We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel President
Nearby Hotels
US$385
US$293
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$393
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$452
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Prestige Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)
US$196
US$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Vue D'Or(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$483
US$453
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Grand Hotel Aminta(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$514
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$283
US$267
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,372)
Filter reviews
1,372 results
Traveller rating
975
284
77
29
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
975
284
77
29
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtesy bussea viewbay of naplesa la carte restaurantbrick wallsuperior roomwaiter serviceevening mealgrand buffetpiano barhotel busroof terraceamazing viewsfantastic hotelsalad barhalf boardrestaurant staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,032 - 1,037 of 1,372 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Having just returned from a great week in Sorrento I feel it may be helpfull to write a report. First the Hotel has the most Fantastic views imaginable pictures cannot do the views justice.The rooms are great with a bottle of water supplied daily with tea and coffee making facilities.
Food. Breakfast was buffet with a good choice of hot and cold food no complaints.
Dinner was passible there must have been a different chef doing the starters and main courses. The starters where very good and full of flavour the main course lacked any flavour and imagination.
On Thursday night they have a Gala Buffet the food on this evening was outstanding I cannot understand why the food can be so good on this night and flavourless the rest of the week.
A must is a Trip to Capri and Ana Capri take the 8-30 courtesy bus into Sorrento and walk to the harbour the boat over costs 13euros by the big ferry and 15 euros return by the fast boat. I would advice not to by a return as the big ferry does not return until 6-15 and you can get a fast boat about every hour.
The Courtesy bus from the hotel into Sorrento is fantastic the last bus returning from Sorrento at 2300.
Another good day out is taking the local bus to Amalfi this costs 7.40 euros and this ticket is for the day and you can get on and of as many times you like.
If you go to Amalfi a must see is Ravello the same bus ticket takes you up to it well worth the trip.
If you go with the tour rep to Amalfi I believe it was about 49euros.
A must for Ladies is to have a pair of hand made sandals made in Ana Capri my wife says they are fantastic quality.
This is just my opinion of the hotel and food all in all this was a fantastic holiday although the evening meal lacked imagination.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank quakersyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We've just returned from a week at this hotel and on the whole we had a fantastic stay. The rooms were very clean and spacious, the bed(s) were big and very comfortable, the pool area and rooftop 'quiet area' were excellent and the staff were the most helpful and pleasant i have ever come across. We booked a superior room and requested a sea view.........On arrival we found that 'superior' status amounted to one free daily bottle of water, a bottle of wine (red only, "we don't do white") and fresh fruit on arrival, and the use of a robe and free issue slippers (soft flip flops), the room itself was still a standard room and alas a sea view was not available. We were located on level 1, the same level as the reception, this Hotel has five levels, 0 being the highest and 5 the lowest (if you check the brochure photo's this knowledge may help). Be aware that the outlook from the lower level rooms (not all) could be a concrete wall at the end of you patio. There are of course bigger and better rooms available with views overlooking the bay of Naples which looked out of this world and there are some rooms actualle situated beneath the sunbathing area around the pool which have fantastic bay facing aspects but didn't look that 'well kept' to me. The biggest drawback is that to get to Sorrento town you have to rely on: a) the two hourly courtesy bus, b) taxi, c) walk, which is a very steep downhill path which was ok but even the younger people would not enjoy walking back up. On the whole though it is a smashing hotel and as my header states would be more than happy to go back to.............. Mick & Sharon, Chesterfield.

Room Tip: Check the status,level and view.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick-Chesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Such a lovely hotel, excellent food, friendly and attentive staff, clean and comfortable rooms. The views are fab, looking down onto Sorrento and Mount Vesuvius in the background. Pool and gardens are tidy and beautifully set. Would highly recommend this hotel. There is a convenient shuttle bus to and from the hotel to Sorrento and you can walk there also. Thomson were very helpful and would go on another holiday through them.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JSB139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We arrived a bit late due to an accident en route but were ushered to the dining room for a late evening meal under the ministrations of the amazing Signor Luigi and his staff. All the staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful to a fault. We opted for a superior room which consisted of a sitting area and a mezzanine sleeping area.There was a complimentary bottle of wine and tea making facilities in the room, also a bottle of water which was renewed daily.The room was cleaned daily to a very high standard.A minor down point was our room was near to the kitchen and was a little noisy occasionally but not enough to be detrimental. The views from the dining room are over the bay of Naples dominated by Mount Vesuvius and are the icing on the cake of a truly superb dining experience. I have started saving for a return visit. As this is a Thomson Gold hotel there are no young children which is a major plus point. The entertainment was mainly the Thomson team and they put on several very good shows.

Room Tip: Take the option of a superior room.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank c4r15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The Matre De (Louigi) was wonderful. The Bar staff were great. All very charming. Everything was very clean. The sunbeds on the top floor are the best I have ever been on. Very generous portions of food and wine. On the whole, an unforgettable experience in a classy and comfortable hotel. Sorrento is also fabulous.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rach075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews