We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel President
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

just got back from this hotel , everything was fantastic, gourmet food, excellent staff, eye watering views, and not forgetting Tony the coutesey bus driver a really helpful guy. although a couple more runs in the afternoon would be beneficial . all in all cant fault it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveb36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    252
    66
    28
    7
See reviews for
236
769
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Having stayed in Sorrento at least six times on holidays in the last 30 years, I have to say that this is the best of the four star hotels that we have always stayed in. Whilst out of the centre the location is excellent and breathtaking. Very attentive staff, excellent cuisine
at all meals, very well furnished with beautiful outside seating areas, indoor and outdoor seating in the restaurant, for breakfast and dinner, reliable hotel bus service. The sea view upgraded rooms are worth paying the extra for. Highly recommend it and will return.

RI Devon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The President is just outside Sorrento, high on an inland cliff which gives fantastic views over Sorrento, the bay to Naples and Mount Vesuvius and the surrounding countryside. There is a long lane from the main road to the hotel with other private properties on it. It is worth paying for a room with a view - the back rooms face on to walls, the lane or hillside. The down side is that sea view rooms face north so do not get the evening sun All the public spaces have sea views and from the roof top solarium it is a panoramic view.

We did not use the spa or beauty services so cannot comment on those.

We had a good sized room with all facilities expected from a hotel of this rating. The brochures state that the air-con is turned on mid May, but in fact it is at the discretion of the management and it did not come on until our last couple of days of May. Consequently, it was quite hot in the rooms, particularly for sleeping at night. Some minor traffic noise comes up from the town far below and the many high speed ferries but it is very minor and there is often more sounds of people enjoying themselves around the pool.

The staff were excellent and, in contrast to some reviews, friendly and helpful. Food was excellent and catered for all tastes. Buffet breakfast - full 'English' cooked (the bacon and sausages were a bit too oily for our taste) to cold meats, cheeses and fruit of a continental - hot and cold snack lunches in the pool side bar/cafe at reasonable prices - full waiter service 4 course dinners included in the half board option.

There are a host of things to do in the area - wander around Sorrento (partially pedestrianized in the evening), catch a ferry to any of the islands or other towns on the bay or Amalfi coast and many companies operate organised excursions to a host of places which can be booked through the tour operators, the hotel or independently. The larger tour buses do not venture down the lane to the hotel but pick up on the main road - a 10 minute walk up hill from the hotel. (My wife who is asthmatic and suffers from arthritis in knees and hips managed this walk in that time).

The hotel operates a regular courtesy bus from 08:30 (from hotel) to 23:30 (from town) which takes about 15 minutes. Alternatively, up by the main road there is a cobbled lane which zig-zags down through the olive trees to the town and takes around 30~40 minutes to the centre. This lane is steep and is used by the many scooters and motorbikes to cut off the long main road route. We walked down once and caught the courtesy bus back but it was difficult for my wife so we used the courtesy bus both ways.

All in all, an excellent hotel to stay in and see the sites of the Neapolitan Riviera and Amalfi Coast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but worth paying extra for sea view rooms - the views over Sorrento and the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Have had a fantastic week here. Food and staff first-class. I was there with my mum but it is more a couple hotel. Only1 child the whole week. Sorrento is lovely city and one of the few places Iv been to that I can say 100% that I will return to.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must try to avoid floor 3 as we were under the restaurant and you could hear them mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shona3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday to the beautiful Neapolitan town of sorrento. We chose the Grand Hotel President for its hillside location with stunning views over sorrento taking in the ominous Mt.Vesuvius. We weren't disappointed with it....in fact it exceeded expectations. We chose a supreme twin sea view with balcony. Having arrived late on the Monday the view was only the twinkling lights of the surrounding area. However the next morning we were greeted by what can only be described as amazing views! Everyday the view changed slightly as there was a different cruise liner in the bay, the hazy sunshine or fluffy clouds over Vesuvius made the landscape even more beautiful. We ate breakfast every day on the balcony overlooking the view and at dinner we were treated to amazing sunsets.

The hotel was as amazing as the surroundings. The staff were friendly from the first minute they met us. They were attentive and helpful and couldn't do more to make our stay enjoyable. The bar staff made the best cocktails....even ones which weren't on the menu. Reception staff were helpful and made a seemless check-in and out. The pool bar attendant was lovely and always had something to chat about and remembered small details about us which made the personal touch even better. The restaurant staff were attentive and polite and very happy to sort out any dietary needs for the guests.

The pool was chilly first thing but after a long hot day in the sun it was very refreshing.....and eventually you didn't mind the initial chill. It was very welcome after a long day out in the sun.

I had read the reviews before going and I can honestly say they were 100% accurate.

We had arrived late due to bank holiday traffic jams in sorrento (just like home) but the hotel kept the restaurant open for us and we were served a delicious dinner which wasn't rushed.

The shuttle bus was efficient and the driver very helpful with his local knowledge. We walked down the "old" road to the town one day....going down was steep so we decided to bus back. The taxis cost about €25 (although we did find a local guy who took us for €15 but he may not have been the cleanest or safest of taxis!). Capri is well worth the visit and you can get a boat from sorrento harbour. Pompeii and a climb up mt. Vesuvius a must.

I would go back tomorrow if I could get the time off work!

Room Tip: Sea view or garden view a must as the lower floors have a car park or wall as their view as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just returned from the Grand Hotel President having stayed for seven nights. The views are exceptional however ensure that you have a sea view otherwise they are not - you will either look over the car park or a brick wall.The restaurant and pool service was also very good and the food was excellent. Unfortunately the terrace bar was let down by the younger of the three waiters. I have been visiting my family in Italy for the past 40 years and on my first evening in the hotel I ordered drinks in Italian. I was told by the waiter in English that the only person I should speak in Italian to was myself! Each subsequent night he had some quip to make. I did not make a complaint then and there as I thought it would ruin my holiday. Needless to say I will not be returning but have now written in more detail to the hotel because he could have ruined what was otherwise a good week.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CarolE878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights. The view is breathtaking and booking with a sea view is a must. The staff are excellent .Breakfast copious , massive selection, really good honeys , breads, eggs cooked to order and the evening meal we had was not exceptional but very nice.The bar serves very very nice cocktails.Our room was blessed with a great view but the decor and furniture a little tired,room really needs a refurbishment.Housekeeping was immaculate.The shuttle bus is driven by Tony who deserves a special mention.The pool was chilly and you had to keep swimming to stay warm.High season I can imagine it is perfect but going in at this time of the year was not for the fainthearted.One further detail to add , Ikea mugs in the room are not 4 * and not very stylish.We loved our stay here and will return one day.Just great .

Room Tip: Just go for a sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillyreine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Property: Grand Hotel President
Address: Via Parisi 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel President, 4 star hotel in Sorrento Italy, overlooks the Sorrentine Peninsular and the Bay of Naples offering one of the best views in the world . A view which has inspired many artists and song writers for centuries. The splendid terraces of the Grand Hotel President with their sea views, the swimming pool, the beauty and fitness centres and the refined panoramic restaurant are all part of the services that combine to guarantee the full attention of the staff which is always attuned to satisfying the desires of the guests . The tranquil atmosphere in which the Grand Hotel President is immersed , accompanied by the scent of flowers and scrubs from the hotels very well maintained gardens, make it the ideal place for a relaxing and restful holiday. The centre of Sorrento which is only 3 klms away, is easily reached thanks to the free shuttle service of the Grand Hotel President. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing