We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb and can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel President
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb and can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

What a lovely hotel. We spent a week there in September using it as a base to visit Pompeii and Herculaneum. Everyone mentions the view from the rooms at the front, from the pool terrace and the roof bars and they are fantastic but I would also mention the friendly and helpful staff, the waiters and the reception guys were superb.

The hotel building itself is a little uninspiring. It is built from concrete and is perched on a cliff overlooking the town. It has something of an old fashioned feel and a ‘comfortableness’ that I liked. You are waited on at table for example. The wine list is good. Okay, the food isn’t perfect but it is passable. I must mention the lovely guy with the handlebar moustach who runs the bar – outstanding.

Our room was 248 and had a small balcony with the superb view of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. The bed was comfortable and the pillows soft. The bathroom was fine too. Couldn’t fault it really. We had lovely thick white bath robes and our towels were changed frequently.

We didn’t do the walk down the hill into town due to my poorly hip so we had to use the bus. It runs a little infrequently but when you find out the cost of a taxi the hotel bus is infinitely preferable.

I must mention the pool and pool bar. The water in the pool was freezing and try as we might we couldn’t steel ourselves sufficiently to get past knee depth. One or two brave souls did get in – slowly. The sun loungers are a bit quirky to say the least. Take a blow up pillow if you like to read by the pool in a sitting position rather than lying down. Lunch in the pool bar was a real highlight and not to be missed.

Can’t wait to go again, as we must, because Pompeii is very large and simply cannot be seen in a day. We took a guided tour for our first visit because you get to see the major attractions and have it all explained by a guide. Next time we’ll catch a train and spend our time looking around at our own pace rather than at what seemed like 100 mph trying to keep up with the guide.

Room Tip: Do pay a little extra and book a superior sea view room. Don't forget that the hotel is upside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank standleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    241
    61
    27
    8
See reviews for
224
714
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We returned after our first visit two years ago with high expectations, especially as Thomson have now "upgraded" the hotel from Gold to Platinum. But we won't go back again - and were disappointed at a more expensive holiday which offered fewer benefits. Gone are the towelling dressing gowns and slippers in the rooms, and the tea-making facilities (which even a basic Travel Lodge in the UK offers). Beach towels (which have seen better days and are still carrying the "Thomson Gold" logo) weren't changed during our week's stay. This is certainly not a 4 star hotel now - but a very average 3 star - and the change to Platinum is most certainly not an upward step.

The hotel is clean and the majority of the staff are still wonderful; nothing is too much trouble, and the legendary Maitre d', Luigi, continued to fill the restaurant with his own brand of charm and banter. But the food standards have slipped. Food has become Anglicised and rather canteen-like - apart from the wonderful buffet on the Thursday night. This was the standard you would expect every night from a 4 start hotel as it was full of high quality, authentic Italian cuisine.

Breakfast offers tinned fruit and poor-quality hot drinks from a machine. The self-serve breakfast buffet is adequate, but dull. Where is the wonderful fresh fruit which we saw in abundance in local shops?

We were located in Room 405 which was adjacent to the pool. We were awoken every morning at 6.42am by an alarm from a room nearby. When we complained to reception they simply shrugged, and suggested it was "guests getting up early for a trip" - but every day? We believe it was a member of staff - possibly from the swimming pool - starting an early shift Needless to say that once we were woken up the noise was so loud that we couldn't get back to sleep. the tiled floors echo every footstep taken, and the walls are so thin then when a shower is taken it sounds like a waterfall in your bedroom. Very disappointing on holiday where it would have been nice to have a lie in.

Almost every comment on Trip Advisor mentions the poor bus service in the afternoons, but Thomson stubbornly refuse to do anything about this. We did walk down and back up to Sorrento one day, but in the heat it is not for the faint-hearted! The first bus back from town at 4.15pm after the four hour break is dangerously over-crowded.

I did write to Thomson before our visit, having read some Trip Advisor comments, to express our concerns. Amongst other things they said they "constantly monitored" customer feedback, and grade their hotels accordingly. But monitoring is one thing - what about actually ACTING on the feedback they receive? By the end of the week we had heard comments from very many couples regarding the slipping standards of the hotel, and a general feeling of dissatisfaction that it is being marketed as a 4 star platinum when it is clearly not.

Anyway, the views were amazing, the weather was great, and travelling with good friends made it a memorable holiday - but bear in mind that all of these things were in spite of Thomson! They need to re-assess and market more honestly - we would not travel with them again on any package tour.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the view or the Bay of Naples or you will be disappointed! Avoid rooms by the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sowtonangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallasey uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

this remains one of the best hotels i have visited.I use the hilton chain marriot and other large american hotels.all are extremely good but this place is special.I have been twice the first time when i was in my twenties 60 now, and i still recognised faces.A bit used like mine but still there.I travelled with Sue my partner and we arrived extremly late during a storm.When we arrived at the hotel the staff had a lovely meal with wine waiting for us.The weather was fine from then on and we had a lovely weather for our stay the room was lovely with a balcony and a seaview to die for.Look at the hotel pics says it all.The hotel food was great (so like a cruise) with the level of service love the place hotel sorrento italy all fantastic i travelled may 2010 .

Room Tip: sea view balcony room worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonywest4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The staff make this hotel they were fantastic. The food is very Italian which I liked but some may struggle,the rabbit was excellent! The location is remote but they do offer a bus into town about 5 times a day with good returns so you can't really moan. When I say remote the views are stunning. There was nothing better than a beer in the evening and looking overthe bay as the sunset.

Room Tip: Try and get a junior suite or a sea view. We had a view of a wall.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
epsom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Although this a very pleasant Hotel I think a lack of attention to detail does not make it 4*. I have never stayed in a 4* Hotel in the world that expects you to use a pool towel for a week, seeing that you are putting suntan creams and what ever else on them. I have never been in a 4* Hotel were you had to get coffee or tea out of a machine a breakfast time and also a coffee served after an evening meal would be a nice touch. I was on a organised trip one morning and went into breakfast at 7.00am only to be told the omelet chef did not start till 8.00am, once again not 4* service when you are advise that breakfast is from 7.00-10.00am, I would expect everything be ready to go. I do not consider that the Hotel gives guest a 4* courtesy bus to town. if you miss the 12.15pm bus you had to wait until 16.15pm until the next bus, which is packed by then and a lot of people had to stand, not wise on the roads going up to Hotel. First bus of an evening at 21.00pm, not good enough. Lovely views good food, but for me not 4* due to things that could easily be corrected.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EpsomShaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

This was our first visit to this hotel and Sorrento and we were not dissappointed. We had a good room with a balcony with marvellous views overlooking Sorrento, the bay of Naples and Vesuvius. We took advice from previous reviews and paid extra for this. as some of the rooms are situated at the rear of the hotel, with nothing much to look at. This was well worth it in my opinion although there are wonderful views from the rooftop sun lounge and the dining area. The food was excellant and the waiters were very friendly and attentive. We would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends, but gentlmen be warned trousers must be worn for dinner, which is fine, but it was not mentioned in the brochure. The courtesy bus in our opinion could run more frequently.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stranraer
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

The only Hotel we have ever revisited!! We were there four years ago, which was our second visit to Sorrento........just back from a fabulous week, and agree totally with all the other rave revues.

The friendly atmosphere during our stay, along with the superb staff meant a very happy holiday.

In house entertainment of various types of musical forms each night was an added bonus...........music for every taste!!

Room Tip: Facing the sea is a must.............views are breathtaking!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAteam16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Property: Grand Hotel President
Address: Via Colle Parisi 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel President, 4 star hotel in Sorrento Italy, overlooks the Sorrentine Peninsular and the Bay of Naples offering one of the best views in the world . A view which has inspired many artists and song writers for centuries. The splendid terraces of the Grand Hotel President with their sea views, the swimming pool, the beauty and fitness centres and the refined panoramic restaurant are all part of the services that combine to guarantee the full attention of the staff which is always attuned to satisfying the desires of the guests . The tranquil atmosphere in which the Grand Hotel President is immersed , accompanied by the scent of flowers and scrubs from the hotels very well maintained gardens, make it the ideal place for a relaxing and restful holiday. The centre of Sorrento which is only 3 klms away, is easily reached thanks to the free shuttle service of the Grand Hotel President. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing