We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italy at it's Best and Views to Die For”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel President
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from what is one of the best Hotels in Italy,from the moment you arrive until the day you leave the staff go out of their way to make yor stay memorable, The Executivev Chef Alessandro, and his team will pamper your tastebuds with food todelight the most discerning palate, all served by the freindly efficient diningroom staff ( don't forget to take advantage of the cookery lessons from Alessandro,as well as tastings hosted by Vincenzo, who is a mine of information when it comes to the flora and fauna of the Sorrentine coast.The view of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvios from the Hotel are amazing,if you want an unforgettable Holiday in a relaxed and freindly atmosphere look no fuether, we'll certainly be back next year!!

Room Tip: Definitely try for a room that is with an seaview on a high floor (the first floor is the highest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank varavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I returned to Sorrento after several years, and stayed a week. This hotel was central to our enjoyment on both visits. It sits just above the town on a bluff, with spectacular views of the town, the Bay and Mt. Vesuvious. Staff is incredibly courteous and helpful, especially at the front desk. The facilities are luxurious, complete and always immaculatly clean. The included breakfast is beyond description, and dinner in the dining room is a wonderful experience. Of course, the shuttle bus takes you to or from town.

Can you tell? We loved it!

Room Tip: get the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank old-guy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent seven wonderful days here (seven days isn't long enough) we didn't want to go home .We arrived late in the evening and we were warmly greeted on entering our room we noticed a cold platter of prosciutto, cheese, olives, salami and other italian meats waiting for us we opened a bottle of Frascati from the mini bar and went out onto the balcony where we sat and enjoyed the delicious meal
The room was spacious and immaculately clean.The view was out of this world with Vesuvius on the horizon and the twinkling lights of Sorrento below we have been to Sorrento before but have always stayed along the coast but we are so glad we chose Hotel president this year. I would just like to mention the fantastic staff especially Antonino who catered for our every whim he even managed to get us some oysters which were the biggest I've ever seen well thats about it sorry I got carried away we will definitely be returning soon

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank vlrsaracino8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Thank you to all at the Grand President for giving us a fabulous holiday. We stayed at the there for 2 weeks in late June/early July, on a Thomsons holiday (myself and my 16 year old daughter). Arriving late evening our group was ushered to the dining room where a buffet meal had been specially set aside for us. We were warmly welcomed by the restaurant manager Antonino. And things just got better. The staff were so kind and friendly. The decor is fresh and modern, bright and spacious public areas. The pool area is lovely with great lunches if you have any space for more food!The food is wonderful, some tables on the dining room terrace if you want to sit outdoors and enjoy the view, the kitchen will make changes to the dishes to suit your needs, vegetarian choice was fairly good, and lots of seafood. Our room was lovely - as mentioned in some other reviews those without a sea view may look out onto a wall, or in our case an unoccupied house. This wasn't a problem for us as the roof terrace and bar is the most beautiful place to sit in the evening especially - comfortable sofas, views over Sorrento and across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius. If the room view is important then best to book a sea view. The shuttle bus to Sorrento is very useful (15 minute journey) - too hot for us to tackle the walk to town in July! You can book tours with agencies in Sorrento which will pick you up from your hotel (we used 'in Daily Excursions Centre' on the corner of Via San Cesareo and Via Padre R Guiliani), and we thought that it was worth being a bit up the hill for the fabulous views. My daughter was 16 while we were there and to her delight was brought a surprise birthday cake by Tomino at the end of our dinner that night. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MairiA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

WOW!! We arrived at the hotel for our daughters wedding and on arrival was greeted with friendly and efficient staff, from reception to porters. It didn't stop there we found all staff very polite and friendly and very accommodating. Our room was amazing with views over the garden and Sorrento sea view (well worth paying that little extra for sea view).
Food and waiter service second to none! Bar staff joined in with the friendly banter! Pool always clean and good lunchtime food served there
As for our daughters wedding day the hotel laid on a super champagne and canopies reception in the beautiful Solariam with the great views over Sorrento. For the evening meal the restaurant staff set the higher part of restaurant out beautifully for her and got chef to make a delicious cake!
We would recommend this hotel 100% and we are planning a return trip!

Room Tip: Worth paying a little more for sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank carol-l-h2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel, it was lovely and in a beautiful setting. Everything about it was first class, great staff, gorgeous food, and lovely rooms.We was looked after brilliantly. It was my husbands birthday when we was there and they surprised him with a cake. The all staff were amazing nothing to much and so friendly, The hotel provide a shuttle bus to go down and back to the town as hotel is up a hill.....the views are breathe taking.Room serve was lovely on our last a day xxx well done all who work there xxx

Room Tip: we didnt have a see view but we had a balcony and that looked on to a flowered area and although the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hah21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I found this hotel to be ideally situated overlooking Sorrento offering stunning views of the bay of Naples and Vesuvious, a shuttle bus runs into Sorrento which takes approximately 10 minutes or alternatively there is a cobbled path to walk into Sorrento which takes approximately 25 minutes.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food was very good with plenty of choice. The bar areas were well appointed and gave great virews over Sorrento.
The rooms were clean, well appointed and comfotable. It is advisable though to book a sea view room as the other rooms do overlook the car park and a wall.
The pool was clean and the food bar was a nice place to relax and have a snack.

Room Tip: Select a sea view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Address: Via Parisi 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £110 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel President, 4 star hotel in Sorrento Italy, overlooks the Sorrentine Peninsular and the Bay of Naples offering one of the best views in the world . A view which has inspired many artists and song writers for centuries. The splendid terraces of the Grand Hotel President with their sea views, the swimming pool, the beauty and fitness centres and the refined panoramic restaurant are all part of the services that combine to guarantee the full attention of the staff which is always attuned to satisfying the desires of the guests . The tranquil atmosphere in which the Grand Hotel President is immersed , accompanied by the scent of flowers and scrubs from the hotels very well maintained gardens, make it the ideal place for a relaxing and restful holiday. The centre of Sorrento which is only 3 klms away, is easily reached thanks to the free shuttle service of the Grand Hotel President. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing