We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel President
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A superb hotel”
Reviewed 12 October 2008

This hotel is absolutely superb. The staff are extremely attentive - the reception, waiters (and a very charming head waiter), room service and chambermaids - nothing is too much trouble for any of them and everything is done with courtesy and a smile. We stayed there for 2 weeks in September and enjoyed every minute. We are so glad we chose this hotel for the magnificent views of Sorrento - it is so peaceful away from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento. There is a courtesy bus with a lovely driver called Tony and, if you want to walk down to Sorrento, it takes around 20 minutes and the views are supberb on the way down. Our Thomas Cook rep told us that there was no way to walk down and we had to catch the courtesy bus (not sure why she said that and I was a bit miffed with her when I found out we could walk to Sorrento) - so glad another holiday maker told us about the walk down a cobbled street (just need to watch out for the motor scooters). We had a room overlooking the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius which was superb but everyone seemed more than pleased with their rooms whether they had a view or not - although I would want a view when we return as it is amazing The entertainment in the evenings was local musicians, guitarist, singer etc and very good - although the pianist one night per week hits a few out of tune notes - but it added to the experience and gave us a bit of a laugh. We learned whilst we were there that Thomson are completely taking over the hotel next year and that they will bring in more British entertainers, magicians etc., I really hope this is not the case with the entertainment as when we go abroad I want to sample the local life and entertainment, not something imported from Britain!! I would say "if it 'aint broke - don't mend it" and believe me, there is nothing at this hotel that needs changing - it is wonderful just as it is. Our only reluctance at booking next year is the trepidation in any changes that might be made - I do hope that none are made. We met some really lovely people at the hotel, there was only one little well behaved boy of around 2 years old whilst we were there and I would say that it is more of an adult hotel than a family/children's hotel. All in all, an excellent holiday. We will return with trepidation in the hope that Thomson don't make ANY changes.

  • Liked — The views over the Bay of Naples were fabulouse
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dannibaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    248
    63
    28
    8
See reviews for
230
740
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

This hotel cannot be praised enough. Completely exceeded our expectations! We went here for the first week of our honeymoon with our little boy and had the most amazing week! Many of the guests we spoke to were people who came back year after year and it's easy to see why! We were amazed from the moment we arrived and saw the stunning views from our bedroom window. Everything about this hotel is perfect. The hotel was beautiful, the food was lovely, the pool area was nice (if a little shady - but that's perfect when you have a blonde haired, blue eyed little boy who wants to stay by the pool all day!), every member of staff was a truly lovely, friendly and helpful person, the location was perfect (amazing views of the area, and very easy to get into Sorrento which we thought was a fantastic place). I genuinely can not find a single fault with this place.
We were a bit nervous about the reaction we would get when we rolled up with our two year old son (he was the only child in the hotel that week) but we were all made to feel so welcome by everyone. The staff made such a fuss of him - he was completely in his element!
When it was time to leave we really didn't want to as we'd had such a brilliant time, and when we reached the second leg of our honeymoon (less said the better!) we realised just how special the President was - we'd have given anything to have come back and spent the second week of our honeymoon back at this amazing hotel!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mamakass27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

This was the first stop on on honeymoon and we stayed for 10 nights. The hotel was lovely, it doesn't matter that it's not right in Sorrento. The courtesy bus is literally a 10 minute drive and the views over the town are great. We found the courtesy bus timetable fine, you just have to plan a little bit.
The room was large, clean and comfortable with a balcony over looking the garden/Sorrento/Bay of Naples. Our one complaint is that the room had an adjoining door with the room next door, this was locked at all times but it meant we could hear everything and I mean EVERYTHING that our neighbours did (and I am sure they heard us)! However, the walls, floor and ceiling were thin too so if we happened to sleep later or go to bed earlier than anyone surrounding us it wasn't too long before we were woken up. This wasn't such a problem that it ruined our stay but it was certainly an inescapable factor.
The food and staff are excellent. Nothing is too much trouble and they all seem to be multi-lingual putting us Brits to shame. Oh, and there were lots of Brits, I quite like to meet lots of people from different countries when I'm on holiday but everyone we met was English. That was nice too though in a way.
The pool is great (freezing when you first get in but that is just what you need) but what nobody tells you is that when the sun moves round in the afternoon 2 thirds of the sun loungers are in the shade, which might suit you if you're not a sun worshipper like me, if you are, get your sun lounger early (nearest the railings facing the hotel).
All in all a really great 10 days, we left feeling relaxed, ready for the hustle and bustle of Rome and thoroughly over fed.

  • Liked — Staff and food
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Gleavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2008

From the moment we arrived till we were collected by a private driver, we had the most wonderful holiday in the President hotel. The staff were superb and the situation of the hotel gave us unsurpassed views over Sorrento, the Bay of Naples and Vessuvius........one of the best holidays were have ever had!!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Hapiholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

We stayed at the President for the first two weeks in September. We had the most wonderful time and would go as far as to say it is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The hotel is spotlessly clean and has all the facilities you could need and more. The view over Sorrento is mesmerising and although we had planned to go into town on the odd evening we found ourselves more than happy just to sit with a cocktail and watch the views and the fireworks below us. The food is first class, but it is the staff at this hotel that makes the holiday. They are all extremely friendly, attentive and absolutely nothing is to much trouble. Drinks etc were very competitively priced - we found it far more expensive in town. You can have a lovely lunch at the pool bar, again with excellent service. There is a courtesy bus from the hotel into town on a regular basis, with a lovely driver Tony. Some of the guests have been returning for over twenty years, which is the best recommendation you can get. We were really sorry to leave, but will definitely be returning.

  • Liked — Position in Sorrento
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BurtonKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Could not fault this Hotel.
We stayed in a sea facing room, and the view was fantastic.
I had to get up early most mornings, just for the pleasure of sitting on our balcony and watching the sun come up. Brilliant.
Our two teenage girls loved the hotel, and in particular enjoyed being treated like adults by the staff.
Loved the gala evening, great food, superb service in an area on the top of the hotel. Why don't they use this area more often ?
We found the location just the right distance from the centre of Sorrento, and also found the bus service very good.
I am glad we stayed a little distant from the hustle and bustle of town, although at night, looking down into the main street, you feel as if you are still conected to it. Nothing like sipping a cool drink, on a warm night, watching the town.
We will be staying here again.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable, very freindly staff, location e.g.the views, nice distance from the centre
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevorStubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2008

We have just returned from a 14 day stay at the President and were delighted with the hotel. The views are truly amazing, the hotel is spotlessly clean and very well managed. The staff are friendly and attentive and could not have been more helpful.

This hotel is not slap in the centre of Sorrento but only a ten minute bus ride away (courtesy shuttle bus provided by the hotel) and we preferred this as it is more peaceful - Sorrento town is a real tourist spot - it's fun but too much of it would drive you crazy. However, the town is stretched out beneath you and you can still sense the atmosphere.

We took our teenage daughters who made friends with other teenage girls at the hotel and are begging us to return next year. The hotel is not huge so you pretty much recognise everyone and it is very friendly although it is quite easy to keep to yourself if you want to.

We hired a car through the travel agent and visited Pompei, Vesuvius, Amalfi, Ravello and Positano and did an organised boat trip to Capri. We wished we have made our own way to Capri because the tour guide was dull and slightly irritating. Positano and Ravello are very pretty. Pompei is amazing but don't bother going up Vesuvius - its hot and there are thousands of little flies nibbling at you.

I am not sure I would recommend this hotel to families with young children as they are not really catered for. However, we would definitely return to the President and thought, after seeing the other hotels, it was in the best situation.

  • Liked — Spectacular view and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Gym not open early enough
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank rrpoll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Property: Grand Hotel President
Address: Via Parisi 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel President, 4 star hotel in Sorrento Italy, overlooks the Sorrentine Peninsular and the Bay of Naples offering one of the best views in the world . A view which has inspired many artists and song writers for centuries. The splendid terraces of the Grand Hotel President with their sea views, the swimming pool, the beauty and fitness centres and the refined panoramic restaurant are all part of the services that combine to guarantee the full attention of the staff which is always attuned to satisfying the desires of the guests . The tranquil atmosphere in which the Grand Hotel President is immersed , accompanied by the scent of flowers and scrubs from the hotels very well maintained gardens, make it the ideal place for a relaxing and restful holiday. The centre of Sorrento which is only 3 klms away, is easily reached thanks to the free shuttle service of the Grand Hotel President. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing