We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
291 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Many people say that European hotels haven't really caught up with their counterparts in the rest of the world. However, the Hilton Sorrento Palace is, without a doubt, an exception to that rule. Nestled in a cliff overlooking the beautiful Bay of Naples, the hotel is top-notch in terms of service and facilities. Walking into the spacious, modern lobby, I knew I was in for a pleasant stay. The front desk was extremely helpful (they had a spare US converter on hand as I had forgotten to bring mine; they also helped me sort out a scheduling issue with my transfer to the Naples airport). Rooms were bright and sunny -- some have complained about the color scheme. Yes, it's festive; but this is a resort town! I found the room to be very nice; comfortable, modern bathroom, nice shower amenities as well. But best yet was the amazing view from my balcony (I'd been upgraded from a rear-view room).

The pool area was great -- certainly exceeded my expectations. Huge multi-leveled pool with plenty of chairs set around it for basking in the sun. My only issue was that the water was ice cold; definitely too cold to swim in in late May. There's also a very beautiful indoor pool area (water was cold there too, though).

The hotel is located about a 10-minute walk from the center of town. It's a pleasant walk and perfectly safe, even at night. The hillside location affords the hotel a bit of serenity - close enough to the town, but far enough away to feel quiet and peaceful. There are hotel shuttles to/from several restaurants in town. If at all possible, avoid taking a taxi in Sorrento as they are heinously expensive.

I'd stay here again in a heartbeat it and when I return to Sorrento!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,544
    1,001
    385
    97
    57
See reviews for
867
1,208
51
455
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Just outside the centre of the town (up the hill). The room had a decent size balcony and uninterrupted views over the town and the bay of Naples. Rooms weren't very big but in good condition. Pool is very large and sectioned and the grounds gave a quiet location. Breakfast was excellent with all options well catered. Executive lounge is one the best Hilton ones as always well very stocked and had a free internet desktop. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PC_UKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We enjoyed this hotel so mcuh we returned for an extra day at the end of our stay. Short walk into Sorrento but far enough out to avoid noise. Front staff were extremely helpful, especially Maurizio. First bedroom seemed very orange in decor but view toVesuvius was magnificent. Bathroom spacious and very clean. Discovered a quiet garden in the hotel full of lemon and orange trees and a tennis court. The pool was pleasantly set out and lots of vacant sun beds but it was slightly out of season, May, and the water was too cold for me to swim. Breakfast was buffet style with huge variety. Fresh orange squeezer for juice. Parking charged but we were lucky and parked opposite hotel in a very quiet safe road and then used the train to visit Pompeii. Station 20 minute walk but allow time to buy the ticket as we missed the train by 2 seconds because of a long slow queue at the ticket desk.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyofleisure2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We booked to stay at the hotel for the last nights of our honeymoon, although with the Volcanic Ash cloud disruption we ended up staying for 10 nights on a half board basis !

The room was large and had a very large roomy bed which was comfortable and had a large ensuite bathroom with robes, slippers and great toiletries which were topped up daily. However, the room had the feel of an upmarket travel lodge and was quite disappointing. The mini bar was very expensive - so we didnt use this.

We were staying at the hotel on a halfboard basis and would definately recommend it on this basis - an amazing breakfast with helpful staff who go out of their way to help you, and in the evening meals were also fantastic - excellent quality and presentation.

The staff in the evening are great but special mention has to be made of Franco Rapisarda who was the highlight of our stay with his immecable manners, very entertaing, funny, knowledgeable on the wines etc - deserves a pay rise!!!!

We were unfortunately delayed in Sorrento due to the Ash Cloud but the hotel looked after us beautifully - yes sorrento is expensive, and the internet in the hotel unbelievably pricy but i would stay here again - tomorrow!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie_B_Eastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Well we arrived with mixed emotions as a few weeks before my wife had 200,000 HH honors points "stolen" from her and we had booked the hotel on the points they gave us back as part of a family holiday in Italy.

Breakfast was not included and was a ridiculous Euro 30 per person, but we found a cafe 5 mins walk away and went there every day...much better.

The hotel is a 15 min walk away from the center of Sorrento, and on the way back it is uphill, please note.

Hard to see why other than if you are HH members or part of a convention that you would stay here.

Very mixed on the front desk, some staff are very helpful and others seem very rude indeed. Some good recommendations for restaurants though, go to Donna Sofia for a great meal and great setting.

Our triple room was big and a separate area for our daughter which was great.
But no toiletries in the bathroom, very odd.

Overall our stay was fine, but i would not stay here again if in Sorrento, there are other more central and local places to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love_travelling013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange county, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Nice, brautiful hotel with a great view of the sea. Breakfast was great. The staff wee friendly, the downside was their internet that was not free even in their business center and the indoor pool that they advertise about it alot was closed the first day we got thier at 7 pm and the second day was closed from 3pm due to a pool party, which we thought was not fair to other guests.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pawn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

This hotel is truly grand and the views are breathtaking. Our room overlooked the orange, lemon, and olive gardens on one side and the pool on the other. The smell of the oranges and lemons were fantastic and we could see Mt. Vesuvius, the sea, and the city from our patio. You can walk through their amazing gardens and they serve their oranges and lemons at breakfast. The indoor pool is a must-see and the outdoor pool is actually about 5 pools cascading into one another. Just lovely all around. We ate at the bar and the pizza was awesome. The beds were really comfy and not typical European too-firm mattresses.
The front desk staff was so friendly and helpful with anything we needed. They will park the car for 15 Euros which was way too much considering that they have a huge lot that seemed empty. The internet was also very expensive which for a pricey room I thought could have been included.
Cab ride into town was about 15 Euros, but you could walk if you're up for about a 20 minute walk. We were sent to a restaurant in town ( I believe it was called Boca? and owned by Peppe) The food was amazing, but very pricey. Each course is about 20 euros and is very small, so beware. But its worth it if you go for the full course menus that they have.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvztoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sorrento Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sorrento Palace

Property: Hilton Sorrento Palace
Address: Via S. Antonio 13, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sorrento Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting destination all year round, the Hilton Sorrento Palace retains its charm throughout the seasons. The Hilton Sorrento Palace is only 5 minutes away from the historical centre of Sorrento, which is the ideal for shopping 7 days a week or enjoying the bustling nightlife. The Hotel offers a breathtaking sea view: just in front of you the enchanting Gulf of Naples dominated by Mount Vesuvius and from behind Punta Campanella you may catch a glimpse of the exclusive Isle of Capri. The Hotel offers rooms with sea view, garden view, mountain view and family rooms for 3 or 4 people. All Executive Rooms, Deluxe and Suites have large windows and balconies with breathtaking views over the Bay of Naples. Executive and Suite Guests also enjoy exclusive access to the Settimo Club Lounge, where a rich and varied buffet is always available and a private swimming pool waits for you. The property is located a 5-minute drive away from the port of Sorrento, where guests can catch ferries to the island of Capri. The Amalfi Coast is 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Sorrento Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sorrento Palace Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Palace
Sorrento Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing