We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just gorgeous....I want to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel President
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just gorgeous....I want to go back”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The Grand Hotel President is a beautiful hotel.

I have just returned from a 7 night stay. The reception area did not have the 'wow' factor when I first walked in but I was certainly very sad to leave it.

I was staying on the 3rd floor (which is reception level) and the highest floor you can stay on. I did not have a sea view, we looked at one and it was amazing but they lose the sun during the afternoon whereas my room had the lovely evening sun. My room was spacious, tastefully furnished and was kept immaculately by the lovely housekeeper throughout my stay. There is a well stocked mini bar in the room but you just need to keep an eye on the prices.....they also charge 5 euros a day if you use the fridge for water etc purchased outside of the hotel.

The bathrooms are spacious and most have a bath as well as a shower although some in our party only had a shower. They are stocked with plenty of soaps, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion etc.

The beds were a little hard for me but I still slept ok.

If you don't have a sea view room then don't worry, all you need do is go and sit up on the beautiful roof terrace which has lovely rattan furniture with big comfy cushions. There's a range of chairs, sunbeds, sofas and large double sunbeds up there. There are also showers up there so you can cool off.

The pool is on the lower level and is lovely, plenty of sunbeds. There's also a small garden which has a few double sunbeds.

The bar area is spotless and contemporary and the restaurant is beautiful. All the public areas have amazing views out over the bay of Naples, Vesuvius and Sorrento.

The food is far too gorgeous and Luigi and his team in the restaurant are just wonderful. Giovanni and the bar staff also go out of their way to help you.

There's a courtesy bus down into Sorrento so it is a really convenient hotel in terms of getting around. You can walk into Sorrento but you probably wouldn't want to walk back again of an evening! We got a taxi back and it worked out at about 5 euros each.

The courtesy bus stops just down from the station so it's easy to get up to Pompei or Herculaneum (we did both in one day which may have been a bit ambitious).

All in all an absolutely fabulous holiday which was made very special by the friendly and helpful hotel staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jules2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    247
    63
    28
    8
See reviews for
229
739
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
limburg
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Breakfast was not so good, a group left on morning and there was no bread left, and none to get!
Some barmen were impolite. Reception very friendly.
The best thing is the view over the bay of Naples, propably the best in Sorrento. Also good connections to the trainstation by bus of the hotel.
Price - quality is very good. Good place to go to the Amalfi coast because you dont get to pass trough sorrento, when you have a car.

Room Tip: You must take a superior room with seaview, otherwise it is a horrible view outside. There is a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mig55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Beautiful hotel on a cliff overlooking Sorrento. We arrived late at night and the staff had left some food in our room which was very thoughtful. Our room was at the back of the hotel but once we'd seen the view of the Bay of Naples from the restaurant at breakfast the next morning we just had to move, which was handled with minimum fuss by the reception staff (with a little help from the Thomsons rep) and was well worth the extra money. The room was very spacious, with a good sized bathroom and, of course, that amazing view.

The hotel is set in lovely grounds, quite a hike up the cliff but we managed it most days although there is also a bus with a very friendly and helpful driver.

The most outstanding asset this hotel has is the restaurant and it's staff and the wonderful food of course! The maitre d' and all the other restaurant staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful, always willing to give advice on the evening menu. There was one evening when I didn't feel like a starter and was offered fruit - the fruit arrived on the plate in the design of a flower! Another evening I couldn't decide on dessert as they all sounded delicious, having finally made up my mind, when the dessert arrived, I had the two desserts (thank you Antonio)!!

Sorrento is beautiful and we were able to get about on local transport by train to Pompeii, by bus to Amalfi, and by ferry to Capri.

We travelled with Thomsons and the rep was great including all the transfers from/to the airport. We will definitely be back to Sorrento one day and this is the only hotel I would stay in.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The 5 star ratings given by tripadvisor members are very accurate, we have just completed a wonderful holiday in this hotel. Listing high points for the hotel: Food, people, service and magnificent bay views… and for the surrounding area it is hard to beat the rustic charm of Sorrento, fantastic views during the drive from Sorrento to Amalfi, and day trips to Vesuvius, Herculaneum and Pompeii should not be missed. Low points – none.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gazgadget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and it is as amazing now as it was last year but this time we got married in sorrento from the start to the finish Thomsons have been great helping with all the arrangements. The staff at the hotel are fantastic they just can't to enough for you making all our guests welcome. The star of the show is the maturedi Luigi and his team who just are the best making sure we were looked after and had everything we wanted. I would recommend this hotel one for location as the views are to die for and second for the staff and clenliness.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hagues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012 via mobile

This is easily the best Thomson Gold hotel I've stayed in. Fabulous views, exquisite food and service other hotels just can't seem to match. All the staff where fabulous and really made our holiday something to remember.

Stayed August 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank Laura_WC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I have stayed in this hotel over 10 times before, always loved it for its Italian charm, great service and the wonderful staff. So you can image my dissappointment when i went back last year to discover it had been turned in a Thomson holiday resort. All its italian charm has been stripped away, with nightly Englsih shows-and reps that use their mega-phones around the pool, its so sad.

I will just have to hang on to my memories of times gone by.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank travelbunny666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Property: Grand Hotel President
Address: Via Parisi 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel President, 4 star hotel in Sorrento Italy, overlooks the Sorrentine Peninsular and the Bay of Naples offering one of the best views in the world . A view which has inspired many artists and song writers for centuries. The splendid terraces of the Grand Hotel President with their sea views, the swimming pool, the beauty and fitness centres and the refined panoramic restaurant are all part of the services that combine to guarantee the full attention of the staff which is always attuned to satisfying the desires of the guests . The tranquil atmosphere in which the Grand Hotel President is immersed , accompanied by the scent of flowers and scrubs from the hotels very well maintained gardens, make it the ideal place for a relaxing and restful holiday. The centre of Sorrento which is only 3 klms away, is easily reached thanks to the free shuttle service of the Grand Hotel President. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing