We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel President
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Sorrento and our first stay at The President and we were not disappointed. The views are magnificent over the Bay of Naples, with an excellent view of Vesuvius and you can't beat it when the whole of the bay and Sorrento are lit at night. On arrival we found that we had been given rooms with showers despite requesting baths, the management couldn't have been more helpful or apologetic as they hadn't received my email, they arranged for our rooms to be changed. Despite the fact we didn't have the spectacular sea view, but had an enclosed patio the room was lovely and remained cool despite the hot temperatures.
We could not fault the service at all the Maitre'd in the restaurant was always very welcoming and helpful, arranging a table outside on the balcony for breakfast on our friends birthday. Tonino the waiter christened my husband George Clooney and was always good for a laugh and a joke and made it a very relaxing and enjoyable experience. I must mention the man that works at the pool, he was always very helpful getting umbrellas and serving drinks, he worked very hard and very long. The shuttle service into town was very good and Tony the driver would come back again if the coach was full. Although there was a long gap between 1230 and 315 were we would have liked to have come back between those hours.
The reception manager was especially helpful, he went out of his way to track down the owner of a restaurant in St Agata when they didn't turn up to collect us after booking for my friends birthday. the restaurant was apparently closed that day but as he told the owner it had been booked for a special occasion an alternative was arranged at the owners brothers farm. Despite being unsure what to expect the manager, who knew the owner, assured us it was a lovely place so we went along. And it was great, the views were brilliant and we experienced the most amazing sunset. So all was not lost.
The walk into Sorrento was very pleasant but would have been a bit hard going back up.
The food was very good. There was always plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner and they would always be very obliging if there was something you didn't like.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for it's views, its service for everything, really couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden would have the best of the views and be quieter than over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Audra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Just leaving here from our honeymoon and can not say anything but our stay here was perfect.

The service received by all is great and nothing is too much trouble.

The food is great and there was something for everyone and if there weren't anything they would create something for you.

The views from this hotel are fab looking over the bay quite far up and is nice to sit outside and have a meal looking over the bay.

Sorrento is a 15 minute walk down and is a nice walk, just mind the scooters but after a day here youll get a understanding what is meant by that. The walk back however is a challenge and your better off getting the shuttle bus back. Tony the driver is great and although the bus occasionally gets full he will be back within half an hour to get you. Tea times are great as Tony will stop the coach to allow you to see the sunset.

Summary, I would highly recommend here and would definitely stop here again and has been a great honeymoon location. All staff are great locals.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Spectacular views,beautiful setting with amazing staff..who cannot do enough for you.....Guileppe...is so entertaining.....treated like royalty...loved every minute...and a big thanks for the unexpected birthday cake.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krazyd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just returned from a 11 day visit. Our first visit to Sorrento and definitely not our last. The setting for the Grand Hotel President is absolutely superb. Superb can also be said for the hotel.The staff are so friendly and helpful. We had a superior room with a sea view and the view across the Bay of Naples was truly amazing. We could not fault the food and service in the restaurant. This is an ideal hotel for couples who want a high standard. The level of entertainment provided was just right, not in your face or loud. A Truly amazing unforgettable holiday and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Choose a Superior Sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one week early June 2014. room very good, Hotel spotless and accomodating staff. Breakfasts average Continental and English buffet style, empty food dishes frequently and not replenished when required very quickly. Evening meals varied and good. Drinks ok but water very expensive. Being 2/3 miles from Sorrento town and harbour not good.Courtesy bus provided at set times but not always convenient being so far from town. No local bars or shops so stuck in hotel most evening. Entertainment virtually non existent, pianist and opera type singer one night and pianist only on another night. Would not use this holel again.

Room Tip: Highest rooms with sea view good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Superlatives are not enough when it comes to this hotel and the resort! I have just returned from my 19th holiday spent at the Grand Hotel President and I have never failed to have a wonderful holiday there. The hotel is clean and tidy, the staff are as lovely as ever, from Vincenzo, Rafael and Angela in reception to Giovanni and Carmine in the bar, Giovanni and Guisseppe in the restaurant and Nino at the pool, the food is of a very quality and I have no complaints with any of it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PauloItaliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Friendly staff excellent food very good location, Nino at. The pool is. Very friendly and helpful and very hard working, all in all a very good holiday we will return. There is a path to walk down from the hotel to Sorremto it takes about 15 minutes to walk it there ares scooters up and down the path so caution is advised , the walk back is for the brave it is a challenge. There are shuttle busses from the hotel although in frequent. Vesuvius is well worth a visit but the lead up to it has a lot of rubbish and litter not a pleasant outlook, Pompeii is worth the trip, Capri very expensive nice to visit do the boat trip around the island and the cable chair lift spectacular views.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank 55Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Address: Via Parisi 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £101 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel President, 4 star hotel in Sorrento Italy, overlooks the Sorrentine Peninsular and the Bay of Naples offering one of the best views in the world . A view which has inspired many artists and song writers for centuries. The splendid terraces of the Grand Hotel President with their sea views, the swimming pool, the beauty and fitness centres and the refined panoramic restaurant are all part of the services that combine to guarantee the full attention of the staff which is always attuned to satisfying the desires of the guests . The tranquil atmosphere in which the Grand Hotel President is immersed , accompanied by the scent of flowers and scrubs from the hotels very well maintained gardens, make it the ideal place for a relaxing and restful holiday. The centre of Sorrento which is only 3 klms away, is easily reached thanks to the free shuttle service of the Grand Hotel President. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing