We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel President
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$270
US$225
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$402
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$345
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$481
US$451
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$222
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Bellevue Syrene(Sorrento)
US$1,067
US$892
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$316
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cesare Augusto(Sorrento)
US$220
US$213
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,372)
Filter reviews
1,372 results
Traveller rating
975
284
77
29
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
975
284
77
29
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtesy bussea viewbay of naplesa la carte restaurantbrick wallsuperior roomwaiter serviceevening mealgrand buffetpiano barhotel busroof terraceamazing viewsfantastic hotelsalad barhalf boardrestaurant staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
916 - 921 of 1,372 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The hotel sits above Sorrento on the side of a hill - so you get great views of Sorrento, Vesuvius, the Gulf of Naples. Don't bother paying extra for sea views - not worth it - you get the views in the bar, on the roof terrace bar, in the restaurant, by the pool. The staff are excellent, particularly in restaurant and bar. If you like old fashioned hospitality with waiters in white jackets with a genuine interest in your enjoyment, this is the place. The pool is very good, good little pool-side snack restaurant. They will steer you towards the menu, but you can have sandwiches any time. Breakfast is excellent. Dinner is good, buffet once a week on Thursdays. Bottle wine starts around 14 euro. Free shuttle bus to Sorrento 5 or 6 times a day, takes 10 minutes, otherwise a 20 minute walk down the hill. Sorrento itself is lively!

Room Tip: Mention you are celebrating a birthday, or ask for a duplex room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmysol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We came to Sorrento for a family wedding and booked the Grand President in a bit of a rush. First mistake had been to book a Superior Balcony room - these have none of the fabulous views you see on the website. And then we went to dinner, had to sit inside and were not impressed with the food. So, first night, not happy. Then the next day, the sun was out, the roof terrace was quiet and the views fantastic. Had a nice lunch by the pool, arranged to move to a Sea View room and had a nice dinner that night. (First night was down to bad choosing it seems). Dinner is slightly odd - a buffet served by waiters in full evening dress with varying amounts of gold braid - and can move quite quickly, but the view over nighttime Sorrento is magical. (We were there during Euro 2012 and one evening when Italy scored we could hear the roar rising up from the town). Some guests dressed quite formally when dining and we got the feeling we were a little young for the place, though there was a mix of ages.
Sorrento itself was mad - but then it was high season. You can walk down the hill from the hotel in 20 mins or take the hotel's bus service. Fantastic shopping, but they do take a long siesta in the afternoons. The wedding was fabulous. If you'd like to see one, hang around the San Francesco Cloisters - they seem to have a production line going.
After we had departed for the airport I discovered I'd left a pair of binoculars behind in the room. A couple of phone calls and a few weeks later they arrived on my doorstep. So, grazie Grand President

Room Tip: Sea View is worth the extra.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillsBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We had a lovely 2 night stay at this great hotel. The rooms were very clean, although ours was a little smelly and noisy, not sure whether it was because we were under the kitchen. On a positive note, the pool area with a view to die for was a great place to chill. There are many bars you can drink from, there's also a happy hour. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There are regular shuttles into town, although there was a big gap around dinner time, I suppose to encourage guests to eat at the hotel. The breakfast was certainly plentiful, not many hotels serve eggs the way you want, this was refreshing after eating so many croissants around Europe.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bonny021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Just stayed in Sorrento at the the Grand Hotel President. Lovely hotel with just over 100 bedrooms. Sunbeds not the most comfortable, and sometimes not enough to go round but we managed! Very, very hot EVERY day - a nice change from the UK. Staff were excellent, very efficient and helpful. No internet connection unless authorised by reception, but this seems to be the same all over Sorrento - no wi fi down in town either. Food great, plenty to choose from. Boats to Capri over crowded - pay the extra to go on a smaller boat, it would be worth it! I am not very mobile and there are a few steps up and down to a couple of the bars, so not suitable for wheelchairs, but you could manage with a stick! Would love to go back but not in the height of the summer - too hot for me, but fine for my husband. I think May and early June or September would be perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiki191710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Myself and my wife decided to go to Sorrento for a vacation. We had checked out a few hotels and decided on the Grand Hotel President.

We wanted peace and quiet but also the option to enjoy what Sorrento had to offer. The hotel is situated a little bit south from Sorrento and up the hill. It is difficult to find but luckily we had our TomTom.

Upon arrival we had mixed feelings as it does not have this grand entrance with huge gates. What we discovered was that the hotel faces the sea and the entrance was technically at the back. By the way parking is free (some hotels will charge daily!).

The room was very comfortable with a balcony giving a beautiful vista of Sorrento and the bay of Naples. It smelled a little funny (stale air) but after opening the doors to the balcony it was gone very quickly. I put this down to us being there at the beginning of the season and the room not being used that much. The room itself had airco (as you would expect) a min-bar and flat screen TV.
The only thing I thought could have been improved is that when you use the little soaps and shampoos they are not changed daily. Laundry service was available with next day delivery. Dry cleaning was 5 euro..very cheap!

The restaurant was superb with an option to sit outside and take in the views. Good menu with fish, meat and pastas. Good staff and a very good wine list
There is food available at the poolside bar also which is very handy when you are spending a day lazing in the sun.
I have to say but we have never met friendlier staff. They were attentive and polite and would go out of their way to help.

They provide a free bus service which drops you into Sorrento and also picks you up. We used this a few times and found it ideal. The hotel is about 5-10 mins drive from the centre of Sorrento so there was no problem getting in and out (Sorrento is terrible for parking…use the car parks, there is one near where the bus drops you off we found).
The only ‘bad’ thing was that you could not order food and drinks from the same waiter. A little thing but it could be annoying when you want a drink after ordering food or vice versa. Also they tend to want to charge to the room. I can see their point but it makes your spending difficult to keep track of.

The breakfast was amazing!!! Fresh fruit, cheeses, cold meats, breads, muesli and if you were inclined…the makings of an English/Irish breakfast (beans, mushrooms, grilled tomatoes, eggs, fried bread, sausages, bacon, toast). So they did cater for a lot of tastes.

All in all this was a great hotel. I would go so far as to say I would return (my wife is already talking about it!)

Room Tip: choose a sea view otherwise your room will be facing the mountain face!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irish_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews