We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Palazzo Tasso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Tasso
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I traveled with my family and stayed 4 days in the hotel. Location is fantastic, right in the heart of the city, near everything by walking distance. Breakfast is ok (not great variety but has everything we need to start the day) . I would definetly come back and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patty197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

305 - 311 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

Our third trip to Sorrento after a gap of 26 years. Previously we were never in the town centre so this was a huge benefit this time as it allows you to pop in and out without a long walk or bus ride to your hotel. Unlike some, we found the continental breakfast just fine, we especially like the taste of the crusty bread rolls stuffed with salami. Italian bread is generally hard and dry. After every breakfast we never felt hungry during the run up to lunchtime.

Our room was good sized, clean and adequate. The en-suite was good too - the shower had more than enough water pressure. The glazing cut out the traffic noise and I am a light sleeper. The church bells are audible but isn't that what they are for, calling to the faithful?

The Staff and Owners are so friendly and helpful.

4 stars and not 5 only because of the noise of footsteps from the main marble stairs which are the other side of your bedroom door. If you are on the very top floor then the stairs are a good form of exercise, forget the lift you'll feel the better for it.

Room Tip: The balconies are narrow so don't really count - I'd rather be 150 metres away in the main s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grahamkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

A surprisingly modern design for a hotel in the middle of Sorrento. Fully refurbished and sound proofed rooms, very important given the church bells are next door. Great location in the historic quarter, ten minutes to the train station and buses. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
4  Thank Darren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed here during our honeymoon this year. We originally booked a standard room but we were given a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room. The staff were so nice, friendly and helpful. The hotel is also very secure as you cannot enter without a key to the front door. Our room was clean and crisp with a balcony that overlooked the entire main street. Our bedroom was modern and the bathroom was nice and big. The walls, doors and windows of each room are soundproof so it's easy to get a peaceful night sleep. Breakfast was served on the top floor. It was basic but enough to start the day with. The hotel as a whole looked very well maintained. It's close to the main shopping and dining areas, and it's a 10 minute walk to the train station and a 15 minute walk to the seaport. It was also my birthday while we were at this hotel and the staff gave us 2 bottles of champagne as a birthday gift and also congratulations on our recent marriage. This was such a nice gesture and it made my husband and I feel very special, like we were VIPs. Overall, this hotel was worth every penny and I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAETANO C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

We are so glad that you appreciated so much staying with us a Palazzo Tasso right in the historical center of Sorrento, and we truly want to thank you for this excellent review, we try to do our best every day to make our guest's holiday an unforgettable one.
We hope we did also with yours and we look forward to welcoming you again at our Guest House
Hope to see you again in Sorrento!
Silvana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The room was very clean, and the water pressure in the shower is fabulous.The location is close to all transportation, restaurants,shopping, etc. The wi-fi is reliable. Like other reviewers, I found the breakfast disappointing. I found the quality, not necessarily the variety, of the breakfast items, breads, cakes, etc. to be poor. I think I would choose to stay at a location where the reception desk is manned 24 hours a day,. It is personal preference, but on the day of our departure at 5:30 A.M., the elevator was out of service, and so we had to carry our luggage down from the 4th floor. Again, this is a non issue if one were leaving later or on a lower floor; however, it was an issue for us. I realized that 24 hour manned reception is not important unless one happens to need it. Overall, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paladino85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Finally we have found the diamond in the rough! We stayed a week at Palazzo Tasso in August. Fantastic central location within easy walking distance to everything - train station, shops, restaurants, marina for ferry to Capri. We were not disappointed when we arrived. Bright, modern and clean rooms with all amenities, including private bathroom, comfortable beds, fresh towels and linen daily, TV, safe, mini bar and free WIFI. Our room had a small balcony overlooking Corso Italia which provided a great opportunity for people watching. Double-glazed doors to balcony provided a quiet room despite all the hustle and bustle on the street below. All the staff, Silvana, Pepe and Rosaria, were extremely friendly and helpful and speak perfect English. Silvana was fantastic in providing insights and information about Sorrento and recommendations for restaurants and shopping. Pepe provided a great start to the morning with an excellent coffee, great smile and friendly chat. The continental breakfast was fresh and tasty. Overall a memorable stay and we have no hesitation in recommending this gem. We can't wait to stay here again when we next visit Sorrento. Grazie mille!

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonRosett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We were very impressed with location, hospitality and cleanliness of this excellent hotel. Will Stay again during our next visit.Also we will recommend it to our friends.Silvana was particularly helpful in recommendinbg good places to eat an sights to visit..She went out of her to help us with travel arrangements and catchinbg early train to Naples.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mdayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#13 of 100 in Sorrento
1,697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Tasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Tasso

Address: Via Santa Maria della Pieta 33, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: £60 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Tasso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the charming historical center of Sorrento you will find Palazzo Tasso, which offers cozy & elegant rooms, extremely luminous, decorated in a fresh style, ideal for those looking for privacy and tranquility. Sorrento, place of outstanding beauty, is the ideal starting point for the visits of all major attractions in and around Sorrento. The newly-refurnished property offers all guests the possibility to enjoy their vacation in beautifully furnished suites with all amenities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo Tasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing