We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, lovely views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel President
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Just come back from 11 days at President Hotel Sorrento. What a stunning view. Arrived late - 10.30 p.m. and a lovely meal set up in our room for us, local ham, salad, bowl of fruit. Ordered a bottle of wine to go with it came with lots of delicious nibbles. What lovely staff, especially Tonino the courtesy coach driver, very helpful with boat, train timetables etc. Didn't have sea view room and people who did said they didn't sit out as in shade after mid-morning - might be different earlier in year. Recommend visit Pompeii and especially Herculaneum - use public transport easy and cheap - both sites free if over 65 - take your passport. Also Vesuvius visit, 20 euros from outside Pompeii railway station, much cheaper than booking a trip, fabulous at the top and a easy walk up - we are mid 60s. Evening meals good and waiter served, buffet on Thursdays - you are encouraged to make far too many trips to the serving tables! Our only "gripe" is nowhere to stroll out at night unless you take Tonino's free bus to Sorrento, last one back 11 p.m.
What a lovely holiday. Oh they also baked my husband a cake for his birthday.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room facing front and car park (but very quiet) with bath and shower. People we met...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanKellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

The President is perched on a crag above Sorrento so the views day and night are stunning - across Sorrento, the Bay of Naples and to Vesuvius. We paid the extra for a sea view and it was worth it. Breakfast and dinner were taken on the restaurant terrace and sipping a gin and tonic in the bar or on the roof terrace were all made even more special by the spectacular scenery beneath.
Luigi (wonderful Head Waiter) and all the staff were extremely helpful. Breakfast was excellent and dinner good. On two evenings there was live music which added to the atmosphere.
We spent a week at the hotl but we used it as a base to explore the coast from Naples to Amalfi. It was lovely to have a refreshing dip in the pool on our return. Other guests relaxed around the pool during the day.
Sorrento is busy but a great stepping off point to visit Pompeii, Vesuvius, Herculaneum and the Naples Archaelogical Museum is a must if you want to see the best mosaics and frescos that were removed from P & H. There are excellent ferry connections to all the attractions plus the Circumvesuviana railway and the local buses. All very easy to use.
Although there is an excellent shuttle bus, and helpful bus driver, from the hotel to and from Sorrento the one criticism we have is that it doesn't run between 5.45pm and 8.45 pm. This is difficult if you are out for the day. You can walk into the town, about 20 mins downhill through delightful olive groves. We did this a couple of times and back up again. However, it is not an easy uphill walk after a long day and a taxi is very expensive.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EccentricExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

By far the best views in Sorrento, good food rooms are good standards, drink prices in the hotel are comparable to the town, great views on comfy seats on the sun terrace. Great free bus service to town the driver is very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We have just spent a week at the Grand Hotel President and it was absolutely perfect! From its stunning location, perched high up on a cliff, you get the most wonderful view of Sorrento and the Bay of Naples. Watching the sun set from the roof terrace is a daily 'must'! We had a superior room with a patio and a sea view. The room was lovely - large, clean, quiet and comfortable. It is definately worth paying the supplement to have a sea view room. We had a half board arrangement and each day the menu was delicious and varied. The restaurant manager really knows his stuff - he runs a very efficient team of waiters, is extremely professional, friendly and welcoming. The bar staff are also very attentive and courteous. The bar balcony is also a fantastic place to take in the amazing view - sipping a digestif of Strega on the rocks!
There is so much to see and do around Sorrento. Pompei is fascinating, a day cruise down to Capri, Positano and Amalfi is beautiful, Sorrento itself has much to offer - but if all else fails, taking in some rays on a comfortable sun lounger on the roof terrace, high above the hustle and bustle of the city - absolute bliss!

Room Tip: Definately go for a room with a sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pea-n-pod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We went in August the hotel was really lovely although it was far too hot for us really to sightsee. The restaurant was excellant as was the service & hospitality, I had been ill previously & was unable to eat which I wasn't happy about as the food all looked so appealing & my husband ate everything, they even offered to cook me anything else I wanted which was so nice of them, so thank you for that. The bar staff also very attentive & the views were amazing. Stayed round the pool a lot so could keep cooling down which we don't normally do. Went into Sorrento twice very busy with 100s mopeds manic. Found lovely restaurant for homemade canneloni beautiful surroundings also. The thomson rep was invisible & the booking hot line waste of time made 12 texts & although they said yes we could have trip it never happened. Booked our own boat trip but it was full of very rude Italians & so cramped. Thanks everyone.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to sea view room it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lol139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Just retuned from a week in Sorrento. It exceeded all expectations. Great food, so forget the diet!! Stunning views over Sorrento, bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius. A sea view room is a must, we were in room 306 and I was sitting on the balcony watching the sun come up every morning. A big thank you to all the staff, especially the three in the cocktail bar, nothing was too much trouble.

Pompei excursion was very good as was the Amalfi coast trip, although other guest said it's best to get the train to Pompeii, cheaper and you get longer and can do your own thing, the only negative of the holiday was on the Pompeii trip we had lunch in a restaurant recommended by Ugo the tour guide, the food was absolutely awful, both my husband and I ordered omelette and they must have them already cooked and then deep fry them when a coach trip arrives and it costs 13 Euros! ! do your own thing for lunch lots of cafes and restaurants to choose from. So if you are thinking of going to Sorrento hope this review helps you choose your hotel, stay at the Grand Hotel President.

Room Tip: A room with sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We spent a week here at the end of September. Could not fault the hotel in any way, the food was superb, the room was first class, we asked for a sea view, the view every morning was superb. Although there is a courtesy bus that we used most nights to go into Sorrento we walked down and back up through the lane of olive trees during the day, ok it was a little steep and maybe not for the older generation but give it a try.
I am always a little worried after reading bad reviews from various hotels, but believe me this place is wonderful, we will return

Room Tip: book a room on the second floor with sea view (wow)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MICHAEL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Address: Via Parisi 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £110 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel President, 4 star hotel in Sorrento Italy, overlooks the Sorrentine Peninsular and the Bay of Naples offering one of the best views in the world . A view which has inspired many artists and song writers for centuries. The splendid terraces of the Grand Hotel President with their sea views, the swimming pool, the beauty and fitness centres and the refined panoramic restaurant are all part of the services that combine to guarantee the full attention of the staff which is always attuned to satisfying the desires of the guests . The tranquil atmosphere in which the Grand Hotel President is immersed , accompanied by the scent of flowers and scrubs from the hotels very well maintained gardens, make it the ideal place for a relaxing and restful holiday. The centre of Sorrento which is only 3 klms away, is easily reached thanks to the free shuttle service of the Grand Hotel President. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing