We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sorry but would not be staying here again!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel President
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2011

hotel was very over priced, not a four star !or five ! as rated!!! the room was a superior with views,of a overgrown hedge and a run down building opposite!! if you like butlins well the entertainment is for you!! NOT GOOD ENOUGH!!!thomsons!!if you pay five star !!you expect five star!!SORRENTO is a beautiful island! so dont be put of from going there,just book somewhere else/!!there are plenty of nice hotels there .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hippyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

A fabulous hotel with specutalar and glorious weather throughout. Staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. The food was superb; buffet breakfast and waiter service for evening meal, apart from 2 nights which were gala dinners/buffets. Could not fault the food whatsoever. The pasta was divine; ravioli an absolute dream.
A courtesy bus ran several times per day to and from Sorrento. Last bus is at 11 so be sure not to miss it. The entertainment staff work incredibly hard and there is something on day and night. For those who prefer the peace and quiet, head up to the roof terrace, my favourite place and a real sun trap.
Drinks can be rather expensive, however, 2-8pm is happy hour, 20% off if charged to your room, not for cash. Also, this does not apply at the pool bar so again head up to the terrace or to the piano bar. Snacks such as crisps, nuts, sausage rolls,biscuits, cakes are served with drinks in the afternoon which is great to keep you going in between breakfast and evening meal.
Trips are pricey, however, if you're going all that way it would be a shame to not experience more of Italy. Mount Vesuvius was a worthwhile trip, Pompeii i would have preferred to do myself rather than listen to the guide for 3 hours. Capri is better at night rather than the day as it can get incredibly busy due to visitors arriving from cruise ships. Only downside at night is that the chairlift to Anacapri doesn't operate. Capri is very expensive although very enjoyable.
A fabulous fabulous week in an absolutely wonderful hotel. I really couldn't have chosen a better hotel in a better location. You can walk to Sorrento from the hotel, it takes about 25 minutes and is all downhill; watch out for the scooters though. I wouldn't recommend walking back though. A timetable is available at reception for the courtesy bus which in fact is The Presidents own coach, the driver is wonderful.
My aim now is to see more of Italy as it is such a beautiful beautiful country.
Next year The President is going to be a Platinum hotel so i'm pleased i made it this year and not sure how this will affect the price. It was certainly excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helenjustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We have just returned from a week staying at the President Hotel in beautiful Sorrento. This place is outstanding, from the views across the bay to the superb staff and service we received. The hotel is perched high above Sorrento so the shuttle bus down was a must for us to visit the town but for the more energetic, you could walk down in around 20 minutes. There is a lovely pool for cooling off (which was needed as it was in the late 30s all week)! The food was fantastic, mainly a la carte but two evenings were buffet but
again, fantastic. We had a junior suite and it was spotlessly clean, with a mini-bar, air-conditioning etc.... with a fantastic view from the balcony - mesmerising!

We would like to thank them all for making our visit so wonderful and for making our 26th wedding anniversay so memorable. We would also like to thank the Thomson team working there - what a great bunch you are!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The hotel has a perfect location with stunning views across the bay. All the staff were polite , helpful and friendly . Chrissie, Mark, Scott and Natasha kept us entertained throughout the day and into the evening. They were all brilliant and should be on the west end.
The restaurant had waiter service for 5 nights of the week and a buffet for two nights. Both were fantastic and there was always a good varied choice on the menu.
The trains were easy to use and we made our own way to Versuvius , Herculanium and Pompeii. ( much cheaper than the organised trips)
A brilliant holiday !

Room Tip: Ask for a high level room, some on the lower level face a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen_and_Rob_Clee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I cant imagine a better view from any hotel. Although the hotel is situated on a hillside which nobody should try to walk up especially in the heat, the view of Sorrento, Naples and Vesuvius were stunning! Thanks heavens for the courtesy bus provided.
The hotel lounges, dining room etc were very tastefully decorated, However, the bedrooms could do with modernising to bring them in line with the rest of the hotel!
The waiters were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Luigi, the head waiter has got to be the most charming man on the planet!!
The food was good quality but In my opinion a little boring, especially the desserts.
Pool was fantastic and much needed after a day sightseeing in august.
Overall a wonderful holiday and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jue077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Gorgeous hotel, excellent staff, brilliant food, superb location!
Best Holiday ever! not a single compliant.

Room Tip: all rooms lovely and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail84_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Just back from a fantastic holiday in Sorrento. Stayed at the President. All the reviews on Trip Advisor talk about the view, and what a view. Is this one of the best placed hotels in the world?
We booked a superior room but not a sea view, which would have been very nice but did seem a bit expensive for something you can sit and look at from many places in the hotel for nothing.
The food was a amazing, very high quality and lots of it. We particularly enjoyed the 'Grand Buffet' nights. All the staff were friendly and yet professional. The hotel was also very clean.
The position does mean its quite a walk down in to town, but the regular hotel bus was very efficient and complementory.
The hotel is a Thomson Gold Hotel. We booked a few excursions with them and did some on our own, all very easy.
One other thing worth noting, the air conditioning wasn't set to 'arctic' which many hotels and cruise ships seem to think we all want. The weather was hot when we were there, 30c + but inside the hotel was perfect.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JRH_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Address: Via Parisi 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £208 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel President, 4 star hotel in Sorrento Italy, overlooks the Sorrentine Peninsular and the Bay of Naples offering one of the best views in the world . A view which has inspired many artists and song writers for centuries. The splendid terraces of the Grand Hotel President with their sea views, the swimming pool, the beauty and fitness centres and the refined panoramic restaurant are all part of the services that combine to guarantee the full attention of the staff which is always attuned to satisfying the desires of the guests . The tranquil atmosphere in which the Grand Hotel President is immersed , accompanied by the scent of flowers and scrubs from the hotels very well maintained gardens, make it the ideal place for a relaxing and restful holiday. The centre of Sorrento which is only 3 klms away, is easily reached thanks to the free shuttle service of the Grand Hotel President. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing