We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel President
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2008

From the moment we arrived till we were collected by a private driver, we had the most wonderful holiday in the President hotel. The staff were superb and the situation of the hotel gave us unsurpassed views over Sorrento, the Bay of Naples and Vessuvius........one of the best holidays were have ever had!!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Hapiholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    262
    70
    29
    7
See reviews for
254
801
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

We stayed at the President for the first two weeks in September. We had the most wonderful time and would go as far as to say it is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The hotel is spotlessly clean and has all the facilities you could need and more. The view over Sorrento is mesmerising and although we had planned to go into town on the odd evening we found ourselves more than happy just to sit with a cocktail and watch the views and the fireworks below us. The food is first class, but it is the staff at this hotel that makes the holiday. They are all extremely friendly, attentive and absolutely nothing is to much trouble. Drinks etc were very competitively priced - we found it far more expensive in town. You can have a lovely lunch at the pool bar, again with excellent service. There is a courtesy bus from the hotel into town on a regular basis, with a lovely driver Tony. Some of the guests have been returning for over twenty years, which is the best recommendation you can get. We were really sorry to leave, but will definitely be returning.

  • Liked — Position in Sorrento
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BurtonKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Could not fault this Hotel.
We stayed in a sea facing room, and the view was fantastic.
I had to get up early most mornings, just for the pleasure of sitting on our balcony and watching the sun come up. Brilliant.
Our two teenage girls loved the hotel, and in particular enjoyed being treated like adults by the staff.
Loved the gala evening, great food, superb service in an area on the top of the hotel. Why don't they use this area more often ?
We found the location just the right distance from the centre of Sorrento, and also found the bus service very good.
I am glad we stayed a little distant from the hustle and bustle of town, although at night, looking down into the main street, you feel as if you are still conected to it. Nothing like sipping a cool drink, on a warm night, watching the town.
We will be staying here again.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable, very freindly staff, location e.g.the views, nice distance from the centre
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevorStubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2008

We have just returned from a 14 day stay at the President and were delighted with the hotel. The views are truly amazing, the hotel is spotlessly clean and very well managed. The staff are friendly and attentive and could not have been more helpful.

This hotel is not slap in the centre of Sorrento but only a ten minute bus ride away (courtesy shuttle bus provided by the hotel) and we preferred this as it is more peaceful - Sorrento town is a real tourist spot - it's fun but too much of it would drive you crazy. However, the town is stretched out beneath you and you can still sense the atmosphere.

We took our teenage daughters who made friends with other teenage girls at the hotel and are begging us to return next year. The hotel is not huge so you pretty much recognise everyone and it is very friendly although it is quite easy to keep to yourself if you want to.

We hired a car through the travel agent and visited Pompei, Vesuvius, Amalfi, Ravello and Positano and did an organised boat trip to Capri. We wished we have made our own way to Capri because the tour guide was dull and slightly irritating. Positano and Ravello are very pretty. Pompei is amazing but don't bother going up Vesuvius - its hot and there are thousands of little flies nibbling at you.

I am not sure I would recommend this hotel to families with young children as they are not really catered for. However, we would definitely return to the President and thought, after seeing the other hotels, it was in the best situation.

  • Liked — Spectacular view and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Gym not open early enough
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank rrpoll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

We have just returned from a wonderful 10 night stay at the Grand Hotel President. Prior to booking our hotel we were a little apprehensive about staying away from Sorrento main square, however, the fanatastic views from hotel certainly made up for it. From the hotel you are approx. 25-30 minute walk to the main square Piazza Tasso.Most days we would enjoy the walk down and use the hotel's courtesy bus to get home. Last bus is at 11pm.
We stayed in a garden view room which is to the rear of the hotel which was reasonable sized and very comfortable. Although we did not have the fatastic views- our bacony got the sun until early evening.
All in all it was a wonderful stay- very helpful staff, lovely pool area and decent restaurant.

  • Liked — Location and Views
  • Disliked — Could only book on a half board basis
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JCCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2008

The view from this pleasant and friendly hotel is superb and certainly worth the extra cost of a sea view room. We agree with all of the positive comments others have made about the staff, cleanliness, evening meals and pool. It is a hotel that seems geared around people on a half board rate, and the bus times are not ideal for people who want to eat out - but it's not impossible to work round them. One plus for us was that the third bed in the room for our 19 year old daughter was as comfortable as the main bed and the room was perfectly big enough for the three of us. Worst thing was probably the lunchtime poolside food and yes its expensive but so is the area in general. If you don't want to go on organised tours the shuttle bus does drop you next door to the train station which was easy to use.

  • Liked — View, Staff
  • Disliked — Poolside lunches, bus timetable
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SurreyFamily_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2008

We spent a week at the President for our honeymoon and could not fault it. We chose it for the views and for the price as it is cheaper than equivalent standard hotels in the centre of town. We had a sea view room with balcony which was lovely although the rooms at the back of the hotel have the advantage of getting the sun on the balcony all day. The food and wine list were fantastic - a huge selection at breakfast and a varied evening menu. A couple of evenings the main course I chose was not so great but it really didn't matter as the starters were so large and delicious I could barely eat the main courses anyway!
The bus service to the town is very reliable and the driver is very friendly. There are no buses during the afternoon so you have to plan your day a bit but you could always get a taxi back up and it is possible to walk down into town.
The hotel is very quiet in the evenings as lots of older couples but you can always go down into town after dinner for a few drinks. During the day there was plenty of space around the pool
and lunch at the pool bar is very pleasant. The bar prices were as expected - not too bad for a 4 * hotel in this location and the wine list was very reasonable.
The best thing about the hotel is the service which was impeccable - friendly, discreet and the team are obviously very experienced which made a real difference to the holiday.

  • Liked — The view and the service.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Biri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Property: Grand Hotel President
Address: Via Parisi 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel President, 4 star hotel in Sorrento Italy, overlooks the Sorrentine Peninsular and the Bay of Naples offering one of the best views in the world . A view which has inspired many artists and song writers for centuries. The splendid terraces of the Grand Hotel President with their sea views, the swimming pool, the beauty and fitness centres and the refined panoramic restaurant are all part of the services that combine to guarantee the full attention of the staff which is always attuned to satisfying the desires of the guests . The tranquil atmosphere in which the Grand Hotel President is immersed , accompanied by the scent of flowers and scrubs from the hotels very well maintained gardens, make it the ideal place for a relaxing and restful holiday. The centre of Sorrento which is only 3 klms away, is easily reached thanks to the free shuttle service of the Grand Hotel President. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing