We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel President
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a week late August, this was to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary, and all I can say is what a fabulous hotel. We arrived late on the Monday evening, but there was a cold buffet waiting for us in our room and a bottle of wine and a bowl of fruit. I was a little disappointed at first as our room didnt have a sea or pool view, as we had paid extra for a superior room, but when I saw the other rooms facing the brick wall I thought thank god I did pay a little bit extra. When I saw the rooms facing the pool I was glad I didnt have one of those as you didnt have much privacy if you wanted to sit on the balcony throughout the day. You don't really need a seaview as the view from the roof terrace was out of this world.
The rooms were kept spotless and towels replaced daily, but your only allowed 1 pool towel for the week.
The food was really lovely, from the buffet breakfast through to the evening meal, could not fault it one bit, the waiters were so attentive, and 5 out of the 7 nights we were lucky to have a table out on the balcony looking out over the bay.
The waiters in the bar were really nice, always checking to see if anyone needed a drink and providing nuts and nibbles.

The Thomson staff were really helpful from Lee and Marcia the holiday advisors through the entertainment staff, nothing was too much trouble.
The walk around Sorrento with Desiree was good, but was just a bit of advertising for the local shops and restaurants to get you to go back and spend some money there. It is a fair trek into town by foot, but the hotel does provide the coach to ferry you back and forth.

The evening entertainment was excellent if you like West End Musicals.
Would definatley go back again sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Definately pay a bit extra for the superior room.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,316)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel President
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

941 - 947 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

I thought it was about time an up-to-date review was provided. This hotel and location is beautiful, the service very friendly and excellent and I found it to be of a comfortable high standard, without you feeling you were 'on show'. It's great if you want that extra level of comfort and the real benefit of no children under 16. As a veggie there was lots of variety with many delicious recipies I hadn't had before.
I found Tomson's service OK, yes I was a bit sceptical about the pool side and day time activities, but there was a lot happening if you wanted it and the standard was pretty good - some were quite fun like the water ti-chi and italien language lessons. If they weren't for you you didn't have to join in and they were not 'in your face' like some other hotels. The same went for the evening entertainment.
The views overlooking the bay are mezmorising, with many evenings on the outside terrace bar spent gazing over the lights with a glass of wine (sparingly at 6-8 euros a glass though). The regular courtesy bus was a real bonus but necessary given its position. The spa treatments are also well worth a visit, a great massage and there is 50% off a second treatment.
I haven't talked much about Sorrento as I'm sure there are lots of other sites and blogs that cover this, but a great base to travel north and south and over to Capri.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Have been staying at the Grand Hotel President for over 20 years and it never fails to please, brilliant views, excellent food and the staff throughout the hotel are most helpful and friendly,

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view you will not be disappointed
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRANCESESSEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We have been to sorrento many times, There is much to see in and around this region therefore it is an exellent base for exploring the many historical sites.
We have stayed many times at the grand hotel president and it has never disappointed
us ,always giving exellent service. We usually stay in a superior sea view room they are spacious nicely furnished with a wonderful view of the bay.The management and staff at the hotel offer a very high service and are always friendly and helpful nothing is to much trouble. The hotel restuarants serve delicious food of which there is a wide and varied choice.This hotel is a lovely hotel in a lovely location .

Room Tip: Superior with sea view
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We spent a week at the Hotel President and found that it lived up well to our expectations. The location suited our requirements as we intended to spend more time at the hotel enjoying the views and the excellent services, rather than tripping down to Sorrento (we have holidayed inSorrento twice already).
We also chose a standard room with the intention of spending more time around the hotel - and, yes, we got the one with the wall & pipes! But we still judged it to be the right strategy for us.
The room was kept scrupulously clean and had plenty of space and storage in wardrobes, cupboards and drawers, but it was a bit gloomy and dark due to the external light restriction and the extremely low powered electrical lighting.
Dining was a delight; we enjoyed every breakfast and evening meal. The loss of a half bottle of wine that we had left from a previous night was generously resolved. This sort of thing costs the hotel very little but leaves a very good impression.
The entertainment that we sampled on several nights was of a very good standard.
Service levels and staff attitudes during our stay were a delight - attentive but not intrusive, and my wife thinks they make the best Pimms & lemonade she has ever had.
All in all an excellent stay and I only hope we have the opportunity to return.

Room Tip: Judge your priorities carefully to decide if the sea view is worth the extremely high oncost.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Just got back from a week's stay at the President for our Silver Wedding Anniversary. Views are stunning, rooms are spacious, pool is chilly, gardens are lovely, food is ok, drinks are expensive, location is isolated, courtesy bus is reliable, entertainment is not for everyone, bars are comfortable & staff are efficient. We would return to Sorrento but not to this hotel due to it's location, but it was worth it once, just for the views

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KentSunseeker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Great staff and food, great common areas but our room at the back faced a stone wall but the common areas like pool and bar gad views to die for so it wasn't so bad. The hotel is isolated up a hill so don't go for town nightlife. We could hear the entertainment some nights and we were four floors down but it finished at midnigh

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanmcglone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Address: Via Parisi 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £176 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel President, 4 star hotel in Sorrento Italy, overlooks the Sorrentine Peninsular and the Bay of Naples offering one of the best views in the world . A view which has inspired many artists and song writers for centuries. The splendid terraces of the Grand Hotel President with their sea views, the swimming pool, the beauty and fitness centres and the refined panoramic restaurant are all part of the services that combine to guarantee the full attention of the staff which is always attuned to satisfying the desires of the guests . The tranquil atmosphere in which the Grand Hotel President is immersed , accompanied by the scent of flowers and scrubs from the hotels very well maintained gardens, make it the ideal place for a relaxing and restful holiday. The centre of Sorrento which is only 3 klms away, is easily reached thanks to the free shuttle service of the Grand Hotel President. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing