shortage of staff, but this was not a huge issue. Food was of good quality, with at least 3 main courses from which to choose, albeit on a weekly rotating menu. Wine list was good, but pricey (10-20 Euros for house wine).
The pool was lovely but very busy with the perennial problem of 'bagging' sun beds from early in the morning. Sadly, the hotel staff didn't police this aspect of the pool at all but we did always manage to find somewhere to lie.
Probably the only real down-side was cost, and this is not an exchange rate/strength of the Euro issue. Bottled water at the pool was 3.50 Euros whereas 5 minutes down the hill there was a supermarket with 6 similar bottles for 3 euros. Bar prices were eye-watering, but mitigated by 2 x 1 hour 'happy hour' sessions (6-7 and 8.30-9.30) when drinks were half-price. Expect to pay about 10 Euros for a glass of wine and a 1/2 litre of beer (in happy hour).
As for Sorrento - fantastic. No beaches, but the back streets were fantastic for browsing and just cruising in the evening. Plenty of restaurants - all serving pretty similar fare at pretty similar prices - so do get into the heart of the town before committing to anywhwere in particular.
Trips out were easy using public transport. The train station is central (3.50 Euros return to Pompeii) and the bus is equally cheap (2 Euros for the 45 min ride to Positano).
All in all a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulHRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

On arrival about 22.30 we checked in could hardly read the print on the forms once completed we were instructed to go to our room and freshen up and come back to the outside part to the lounge where we were served a meal. Very Good.

Service in the dining areas quite poor and was spoken to rudely twice by the same waiter, no reason from us for it? Also on checkout check your bill as they tried to overcharge us but I had kept all copies of receipts. Poor

No key to the safe unless you request one and fill in a form, on the form it points out if you loose the key it will cost you 180.00 euros. Also rooms are of the minimalist style clean but bathroom dated, sink did not hold water, poor lighting.
Swimming pool good for all ages .
Location good if you don't mind the walk to the centre in a nice setting.

Great location for getting around to popular sites and like others have said use the public transport, With the tour company it is very expensive.
Would go back to Sorrento but not this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernEnglander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

We holidayed with friends and our children and we all rated this hotel very highly.
The views from the Restaurants and Bar are awesome - We asked for a room 'with a view' upgrade but they were fully booked.
The accomodation (bedrooms) are huge to accomodate 2 adults and a child. The kids club is excellent with 2 'carers' to keep your children entertained with a programme of activities. The bar staff are very helpful & acknowledge you by name. The gym is immaculately clean and air conditioned & has plenty of kit including 3 treadmills, 3 bikes, stepper, cross trainer, assorted machines for weights exercises and a high spec multi-gym.
The service from the Hotel was top drawer with nothing too much trouble, we even had a 'courtesy room' after having checked out on our final day.
A trip down the Amalfi coast is highly recommended as is a day trip to the beautiful, picturesque island of Capri - We arranged our own trips by walking down to Sorrento Harbour & booking on the day, this saved a significant sum on prebooked tours.
Overall, wonderful holiday, hotel and lovely resort!
PS - Don't forget to try real Italian ice cream at a 'Gelateria', think of any flavour ice cream you desire & they probably have it!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidayer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We have just returned from the Hilton Palace Sorrento and we had a most enjoyable stay in this large and modern hotel. The main colour theme is a vibrant orange and lemon; we thought this was to represent the main commodities the area is famous for. The hotel has a large reception area and the bar and restaurant also has a spacious feel about it. The half board option was good value with plenty of choice for the 4 course evening meal; the breakfast was also typical good value Hilton fare. The pool area was well planned with plenty of sunbeds but the usual problem of people reserving them and not using them for hours.
Be careful when planning your sight seeing activities; these can be expensive if you use organised tours, and most can be done by using public transport such as the Sita bus to Amalfi and onto Ravello for less than half the price charged by others. If you get off at Positano there is a local bus to take you down the very long hill and back again for a very reasonable 1 euro each way.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Travellor_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

we have just got back from a half board stay at the hilton sorrento palace, overall enjoyed the hotel and would recommend to others. i liked the hotel but not the area, not much to do. the hotel is the largest in sorrento and there are always alot of people around but there are always sun beds, plenty of tables at dinner/ brekfast and was over all quiet. the last 2 days though a huge amount of families with young kids arrived and was noisy, kids running everywhere a bit annoying so if you want a quiet, relaxing break dont so in school hols.
there are 6 pools joined together 2 are shallow for babies and the others are 150cm deep. there are no beaches as it is all build into cliffs but there are floating bathing platforms in the sea you can pay to go on but the view from the hotel pool is so stunning i would rather sunbath up there.
our room was fine, air con good, no complaints, wasn't noisy only little let down was there was on mirror over the dressing table and no plug sockets near a mirror so i couldnt straighten my hair properly.
breakfast was a huge quality selection, always seats avaliable, dinner is a 4 course menu with 3 choices on you can pick from (veal is on the menu every day) so no buffet food sat out for hours, nice but not great, views over the bay from the restaurant are fab.
be aware though VERY expensive hotel, lunch for 2, ice cream, a couple of drinks by the pool will cost you nearly 100 E every day. there is a shop about 4 minute walk i advise you to get bottles of water, ice lollies, snacks from as will save you a fortune. we only drink soft drinks but did notice a happy hour for drinkers, draft beer is 6E.
the gym is rubbish, very hot, not many pieces of equipment and no weight stack for the guys. there is internet access in the lobby but i didnt use it so cant advise on price. all staff are friendly except receptionist who lost our luggage, are slow, a bit rude and tried to tell us as compenstion they had upgraded us to a sea view even though we had already paid for a sea view! we could see about a cm of sea from our room.
sorrento is 15 minutes walk down hill from hotel but very expensive shops so only went twice, not very big but beatiful.
i also recommend the pompeii trip and mountain climb has great views but dont go on the rome trip, it takes 5 hours to get there, if you want to go take the train.

overall i think the hotel is a 4 * and i would go back for a weekend but not another week due to the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

There is no doubt that, a long time ago, this hotel would have been worth of a five-star rating; in 2009, this doesn't ring true.

Check-in
On arrival, there were hundreds of cases lined up in reception, with equal numbers of hacked-off guests trying to check out - most of which, from all nationalities, were fighting over charges on their bills! We arrived around 11 and were told that our room wouldn't be long although this was said to be "anything from ten minutes to three hours". We retired to the pool and waited for a few hours.

Our room (555)
Somebody seemingly thought that the very tired decor could be hidden with a 'retro' orange makeover. It's dreadful. Truly. Cheap furniture (Ikea wouldn't sell such tat,) wardobe with no doors, cheap nasty plastic hangers and a very dated and drab bathroom with award-winning low water pressure which made taking a shower grim. Normal TV (not LCD), safe that you need to get key from reception for (not that they mention that on check-in). Nice enough balcony that neigbours/robbers can simply walk along (no security).

Internet
17 Euros for BASIC internet service. RIP-OFF. Or 35c per MINUTE if you use the cyber-cafe in reception area. When will hotels get the idea that ripping their customers off is also hacking them off too?

Pools
Nice pool area with plenty of space for everybody. Waiters available although drinks/food very pricey.

Breakfast
Excellent - the only five-star aspect of this hotel. Buffet. Plenty of variety.

Sorrento is quite expensive and your'e stuffed if you fancy anything but pizza/pasta (literally) but the Hilton provides a good base from where to explore, especially if you manage to use your HH points and get it free - I wouldn't be happy paying for it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZippyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sorrento Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sorrento Palace

Property: Hilton Sorrento Palace
Address: Via S. Antonio 13, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sorrento Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting destination all year round, the Hilton Sorrento Palace retains its charm throughout the seasons. The Hilton Sorrento Palace is only 5 minutes away from the historical centre of Sorrento, which is the ideal for shopping 7 days a week or enjoying the bustling nightlife. The Hotel offers a breathtaking sea view: just in front of you the enchanting Gulf of Naples dominated by Mount Vesuvius and from behind Punta Campanella you may catch a glimpse of the exclusive Isle of Capri. The Hotel offers rooms with sea view, garden view, mountain view and family rooms for 3 or 4 people. All Executive Rooms, Deluxe and Suites have large windows and balconies with breathtaking views over the Bay of Naples. Executive and Suite Guests also enjoy exclusive access to the Settimo Club Lounge, where a rich and varied buffet is always available and a private swimming pool waits for you. The property is located a 5-minute drive away from the port of Sorrento, where guests can catch ferries to the island of Capri. The Amalfi Coast is 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sorrento Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sorrento Palace Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Palace
Sorrento Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing