We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel President
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

25th wedding anniversary so wanted to go somewhere special and have a nice hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough for us and that continued for the entire stay. We had a late arrival but there was a meal left in our room, and also a late departure but arrangements were made for snacks, changing and showering - going the extra mile! Views from the hotel were wonderful; the food was fantastic and the cocktails extra special. The courtesy bus made Sorrento really accessible and the driver was so friendly and helpful.
Our room did not have a sea view but it was quiet and had the sun in the afternoon. It was cleaned to the highest standards. We will most definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Its a personal thing ! Try a corner room you get more space.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Taprich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,316)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel President
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

701 - 707 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nothing bad to say! Choose a mountain view room for a great view of Sorrento bay and Mount Vesuvius.
Restaurant, pool and sun terraces overlook bay.
Hotel on the cliff so courtesy bus a big plus for us into Sorrento. Lovely Italian town.
Lots to do. Pompeii, Capri in easy reach.
Staff obliging. Nothing too much trouble.

Room Tip: Choose room with a mountain view if you can afford the extra. These are all at the back of the hotel...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just got back from our honeymoon, 10 days (14th - 24th May) at Grand Hotel President, Sorrento, This is a fantastic hotel not just because of the spectacular views of Sorrento, the bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius, but the overall cleanliness of the hotel, superb food but most importantly the fantastic staff. We honestly feel that we have made some new friends and the staff could not do enough for you, they made us feel welcome and we miss it already.

We did not have a sea view but our room was spacious and light and was cleaned every day.

The hotel provide a free shuttle bus service to Sorrento which is excellent and we made full use of this on our days out.

The food was amazing, we have been to other parts of Italy on previous occasions and the food has always been superb but this was something else, there was a different three course menu everyday and was of the highest quality.

The lunch time menu was reasonably priced and of a very high standard, the drinks are also fairly priced.

Would we recommend this hotel? - absolutely yes, we would go back tomorrow if we could.

ps. The pool was very cold but we had a good laugh with the other guests as to who could be the bravest - very refreshing once you had made it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rich_Macky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just back from 7 nights at the Grand Hotel President, Sorrento. What a great week we had in this wonderful hotel. Great position overlooking Sorrento and across the Bay to Vesuvius. We had a seaview room and pleased we booked this option as the standard rooms would be very disappointing with limited vistas. The decor and cleanliness in our room and the hotel generally was five star standard. The food was good, varied and served promptly and with style! The pool area was spotless and the pool bar and snack bar serve reasonably priced and very good quality lunches. The staff were amazing, nothing too much trouble and always eager to help with my limited grasp of Italian!
We were there for a week of relaxation but there is plenty to do in the area if wanted and the hotel has a regular shuttle bus to take guests to and from Sorrento.
We will definitely return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a week at the Grand President . We normally book self catering apartments so were unsure what to expect even though this hotel is rated 5star. We originally booked the Hotel Bristol but changed to the President as the Bristol could not guarantee a sea view(this cost an extra £100 with Thompson) but after seeing the views from the room,balcony terraces etc. it was definately worth it.The food was excellent with a choice of various fish dishes, meat ,pasta and numerous sweet courses not to mention the free salad buffet with a super range of side dishes so you will never go hungry. Breakfast was again excellent with a big range from meat, cheese cooked breakfast toast, cereal etc all self service. This was all overseen by the excellent staff who attended to any requests promptly.The last night was Gala Night with a massive range of food on a self service basis with entertainment.The wine and drinks were on a par with normal restaurant prices( from 15 euros per bottle for wine) in the U.K and came promptly and with an ice bucket if you asked for one.We only used the pool once only because we had so much to do and see but we found it to be pleasant and in part sun until late afternoon( we were lucky the weather was mainly hot and sunny so I imagine the pool would be chilly on a cooler day). The only real problem with this hotel is that the shuttle bus times don,t coincide with buses, ferries etc so there is a bit of planning to work it all out and as it is not easy to find the right public bus for the hotel and taxis are very expensive you have to accept you are in Italy where things don,t always run like clockwork. Overall this Hotel is superb but like previous reviewers make sure you pay the extra for a sea view if you don,t want to look at a brick wall on the lower 2 floors. If you are celebrating a special occasion or getting married ( as one couple did during our stay the staff will provide a little extra for you and any guests, including a cake although I assume you have to pay extra)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel President 9-16 May 2014. The hotel is one of the best we have stayed in and definitely beats all the others for the views. We paid for a superior room with Thomsons and got a beautiful Deluxe room on the top floor (118) which appears to have been recently refurbished. The huge bed was in the middle of the room facing the balcony doors with a view out over the Bay of Naples, Vesuvius and Sorrento with the early morning sunrise over the mountains. There was plenty of hanging space and drawers for clothes, a kettle with tea & coffee replenished daily and some decent sized mugs. There was also a fridge with water, juice and alcoholic drinks but with a note saying there would be a charge if we used it for our own drinks and snacks. To be honest we didn’t need to. We also had towelling robes and slippers and towels for the pool. The bathroom was a good size, tastefully decorated with a huge waterfall shower. Everything was incredibly clean and the bed was made daily (not sure how often it was changed).
We stayed half board and had no complaints about the food, except there was far too much of it! There was a huge choice in the breakfast buffet, including English Breakfast with eggs cooked any way you wanted. You could help yourself to tea and coffee from a machine or a waiter would bring a pot to your table if you asked for it. Weather permitting we could sit outside and enjoy the view over the bay. Dinner consisted of a buffet area with rolls, salads, etc. and a waiter service choice from 5 starters and 5 main course plus a choice of sweets or fresh fruit. My husband was even presented with a surprise birthday cake.
The courtesy bus down in Sorrento ran frequently and on time. For reasonably fit people it is possible to walk down into town on the path to the right of the main road. Walking back up was not too much of a problem (did it in flipflops) but the weather was not too hot when we were there.
Thomsons seemed to charge the earth for their excursions but trips to Vesuvius, Pompeii and Herculaneum were very easy and cheap by train – 2.20 euros each way. Catch the 8 am bus from the hotel to get to the 09.07 Naples train. It is about a 10 minute walk from where the bus drops you off to the Train and Bus Station. Tickets can be purchased from the newsagents in the station.
You can catch a bus at Pompeii Station to take you up to Vesuvius where you transfer to an ‘off-road’ bus which takes you up through the National Park almost to the summit. You have to walk up a path of volcanic dust for about 15 mins to get to the top. Unfortunately it was a bit cloudy the day we went and we weren’t able to appreciate the views from the top but it was still a very enjoyable trip.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel but other reviewers are correct when they suggest paying extra for a sea view. The staff are great, the hotel is clean and comfortable. However, if you are looking for a beach holiday this is not the place to go.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Have just returned from a weeks holday,cannot praise this hotel enough.Staff and quality of hotel excellent.Special thanks to Guiseppi and staff in lounge bar for entertaining us,Tony the shuttle driver,always on time and very informative and helpful.Maitre Di and his staff in the dining room,exellent service, with good food.and choice.Housekeeping staff and reception carried out their duties with supreme efficiency.Management should be proud of the quality of their staff,who really make a difference to your stay. Very clean and well kept hotel with outstanding views of Sorrento.We had a Superior room 130 overlooking front of hotel and car park ,this had sun on balcony in the afternoon ,worth paying that little extra for.The seaview rooms on the front ,in my opinion do not justify the supplement required as you do not spend that much time in your room and do not get sun in the afternoon..Entertainment in hotel in evenings low key but enjoyable. .
Just a note on transfers at Naples airport,it is a long walk to coach park with baggage,so I recommend taxi transfers for convenience .Would definitely recommend this hotel and will return in the future.

Room Tip: If booking room with seaview ask for room overlooking garden on high floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelmanAtherstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Address: Via Parisi 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £175 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel President, 4 star hotel in Sorrento Italy, overlooks the Sorrentine Peninsular and the Bay of Naples offering one of the best views in the world . A view which has inspired many artists and song writers for centuries. The splendid terraces of the Grand Hotel President with their sea views, the swimming pool, the beauty and fitness centres and the refined panoramic restaurant are all part of the services that combine to guarantee the full attention of the staff which is always attuned to satisfying the desires of the guests . The tranquil atmosphere in which the Grand Hotel President is immersed , accompanied by the scent of flowers and scrubs from the hotels very well maintained gardens, make it the ideal place for a relaxing and restful holiday. The centre of Sorrento which is only 3 klms away, is easily reached thanks to the free shuttle service of the Grand Hotel President. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing