We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location”
Review of Palazzo Tasso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Palazzo Tasso
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We (my teenage children and husband) stayed here for 3 nights in December. The owners are very attentive and the rooms were very good. We stayed on the top floor in 2 rooms that could be shut off together. The rooms are very clean and well-fitted out. Just watch your head as the ceiling slopes down as it they are attic style rooms.The breakfast was very good and our hosts were always available to assist with sightseeing advice. The hotel is right in the middle of Sorrento which is a beautiful town. The train station is only a 20 minute walk and so it is very accessible. We would love to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    154
    25
    0
    2
See reviews for
87
335
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Really a very short walk! Often someone says "10 minute walk" but then when you walk it is always longer! This hotel has a very friendly and helpful staff. Loved the decor, comfortable bed and pillows, great shower and bathroom. Breakfast was better than many other places where we stayed the past 2 1/2 weeks....more than just a croissant and coffee. We found several great restaurants within a 10 minute walk of the hotel. We would return to Palazzo Tasso on a future trip to Sorrento.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
638 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 771 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed four nights with my hubby at the beginning of September. This is a great place to stay in the middle of Sorrento. We drove the Amalfi Coast and when arriving by car after 7pm it may become complicated since they close the main street (Corso Italia) to cars. So my hubby parked where he probably shouldn't have and I went in search of Palazzo Tasso. It is nicely located at the back of the main street. Once there, Silvana and all the staff are amazing. We had booked online directly on the hotel site and had several correspondences with her. They called the public parking and we met them at our car. It is 15 euros per day, not bad for an indoor parking. The only issue was that they had fixed hours so if you must leave early in the morning, you have to change parking lots, and so we did on our last night.

All in all the Palazzo Tasso is a great place to stay. We had a superior room with a small balcony overlooking the main street which comes alive every night with musicians and dancers. We thought that being so close to the action would keep us awake at night but not at all, we slept like babies.

I had mentioned that my husband was celebrating his birthday and they gave us a small bottle of Prosecco with a note at our arrival. This is the kind of perks when staying in a small B & B, attentive and helpful staff. Nice breakfast, but opens only at 8am.

Only regret is not having stayed longer!

Room Tip: Choose a superior room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SylvieFrancois444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domenico D, Direttore generale at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review regarding your stay at Palazzo Tasso, this is really important for us!
We always talk to our clients making them feel at home , asking if they have special requests or any questions in order to make their stay the best possible. We like to hear that when our guests are back home that they loved staying at Palazzo Tasso and that they would definitivly return again ! This is a great satisfaction for us. We always contact our guests beforehand in order to give some information before arriving in Sorrento and it also a very nice way to get to know our guests before arriving at Palazzo Tasso.
As we are located right in the historical center, we are close to everything, shops, restaurants, etc, and after having a nice day out, our clients just love sitting oustside their balconies just watching the people pass by. Thank you also for you compliments for our breakfast with our fresh home made pasteries. We try to make our guests stay as less stressful possible, taking care of all their needs, parking, special requests, special events, etc. We truly hope to welcome you soon again for a longer time!
Silvana
Managing Director
Palazzo Tasso - Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The welcome started before we arrived with a helpful email containing directions from the airport, bus timetable, and some suggestions of things to do when we got there. Throughout our stay the staff were very friendly, helpful and gave good advice. Silvana also went the extra mile by phoning around and arranging a boat trip to Capri for us after the official end of the season.

Our rooms were quite small but had what we needed (except a kettle!). Clean. Comfortable beds.

The location is very central and all the main sights of the town are within easy walking distance, as is the train and bus station. There are plenty of good restaurants in the neighbourhood.

Breakfast buffet is good and includes a few local specialities as well as the usual standard fare. Lovely fresh rolls and pastries.

If you are looking for a friendly bed and breakfast hotel and don't need the facilities of a big one like lounge, bar, swimming pool etc. this is a very good choice. However, the only word of caution is that it wouldn't suit anyone with walking difficulties because the lifts stop between floors and wherever your room is there are there are stairs to negotiate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRMW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domenico D, Direttore generale at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you very very much for your wonderful review. You have been very kind with us! It was a pleasure meet lovely persons like you and we are happy that we made your stay an unforgetable one!
We thank you very much to helping us with your review to let other people know how we work and we try to make everyone part of our family. We start with a smile and a warm welcome at the reception, and before this with a welcoming e-mail so when you arrive at Palazzo Tasso its just like we know eachother already. Continuing with all the comforts and modern facilities in the room, preparing a valuable breakfast on the top floor with fresh home made pasteries every day.
We are always at disposal to suggest to our guests the best places to visit in our area, trying to satisfy special requests for excursions, restaurants and we are always at disposal for anything you might need.
Palazzo Tasso is our home and we want that all our guests feel like at home!
We hope to welcome you again at Palazzo Tasso!
SIlvana
Managing Director
Palazzo Tasso-Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Don't get me wrong it is a delightful B&B in an extremely convenient setting with wonderful friendly staff and a ten minute walk from the train station, but a lot of reviews are praising the rooms for being spacious, light and airy with balconies, however ours was not. It was quite small with an equally small bathroom and very limited drawer and wardrobe space so if you intended to be there for longer than a few days to see the surrounding area then it was not a good room to stay in. There was not even a dressing table and being a female who likes a fair bit of space to put toiletries this was not possible. One of the problems was the lift shaft took up part of the room. It was also quite dingy being down a side street so we felt the need to always put the light on in the room. It also did not have a balcony although it was supposed to have according to our confirmation through our booking agent. There was also only one English speaking News channel on the tv in the room and it would have been nice to have been able to watch something else after having a meal out in the evening before actually going to bed!
On a different note we had a wonderful time in Sorrento and felt that 6 days was enough to see all we wanted to e.g Pompeii, Herculanean, Capri, Naples, Amalfi coast etc. Sadly, some buildings were looking in need of a good plaster and paint but I guess with the economy at the moment there is no money for repairs! It is easy to get to other places cheaply via the buses and train, but quite costly to go to Capri by Hydrofoil or Naples by ferry-best to go by train to Naples. Be careful in Capri as I got ripped off paying 16 euros for a limoncello cocktail on the front as I stupidly didn't ask to see the menu on this one occasion. The bus from Sorrento to Amalfi cost 7.20 Euros return and takes about 1.5hrs but is a lovely ride-make sure you sit on the right side going and the left returning for the best views. Don't forget to take another bus from Amalfi to Ravello which is a lovely village 4 miles inland. There is a charming place called Villa Cimbrone which has gardens, windy walks and stunning views (7 Euros to get in). Finally it would be nice if the Italians could smile and be a bit more welcoming to tourists. We noticed a lot of the waiters came across as being quite surly a lot of the time (quite different from other nationalities, especially the Turkish!)- This does exclude Pepe and the others at the Palazzo Tasso of course. :-)

Room Tip: Scooters use the side streets as short cuts so can still be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farnesbarnes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domenico D, Direttore generale at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Palazzo Tasso, and also for your review. As you said we are close to everything and we always suggest the most beautiful and interesting excursions to do in our beautiful Sorrento Peninsula. Also our strategical position allows to reach every place easly, this helps us a lot. Thank you also for your compliments for our friendly staff and for our breakfast which we serve up on the roof floor with fresh home made pasteries every day.
We are sorry you thought your room was a bit small for you and we hope to welcome you at Palazzo Tasso again with a more spacious room next time.
SIlvana
Managing Director
Palazzo Tasso-Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Córdoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

It's a beatiful building very well located. The bedroom is beatiful And all installations have not also a modern design but things of a great quality. Something you can notice as soon as you arrive there. The breaksfast is complete and the attention very kind. We really will go back there.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guadacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domenico D, Direttore generale at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
We thank you very much to helping us with your review to let other people know how we work and what is our conception of holiday. We start with a smile and a warm welcome at the reception , continuing with all the comfort and modern facilities in the room, preparing a valuable breakfast on the top floor. As you see we have fresh home made pasteries every day
We are always at your disposal to suggest to our guests the best places to visit in our area, excursions, restaurants and we are always at disposal for anything you might need. Palazzo Tasso is home and we want that all our guests feel like at home!
Hope to see you soon again at Palazzo Tasso!
SIlvana
Managing Director
Palazzo Tasso - Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIRDRIE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

recently back from 2 weeks in Italy.We stayed at a small bed and breakfast hotel in central Sorrento, this hotel was very comfortable,and friendly, The staff were very friendly and helpful with advice on where to eat,ideas on where to visit and how to get to other towns and villages around the area. Nothing seemed to be any trouble for the team to make our stay memorable. Anyone looking for a simple quiet place to stay while exploring the historical and beautiful sites I would recommend Palazzo Tasso..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony as these are at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ39SPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domenico D, Direttore generale at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review regarding your stay at our Palazzo Tasso, this is really important for us!
We always talk to our clients making them feel at home giving them information if they have special requests or any questions in order to make their stay the best possible. We like to hear that when our guests are back home that they loved Palazzo Tasso and that they would definitivly return again ! This is a great satisfaction for us, and it confirms that all our hard work into our project, hospitality, comfort, suggestions etc, is well worth it. Hope to see you soon in Sorrento!
Silvana
Managing Director
Palazzo Tasso-Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Tasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Tasso

Property: Palazzo Tasso
Address: Via Santa Maria della Pieta' 33, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Tasso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the charming historical center of Sorrento you will find Palazzo Tasso, which offers cozy & elegant rooms, extremely luminous, decorated in a fresh style, ideal for those looking for privacy and tranquility. Sorrento, place of outstanding beauty, is the ideal starting point for the visits of all major attractions in and around Sorrento. The newly-refurnished property offers all guests the possibility to enjoy their vacation in beautifully furnished suites with all amenities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Palazzo Tasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing