We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel President
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We have been to sorrento many times, There is much to see in and around this region therefore it is an exellent base for exploring the many historical sites.
We have stayed many times at the grand hotel president and it has never disappointed
us ,always giving exellent service. We usually stay in a superior sea view room they are spacious nicely furnished with a wonderful view of the bay.The management and staff at the hotel offer a very high service and are always friendly and helpful nothing is to much trouble. The hotel restuarants serve delicious food of which there is a wide and varied choice.This hotel is a lovely hotel in a lovely location .

Room Tip: Superior with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

We spent a week at the Hotel President and found that it lived up well to our expectations. The location suited our requirements as we intended to spend more time at the hotel enjoying the views and the excellent services, rather than tripping down to Sorrento (we have holidayed inSorrento twice already).
We also chose a standard room with the intention of spending more time around the hotel - and, yes, we got the one with the wall & pipes! But we still judged it to be the right strategy for us.
The room was kept scrupulously clean and had plenty of space and storage in wardrobes, cupboards and drawers, but it was a bit gloomy and dark due to the external light restriction and the extremely low powered electrical lighting.
Dining was a delight; we enjoyed every breakfast and evening meal. The loss of a half bottle of wine that we had left from a previous night was generously resolved. This sort of thing costs the hotel very little but leaves a very good impression.
The entertainment that we sampled on several nights was of a very good standard.
Service levels and staff attitudes during our stay were a delight - attentive but not intrusive, and my wife thinks they make the best Pimms & lemonade she has ever had.
All in all an excellent stay and I only hope we have the opportunity to return.

Room Tip: Judge your priorities carefully to decide if the sea view is worth the extremely high oncost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Just got back from a week's stay at the President for our Silver Wedding Anniversary. Views are stunning, rooms are spacious, pool is chilly, gardens are lovely, food is ok, drinks are expensive, location is isolated, courtesy bus is reliable, entertainment is not for everyone, bars are comfortable & staff are efficient. We would return to Sorrento but not to this hotel due to it's location, but it was worth it once, just for the views

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KentSunseeker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Great staff and food, great common areas but our room at the back faced a stone wall but the common areas like pool and bar gad views to die for so it wasn't so bad. The hotel is isolated up a hill so don't go for town nightlife. We could hear the entertainment some nights and we were four floors down but it finished at midnigh

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanmcglone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This was our second trip to the Hotel President and yet again we had a fabulous time. We have very fond memories of our first visit and the memories of our second visit are as good if not better!!

This year we upgraded to a sea view and a balcony and it was well worth it. The views from our balcony were to die for. Our room was one of the ones under the restaurant but we weren't disturbed at all by any noise from above. Our room was very spacious, exceptionally clean and the air con worked brilliantly (which it needed to do as we were in close to 40 degree heat!!)

The restuarant staff were superb with me. I have been on a gluten free diet for over 15 years and this is one of the best hotels I have stopped in with regards to the food they gave me. I had my own little plate of goodies for breakfast - cakes, bread, crackers, muesli and then at dinner suitable dishes were pointed out for me and they even made gluten free lasagne and pasta dishes for me on the gala dinner nights. You wouldn't believe how much easier they made it for me especially as I'm quite fussy too!!!

The poolside bar was exactly as I remembered it with quality views and excellent food. We were such regulars that we didn't need to order our drinks as Dino just brought over a rose wine, large beer and bottle of water.

The number of courtesy buses into Sorrento per day has increased from last year and with a bit of planning there is always one to suit your needs. We went into Sorrento 3 times and always found the buses to be at a convenient time for us.

And as we enjoyed our last drinks, overlooking the Bay of Naples, we talked about where we might take our summer holidays next year and concluded that it's likely to be in Sorrento and it's likely to be at the President.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane140676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This is our 2nd stay at the President and were overwhelmed at the welcome back we received from the staff. Lovely hotel with stunning views. We had a superior room with balcony /sea view, bathrobes and slippers and tea/coffee facilities. Good food, clean rooms, Lovely dining room. Very good entertainment in the show bar if you want it or if you prefer a quieter evening go up on to the roof terrace there are lots of lovely whicker chairs and comfy cushions and stunning views over sorrento by night. A pianist/solo singer is usually up there very relaxing. Afternoon tea and cakes in the piano lounge again looking out at stunning views. Nice pool area with plenty of loungers and brollies also entertainment and fun quizzes and prizes if you want it (not noisy) There is a regular shuttle bus down the hill or we walked down there is a short cut (in our 50's). Lots of trips to go on try the sail away cruise we loved it. Give Versuvius a miss a bit of a treck.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We have just returned fron the hotel having stayed 11 nights.Everything was perfect,from the minute we walked in to our departure!We had looked at various reviews before booking and chose a room upgrade to superior room with sea view and boy,we were not disappointed!!The view when we opened the shutters was amazing and the room great.A meal was waiting for us in our room as the restaurant had closed and that was lovely,with a complimentary bottle of wine too.The Thomson reps were excellent and when we mentioned my husbands wheat intolerance they were swift to inform the chef and all restaurant staff who were wonderful and informed him as to which dishes were more suited to him and even went to the trouble of making special wheat free dishes which were excellent!A special mention must go to Luigi (Maitre d') as he ran an excellent restaurant with precision but in a very relaxed efficient mannner,his staff were very attentive too and its pretty obvious they enjoy working there!Thank you Luigi for your patience when I was trying to learn your language and Antonio too.The seating on the balcony with views over the Bay of Naples was unforgettable and made it such an amazing dining experience.We would love to return and know that Thomson intend to make it Platinum next year which is well deserved but several guest including ourselves worry that it may not be so desirable when children are allowed,most guests over August tend to be in the teaching proffesion and love their jobs but prefer the tranquility of a child free holiday.Thank you to all staff at The Grand President,including the very skilled and patient bus driver who ferried guest to and fro Sorrento several times daily.

Room Tip: upgrade to roon with view for excellent views biy if unable to the outlook from other rooms can be f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BETSYJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Address: Via Parisi 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £99 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel President, 4 star hotel in Sorrento Italy, overlooks the Sorrentine Peninsular and the Bay of Naples offering one of the best views in the world . A view which has inspired many artists and song writers for centuries. The splendid terraces of the Grand Hotel President with their sea views, the swimming pool, the beauty and fitness centres and the refined panoramic restaurant are all part of the services that combine to guarantee the full attention of the staff which is always attuned to satisfying the desires of the guests . The tranquil atmosphere in which the Grand Hotel President is immersed , accompanied by the scent of flowers and scrubs from the hotels very well maintained gardens, make it the ideal place for a relaxing and restful holiday. The centre of Sorrento which is only 3 klms away, is easily reached thanks to the free shuttle service of the Grand Hotel President. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing