We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“14 Day Holiday at Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel President
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Hotel was in an excellent position with views overlooking the whole of Sorrento Town, The bay and Mount Vesuvius. They also ran a very good coach link into Sorrento absolutely free. A delightful Hotel with a room overlooking the sea and views mentioned above from our Balcony. The staff were very helpful and attentive. Their Restaurant was absolutely superb with waiter service in the evening and the choice of several dishes for each course. The head waiter ensured his waiters ran the restaurant very efficiently. All the staff were friendly and helpful.
The Thomson Representative Leah was also very helpful and approachable. Whilst we have had a number of good Holidays with Thomson this one was probably the best ever.We enjoyed the trips out also.

Room Tip: Go for a room with sea view the extra expense is worth it,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

704 - 710 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

I cannot think of a better located hotel in Sorrento. The views over the town and across the bay of Naples, to Vesuvius, are breathtaking. The hotel itself is fantastic. The food is exceptional and there is good choice on the menu every evening. The staff are very friendly and are attentive without being overbearing. I don't like really like to single out individuals (because they are all excellent) but Nino in the pool bar and Giuseppe in the main bar, both deserve a special mention. The hotel is extremely clean, spacious and well organised. I cannot imagine anyone being able to find fault with it. I thought that the hotel was particularly well designed to take full advantage of its location. The pool, the restaurant and the two bars are all on different levels and all offer magnificent panoramic views over the bay. For those that are less able, the walk down into Sorrento town (and back) is via fairly steep roads and steps. This is, unfortunately, the price to be paid for the views. However, there is a fairly regular, free shuttle bus from the hotel, so if you don't fancy the walk, its not a problem. I would recommend anyone to stay at the Hotel President and we will certainly be returning in the very near future.

Room Tip: I would recommend choosing a sea view room on as high a floor as you can get. It is well worth the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stuart_barnes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just returned back after a weeks stay at the hotel president sorrento and it was fantastic, as soon as we arrived late at 11pm there was a member of staff to help us with our bags off coach and a cold meat salad with a dessert was left in our room as we had missed the evening meal which i thought was a nice touch. The hotel itself is amazing we stayed on the 3rd floor with amazing views from the large balcony we had, everything about the hotel has the wow factor from the reception area to the bar area the restaurant and the rooms, the pool area is great and the garden area is also beautiful to sit in,of an evening after enjoying our meal sitting outside the hotel restaurant looking across the amazing views of sorrento we would then go down to the loverly piano bar and enjoy a cocktail or two listening to a loverly man playing tunes on the piano. The food is fantastic we were half board the breaskfast has everything you could wish for the evening meal is like a banquet every night cold buffet to start with salad, hams, pasta etc then you choose a 3 course meal from a menu we never had 1 bad meal every night was amazing from the fish dishes, seafood, pasta, chicken dishes there was something for every taste, lots of lovery cakes, icecreams and pancakes for desserts to choose, then on the Thurs they had a gala dinner this was the best gala dinner we have ever been too so much to choose from with Chefs carving beef, turkey, pork, whole salmons and other fish along with lamb chops, potatoes veg there was everything, the staff are all loverly the bar staff, reception, restaurant staff, housekeepers all cannot do enough for you, they would let you borrow their iron and ironing board whenever you asked,there is a safe in room at no charge, on our last day we were able to use the spa shower room to freshen up and have a shower before departing nothing was a problem, bathroom was brill, it had a bath and 2 showers in it, then there was a free bus the hotel has which takes you up and down daily from hotel into Sorrento from morning until 11pm it runs, Tony the driver is wonderful man, always cheery and would help you with directions etc. We had a sea view room also overlooking pool which was spectacular, however some rooms do look onto carpark these would not of been as good if having a good view from your room is important to you as it is to us. Our room was a standard which was brilliant as they also have superior rooms at higher charges. We can not wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd Floor so any rooms starting with a 3 seemed to be the sea view/pool view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Sorrento and our first stay at The President and we were not disappointed. The views are magnificent over the Bay of Naples, with an excellent view of Vesuvius and you can't beat it when the whole of the bay and Sorrento are lit at night. On arrival we found that we had been given rooms with showers despite requesting baths, the management couldn't have been more helpful or apologetic as they hadn't received my email, they arranged for our rooms to be changed. Despite the fact we didn't have the spectacular sea view, but had an enclosed patio the room was lovely and remained cool despite the hot temperatures.
We could not fault the service at all the Maitre'd in the restaurant was always very welcoming and helpful, arranging a table outside on the balcony for breakfast on our friends birthday. Tonino the waiter christened my husband George Clooney and was always good for a laugh and a joke and made it a very relaxing and enjoyable experience. I must mention the man that works at the pool, he was always very helpful getting umbrellas and serving drinks, he worked very hard and very long. The shuttle service into town was very good and Tony the driver would come back again if the coach was full. Although there was a long gap between 1230 and 315 were we would have liked to have come back between those hours.
The reception manager was especially helpful, he went out of his way to track down the owner of a restaurant in St Agata when they didn't turn up to collect us after booking for my friends birthday. the restaurant was apparently closed that day but as he told the owner it had been booked for a special occasion an alternative was arranged at the owners brothers farm. Despite being unsure what to expect the manager, who knew the owner, assured us it was a lovely place so we went along. And it was great, the views were brilliant and we experienced the most amazing sunset. So all was not lost.
The walk into Sorrento was very pleasant but would have been a bit hard going back up.
The food was very good. There was always plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner and they would always be very obliging if there was something you didn't like.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for it's views, its service for everything, really couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden would have the best of the views and be quieter than over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Audra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Just leaving here from our honeymoon and can not say anything but our stay here was perfect.

The service received by all is great and nothing is too much trouble.

The food is great and there was something for everyone and if there weren't anything they would create something for you.

The views from this hotel are fab looking over the bay quite far up and is nice to sit outside and have a meal looking over the bay.

Sorrento is a 15 minute walk down and is a nice walk, just mind the scooters but after a day here youll get a understanding what is meant by that. The walk back however is a challenge and your better off getting the shuttle bus back. Tony the driver is great and although the bus occasionally gets full he will be back within half an hour to get you. Tea times are great as Tony will stop the coach to allow you to see the sunset.

Summary, I would highly recommend here and would definitely stop here again and has been a great honeymoon location. All staff are great locals.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Spectacular views,beautiful setting with amazing staff..who cannot do enough for you.....Guileppe...is so entertaining.....treated like royalty...loved every minute...and a big thanks for the unexpected birthday cake.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krazyd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just returned from a 11 day visit. Our first visit to Sorrento and definitely not our last. The setting for the Grand Hotel President is absolutely superb. Superb can also be said for the hotel.The staff are so friendly and helpful. We had a superior room with a sea view and the view across the Bay of Naples was truly amazing. We could not fault the food and service in the restaurant. This is an ideal hotel for couples who want a high standard. The level of entertainment provided was just right, not in your face or loud. A Truly amazing unforgettable holiday and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Choose a Superior Sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Address: Via Parisi 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £110 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel President, 4 star hotel in Sorrento Italy, overlooks the Sorrentine Peninsular and the Bay of Naples offering one of the best views in the world . A view which has inspired many artists and song writers for centuries. The splendid terraces of the Grand Hotel President with their sea views, the swimming pool, the beauty and fitness centres and the refined panoramic restaurant are all part of the services that combine to guarantee the full attention of the staff which is always attuned to satisfying the desires of the guests . The tranquil atmosphere in which the Grand Hotel President is immersed , accompanied by the scent of flowers and scrubs from the hotels very well maintained gardens, make it the ideal place for a relaxing and restful holiday. The centre of Sorrento which is only 3 klms away, is easily reached thanks to the free shuttle service of the Grand Hotel President. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing