We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel President
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We booked this hotel at the very last minute for myself, husband, mother and two children and I cant recommend it enough. We are quite fussy and spoilt travellers and so had no idea what to expect from this hotel given its not one of the most well known hotels in Sorrento. We were so pleased with it however we would love to go back next year. Right from my initial rushed emails about transfers from Naples and close room allocation for the 2 rooms they could not help enough. Of particular credit to the hotel is the manager/concierge called Vincent who was able to sort transfers, restaurants and dealt with any query politely and efficiently. The view from the hotel is amazing and we much preferred being up in the hills looking down on Sorrento than being down in hustle and bustle of the town where the beauty of the coast line could not be appreciated. We went Bed and breakfast (through booking.com) which I would recommend although I think Thomson the British tour operator only does half board in the hotel. There is too much choice of great food in Sorrento to do half board at the hotel. There is a good shuttle service down to the town although I do think they could have done a run into town at dinner time not just 5.30 and 9pm. The pool and bar area is lovely and run very well by the bar man there. Nothing was too much trouble. Lunch by the pool was fabulous. We cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: Sea view very important
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    245
    61
    27
    8
See reviews for
226
721
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stunning views, spotlessly clean, excellent staff, great food, Now the bad bit, 1/3 of the rooms either look onto a brick wall six foot from the door or onto a car park, rooms on the 4th and 5th floors near the dining area are very noisy,beds are rock hard. (pay the extra for sea view)

Room Tip: PAY FOR THE VIEW !!!! or a prison cell awaits
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 49Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just arrived home from a 7 night break at the President. This was our first holiday in Italy and wow what an introduction!
The hotel gives a first class service; all members of staff work very hard at making your holiday a wonderful experience! We travelled with Thomsons on a half board basis; the flight was painless, the transfer was an hour and 30 minutes (sit on the opposite side from the driver for an amazing view of the Bay of Naples). Our initial room allocation was on the 4th floor and at the back of the hotel, it had a patio with no view or sun, it was spotlessly clean and well presented, but after spending the 1st night in it we asked reception for a room upgrade and was given the choice of 3 rooms over looking Sorrento. We chose room 334, which over looked the gardens and had a view to take your breath away! The upgrade was cheaper direct with the hotel than with Thomsons. The hotel bus is very useful and when the bus doesn't run the public "sita" buses are easy and cheap to use from down town Sorrento or if you are feeling fit the walk back from town is approximately 25 minutes uphill. We can highly recommend the boat trip which stops for a swim off Capri, sails around the Amalfi coast to Positano and Amalfi, this was arranged direct with the Valentino mini cruise (approx 21 euros), it was fantastic and fun. We have considered other hotels within the town of Sorrento for next year's trip, but quite honestly we really don't think you can better this wonderful hotel; the service is exceptional, the food is of a high standard, the location is unique and as for the view it's captivating and is honestly worth paying that bit more for the jaw dropping sight and ever changing colours of Sorrento! We are in the process of booking a 2 week break at the President next year and are confident that the holiday will be a repeat of our recent fantastic stay.We have travelled throughout the world including Asia, Africa and Europe and stayed in many 4/5 star rated hotels but the President is one of the best!

Room Tip: We found the rooms that overlook Sorrento that also look over the lawns are quieter than the rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

This was a beautiful Hotel with wonderful facilites and staff, we were therefore disappointed with our allocated room (No.504) on the lowest floor. The view from the balcony was incredible but the room which was very clean was quite spartan, furnish with dismal black ash furniture, unlike other rooms on higher floors which were apparently gorgeous. The balcony was a little shabby and could do with a facelift to bring it to the standards of the rest of the Hotel.
The free shuttlebus which runs between the Hotel and the town centre several times a day was a godsend as the journey by taxis (approx 8 mins) costs around £20.
The food although rather expensive was first rate. The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: If you can afford an upgrade from Room 504 it would be worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smudge090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is a very good hotel, staff are excellent, Food is faultless,Best views overlooking sorrento. would go back again anytime.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are very modern, Garden rooms are very traditional, All excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DAVID N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

My husband and I enjoyed staying at this hotel as it is away from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento but easy to access. All the staff in the hotel are very friendly, yet unobtrusive. The hotel throughout is very clean and the gardens are beautiful. The evening meal is a set menu apart from one night which is a buffet. The food and service provided was good.
The room was a lovely size. The wi-fi access in the room was pretty reasonable and was free. The hotel provides a bus service into Sorrento but we found we had to use a taxi to get back to the hotel a few times because we had missed the bus (due to ferry times) and the next pick up was a few hours wait.It costs approx 20 euros. There are no tea/coffee facitlities in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel in May 2012, and what a pleasure it was. Great room with a view to die for and super facilities. All the staff throughout the hotel from Reception, Porters, Cleaning, and Dining Room and Bar Staff were friendly and co-operative and nothing was too much trouble for any of them.
The food was first class with great choice at both Breakfast and Dinner and the evening music was relaxing especially with the wonderful views from the bar/terrace.
The free courtesy bus with it's friendly driver was a really convenient feature of going to and from Sorrento Town itself.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room - the views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Property: Grand Hotel President
Address: Via Colle Parisi 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel President, 4 star hotel in Sorrento Italy, overlooks the Sorrentine Peninsular and the Bay of Naples offering one of the best views in the world . A view which has inspired many artists and song writers for centuries. The splendid terraces of the Grand Hotel President with their sea views, the swimming pool, the beauty and fitness centres and the refined panoramic restaurant are all part of the services that combine to guarantee the full attention of the staff which is always attuned to satisfying the desires of the guests . The tranquil atmosphere in which the Grand Hotel President is immersed , accompanied by the scent of flowers and scrubs from the hotels very well maintained gardens, make it the ideal place for a relaxing and restful holiday. The centre of Sorrento which is only 3 klms away, is easily reached thanks to the free shuttle service of the Grand Hotel President. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing