We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel President
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$529
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$475
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$566
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$457
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$885
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$723
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$414
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$505
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$586
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$513
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$1,003
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,386)
Filter reviews
1,386 results
Traveller rating
987
286
77
29
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
987
286
77
29
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtesy bussea viewbay of naplesa la carte restaurantbrick wallsuperior roomwaiter serviceevening mealgrand buffetpiano barhotel busroof terraceamazing viewsfantastic hotelsalad barhalf boardrestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
989 - 994 of 1,386 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This was the first time we had been to Italy and the first time we had been on a half board holiday for a long time. The hotel is really first class and like the previous reviewer the food and and service in the restaurant was excellant. The food at the gala nights was something special. The bedrooms were well furnished and although our sea view room was on the ground floor and had only a view of the pool, it didn't matter as you had plenty of views from the bar and restaurants. We especially liked a drink before dinner in the roof bar, a cold drink and the sunset over Sorrento was fabulous. We enjoyed the evening entertainment and if you wanted to join in the day or evening organised activities you could but were not forced to join in. I enjoyed the free daily crossword puzzle sheet.
The hotel is quite a distance from the town centre so you really need to use the free curtesy bus, but on the plus side it means that it is a very peaceful place to relax. Two suggestions that would make the hotel even better are: Have kettles in every room so you can make your own hot drinks if required and I really can't believe the pool is heated.!! It didn't encourage me to get in and swim off all that lovely food.
I hear that this hotel will become a Thompson Platinum hotel next year, which will probably make this a more expensive holiday and I hope they will still have evening entertainment.
I was really pleased that we stayed at this hotel and I don't know why I am writing this glowing report when I really want to keep this place a secret.!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

An altogether delightful hotel! Views are unbeatable and staff service is impeccable -we have only stayed once before (in May 2010) but the maitre 'de, Luigi, recognised us on the first night as returning guests and gave us a warm welcome which set the tone for the whole of the holiday.
Our room overlooked the bay, Vesuvius and Sorrento giving breathtaking views by day and night and was well worth the extra paid for a superior sea view room. It is worth specifying a high floor where you are guaranteed a magnificent view.
The food is superb and the waiters so attentive that you are always made to feel a valued guest. Luigi does his best to ensure you have as nice a spot as possible in the dining room and we were fortunate to be able to eat on balcony outside on a few night sand have window seats on others thus taking in the lovely views too.
The staff at the bar are outstanding and the fruit juices we had each of the mornings we spent on the roof terrace were mini fruit salads - and works of art which got more spectacular as the week went on!! We enjoyed nights either in show bar or piano lounge or on roof terrace and our favourite tipples were soon remembered ,another example of being made to feel 'special' .
Our room was kept spotless and well provided with all neccessities each day. The additional bus times to and from Sorrento are very welcome and the bus driver unfailingly prompt and so cheerful he is a marvel! We spent a few evenings in Sorrento too and took in the atmosphere there. The italians know how to enjoy themselves and Sorrento by night is quite vibrant. The Amalfi drive is a must and we fell in love all over again with Amalfi and Ravello!
The Thomson Reps seemed very pleasant and efficient though we mostly did 'our own thing'. It does seem a shame that entertainment will not take place next year. We can see that entertainment every night of the week may be a problem but the location of the hotel begs for something to be happening some nights there - otherwise guests will slip away to Sorrento and this will cause problems with the bus on its final trip back at 11pm!
If I had one critisicm to make it would be the removal of the sun parasols from the roof terrace ,which last time we stayed were a godsend in the middle of the day. I do understand that health and safety regulations have brought this about but skin cancer is also a health concern! However, that aside, we would recommend this hotel without reservation , having had two of the best ever holidays there- due in no small part to the wonderful staff. We are already planning our return!

Room Tip: If paying for a superior sea view specify a high floor to really benefit from the spectacular views.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Fantastic views over bay of Naples and Vesuvius, service very good. It is a shame that it will not be a Thomson Gold hotel next year as having an entertainment team there really benefitted the hotel due to it's location high on the hillside therefore only suitable to go into town by bus or courtesy bus. If anyone from Thomson is reading this keep it a Gold please!

Room Tip: There was a high demand for rooms overlooking the bay as the view was so fantastic however we were not overlooking the bay and did not find that to be a problem as there are so many areas of the hotel where you can sit overlooking it if you wish and we are not ones to spend time on the balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotsMuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Apart from the beautiful view overlooking Sorrento & the Bay of Naples the best thing about this hotel is how friendly & helpful the staff are.
The breakfasts are good without being anything special but the evening meals are wonderful, you'd have to be extremely faddy not to find the various options tempting. Be warned though the cost of drinks is not cheap & your bar tab can quickly mount up.
The courtesy bus in & out of town is efficient & necessary, to attempt to walk back up is not practical for anyone but the super fit.
The Thomson entertainment people were all very nice & worked hard, however if you wanted to get away to use the quieter roof terrace there were no parasols up there.

Room Tip: Warning: If you haven't upgraded to a superior room you could end up, as we did, looking at a brick wall which made the room very dark.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a week late August, this was to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary, and all I can say is what a fabulous hotel. We arrived late on the Monday evening, but there was a cold buffet waiting for us in our room and a bottle of wine and a bowl of fruit. I was a little disappointed at first as our room didnt have a sea or pool view, as we had paid extra for a superior room, but when I saw the other rooms facing the brick wall I thought thank god I did pay a little bit extra. When I saw the rooms facing the pool I was glad I didnt have one of those as you didnt have much privacy if you wanted to sit on the balcony throughout the day. You don't really need a seaview as the view from the roof terrace was out of this world.
The rooms were kept spotless and towels replaced daily, but your only allowed 1 pool towel for the week.
The food was really lovely, from the buffet breakfast through to the evening meal, could not fault it one bit, the waiters were so attentive, and 5 out of the 7 nights we were lucky to have a table out on the balcony looking out over the bay.
The waiters in the bar were really nice, always checking to see if anyone needed a drink and providing nuts and nibbles.

The Thomson staff were really helpful from Lee and Marcia the holiday advisors through the entertainment staff, nothing was too much trouble.
The walk around Sorrento with Desiree was good, but was just a bit of advertising for the local shops and restaurants to get you to go back and spend some money there. It is a fair trek into town by foot, but the hotel does provide the coach to ferry you back and forth.

The evening entertainment was excellent if you like West End Musicals.
Would definatley go back again sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Definately pay a bit extra for the superior room.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews