We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Sorrento” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel President
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Higher Bebington, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved Sorrento”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Firstly let me just say that this was our first holiday abroad for 5 years and have a fear of flying. Thomson are an excellent company to travel with. Great service and their on site reps were wonderful. Many thanks to Sandra! The hotel lived up to its name - very Grand. The views were stunning. You really must upgrade to a sea view room. Food was wonderful. Plenty of variety and really worth trying the local fish. One night I had fillet of Angler Fish (look it up - scary!). Staff at the hotel were fantastic and could not be more helpful. Luigi in the restaurant was superb and a real flirt with the girls.

Try the following excursions - Amalfi Coast, Capri and Herculaneum. Not Pompeii? Too big and busy. Herculaneum is far better preserved.

However, one note of caution, whilst our room had great views and was comfortable it was also on the same level as the hotel lobby. This meant that all of the sounds from the foyer and the piano bar were heard and echoed all around. Not good if you are a light sleeper. Either take ear plugs or ask the staff to close the fire doors for additional soundproofing.

We also found the supposed Spa Treatment to be very lacking. Only in the sense that the desk was never manned. We wanted a massage and dip in the hydro pool but could never find anyone to book.

Don't let the couple of negative comments put you off. Well worth a trip to this hotel. You really must book a sea view room. I have included a photo taken from our room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    241
    61
    27
    8
See reviews for
224
714
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is a clean and well run hotel perched on the hillside above Sorrento with fantastic views over the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius. It has a smart, modern cocktail bar with a large balcony overlooking the sea, an outdoor swimming pool with poolside cafe, and beautiful gardens - but for the best views, head up to the large roof terrace which is well equipped with seats, tables and sun loungers.

Service is excellent, and the staff are all very friendly. Special mention goes to the bar and restaurant staff who made us feel so welcome and who worked hard to deliver an excellent experience. The food quality was superb - as good as any fine restaurant you could find elsewhere, with a choice of meat, fish and vegetarian options every night.

The hotel is situated above the town, not in it - and the road down into town is quite long and windy with no pavement, so walking into town is not recommended - but the hotel provides a regular shuttle bus to take visitors in and out of town. Unless you really need to be in the town, don't let this put you off. The views and the overall experience of staying at the President are well worth the minor inconvenience of having to use the shuttle bus.

Staying at this hotel was a real pleasure, and I look forward to returning someday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Mixed feelings about this hotel, could have so easily been perfect!
Plus points, views are breath taking, ample tables, seating, sun beds etc Large modern roof terrace area, a beautiful quiet place to sit and enjoy Sorrento lit up at night in the early season.
Away from hustle & bustle but easily accessible to Sorrento with hotel courtesy bus.
Staff are excellent, many older experienced staff who are excellent role models for the younger staff members.
Food is good, no attempt to provide English stuff - all Italian. Loosen your waistband the puddings are exceptional.
However!
I`m writing this review a little late, we visited in May & you must be aware they do not switch on the air con till later in the season. We left England with 4 degree weather & it was 24 degrees in Sorrento. The hotel do not supply fans & we did not sleep well for the first few nights, we did seem to acclimatise later in the week but I would not visit again unless the air con was available.
If you do not pay extra for a sea view you are likely to be in a room overlooking the car Park at the rear of the hotel or be looking directly onto a wall. The room itself was large with a balcony but I was very disappointed with its position. If you can afford it pay extra for the view!
The pool is too cold, only the very brave went in during the week we were there.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room, rear rooms get noise from the car Park if your window is open
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Just returned from this hotel on Monday having spent 10 nights there. Everything was just excellent, no complaints at all. All staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, food at all times was superb and the choice of wines suited all tastes and all pockets. We had a seaview room and waking up to the view of Sorrento with the backdrop of Vesuvius in the morning was exhilarating.
This ticked all the boxes for us and filled us with very happy memories of our "50 + vat" birthday celebrations. Well done Grand Hotel President

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiefhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have just returned from this Hotel for the second time. The views are amazing and the staff could not have been more helpful. The buffet breakfast is excellent and the Evening Dinner choices are to suit most palates. The quality is excellent and the waiters are pleasant and attentive. The Hotel is situated above the town of Sorrento and provides a shuttle bus during the day and evening free of charge. The rooms are very clean and spacious. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the bay have amazing views but do not get the sun after midday. The rooms at the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgwater
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

we booked for 2 couples to celebrate special wedding anniversaries. although not cheap this hotel overall was the best we have ever stayed in. the rooms and views were to die for and all the staff without exception were friendly, professional and knowledgeable. the availability of the courtesy bus was a bonus as the location was a distance from Sorrento.not a hotel for children as t here were no facilities for them. also we found the entertainment a little old fashioned , although the authentic Italian musicians were great.the food was fantastic as was the service and we were made to feel very special in the dining room each day.make sure to book a superior sea view room to get the most amazing views of Sorrento and mount Vesuvius.this was a truly memorable holiday.

Room Tip: upgrade to superior sea view room for best views ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

The Grand President occupies a fantastic position with panoramic views from all the public rooms. The swimming pool has new sun beds and there is a bar, the pool is good but not heated.

The hotel is about four kilometres from Sorrento, and a long way off the beaten track, however the hotel do supply a courtesy bus which is essential if you are staying here. We walked down to Sorrento once, with children, it took us more than an hour.

The courtesy bus service has long gaps at lunch time and early evening and if you miss the 12.30pm you will wait until 3.15pm and if you miss the 17.15 you will have to wait until 19.30. Sadly we did this twice and had to take taxis. The taxis are metered, however it cost us 25 and 23 euros respectively per trip. If you are in the queue for the courtesy bus and the bus gets full before you can get on Cottello the driver will come back for you. A huge thank you to Cottello who was always smiling and went out of his way to be helpful and kind to us during our holiday.

We have no complaints about the food or service in the restaurant (which is only open for breakfast and dinner). You can buy food at lunchtime at the pool bar. The Head Waiter was excellent and made us feel very welcome. The food was imaginative and varied. Don't expect Cordon Bleu but it is well presented well cooked food. Generally there was a large buffet to begin, then a three course meal. One night they had a Grand Buffet which was absolutely packed with fantastic food including three kinds of roast meat and too many fish to mention. The price of the wine is very reasonable too.

Beware though if you don't book sea view rooms. You could be given subterranean rooms sixteen to eighteen feet below street level as we were. The rooms were big and well furnished but there was no natural light. You had to look out and up to see if it was sunny or cloudy as there was no was of telling from inside the rooms. There was a small outside space with a tiled wall depicting the view we would have had IF we'd booked a sea view room. Our outside space was under the kitchens which was noisy when the kitchen was in use, and got no sun at any time. I have racked my brain trying to imagine how this space could be useful to anyone. Eventually I came to the conclusion that it might be useful to smokers. We are not smokers.

We were told that these rooms were designated to us because ours was a family booking and they wanted to put us close together. Two rooms were adjacent, the other was at the other end of the hotel, hardly close!

One of the reasons I chose this hotel was because it boasted wi fi in every room. The wi fi did not work properly in any of our three rooms, and not at all in our room until the day before we left. I complained to Raphael on the front desk at the beginning of our holiday. His first comment: "You're on holiday why do you have to work?". Hardly the point. I asked if we could move to a room with wi fi and he told me the hotel was full (when it clearly was not). He said someone would fix the wi fi, and next day as we came back to the hotel, he told us it was fixed. Sadly it was not!

On our penultimate night another person from the front desk called to ask if the wi fi had been fixed, and when I said no, he offered to try a signal amplifier. When this did not work he offered us another room, smaller with single beds. I must have looked puzzled, wasn't this hotel meant to be full? He then went on to explain that this room had only just become vacant. I declined his offer - we only had one more full day by this time. When we got back to our room it was suggested I re boot and try the wi fi again. This time the amplifier began to work.

Ironically when the change of room was offered the hotel seemed more full than at any other time. As we left this room I saw Raphael showing an empty sea view room to a man. I stole a quick glance into that room that confirmed that the room was indeed empty.

The bar staff were very friendly and welcoming. The bar become noisy towards the end of our holiday when the hotel was filling up. The upper level area of the hotel where we tried to escape from the noise was closed. There was nowhere to escape except to our rooms.

One night at about eleven we asked for coffee but were told all the staff had gone home. I spoke to the front desk next morning and said that if they sent their staff home early there should be tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. I was told superior rooms had this facility, and that I could hire a kettle for 15E. I refused. However when we got back to the room there was a kettle and tea and coffee making equipment there, gratis! It was a shame this was only a couple of days before we left as it made a huge difference.

In conclusion this hotel is a long way out of town, but it is in a quiet location and has fantastic views. The rooms are clean, the towels large and soft, they provide pool towels in the rooms free of charge. There is no room service (except continental breakfast for a small charge), no tea/coffee making in the rooms (except in superior rooms), the wi fi is unreliable at best, the pool is not heated, and you could get an underground room like we did. You have to check out at 10AM and If you travel with Thomsons be prepared, you will be picked up at 3.40. for the 20.20 flight from Naples. If you want to stay in your room until 3.30 it will cost you 55E for a late check out IF the room is available. The hotel conceded (because we had children) 30 minutes and we were allow to check out at 10.30am.

Please also note that if you travel with Thomsons you may be on the coach to the airport for up to an hour and a half more than you need to be. We were picked up then driven around windy mountain track roads for 25 minutes in the opposite direction to Naples to pick up a few people from a remote hotel. All three of our kids were sick when the coach stopped at the third and last hotel north of Sorrento. They had already been on the bus for over an hour. If Thomsons read Trip Advisor I would like to ask why they didn't pick up from the remote hotel first. We had to come back via Sorrento and it would have been easy to pick up from the Grand President second, then the hotel north of Sorrento. We were on the coach for more than two hours for a drive that should have taken less than an hour.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Property: Grand Hotel President
Address: Via Colle Parisi 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel President, 4 star hotel in Sorrento Italy, overlooks the Sorrentine Peninsular and the Bay of Naples offering one of the best views in the world . A view which has inspired many artists and song writers for centuries. The splendid terraces of the Grand Hotel President with their sea views, the swimming pool, the beauty and fitness centres and the refined panoramic restaurant are all part of the services that combine to guarantee the full attention of the staff which is always attuned to satisfying the desires of the guests . The tranquil atmosphere in which the Grand Hotel President is immersed , accompanied by the scent of flowers and scrubs from the hotels very well maintained gardens, make it the ideal place for a relaxing and restful holiday. The centre of Sorrento which is only 3 klms away, is easily reached thanks to the free shuttle service of the Grand Hotel President. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing