We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel President
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“one of the best!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My wife & I have stayed in many hotels,over the years,but this 1 is just amazing!,staff,views,food,fantastic! Don't know what else to say.only downside was no tea/coffee facilities in room,but very lovely place.

Room Tip: If you take a sea view it will cost,we didn't bother,you can see it all from bars,restaurants.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank roy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    258
    69
    28
    7
See reviews for
245
787
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel from 15th August 2014 - 25th August 2014. I selected the hotel for location and the promise of its panoramic views - the pictures looked amazing! The hotel in reality was far better than any picture I saw - they really do not do justice to the real thing. The Seaview from my balcony and panoramic scenes of sorrento were truly breathtaking.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble at all.
Rooms are cleaned and towels replaced daily. Pool towels are provided.
Buffet Breakfast and full service dinner is provided for half board. Dining Staff give every attention to detail and you are greeted and seated as soon as you arrive for meals. The dining experience was exceptional.
The food was fantastic - one of the best I have experienced in any hotel that I have been to.
Has you can tell I had a thoroughly great time there - My daughters ended up staying for an additional week and if I had not had work commitments I would have stayed with them!
I shall definately be going back again.

Room Tip: I would advise anyone booking to pay a little more for seaview rooms - it is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The staff are so helpful and friendly. Rooms are lovely, hotel is clean, well decorated and comfortable. Views are fantastic and free shuttle bus make it so easy to get to Sorrento. Trains from Sorrento can get you very easily and cheaply to Pompeii and Herculaneum. This is an ideal hotel and location for a first visit to Italy as everyone is so friendly and many English speakers. You will fall in love with Italy and the staff and activities at the hotel will help you come away with a little bit of the local language and culture with free language, cooking and limoncello activities. We enjoyed time by and in the pool where the loungers are comfortable with plenty of sun umbrellas for some very welcome shade. Hotel also has a small gym and beauty spa which you will need as the food is delicious and plentiful. Take your time over a long breakfast on the balcony overlooking views of Sorrento and watch the sun go down as you enjoy your dinner or a pre-dinner drink on the roof top terrace. Well done and thank you to everyone at the President. We travelled with our 18 and 21 year old and pleased to say we all enjoyed this holiday, hotel and location.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool and bay have stunning views and a couple of rooms are hidden away with garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDN63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have just returned from the most wonderful two weeks spent in this hotel. The hotel, food and restaurant staff were amazing. The waiters were so pleasant and helpful to my husband who had hurt his leg prior to the holiday. We cannot wait to go back. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a wonderful view but we were quite happy with our large courtyard type balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

this was our second year at the President and it just gets better and better. A beautiful sea view room on the first floor (which is top floor here!) meant that you could take in the remarkable views across the bay to Vesuvius and watch the town come alive from sunset to the glittering nights. As always everywhere spotlessly clean and well maintained, but what makes this place as special as it is are the wonderful staff....Niño, Fabio, and Guiseppe you are stars! There is nothing bad to say about this hotel, although if you are looking for all night parties...please stay away! I would not say that it is an ideal hotel for children, but that is as I prefer adult company. However, if you are coming please have the manners to read simple rules regarding the pool. it clearly states that there will not be any reserving of sun beds and that the pool area is open from 9am. Don't get up and send your wife in her nightie at stupid o clock to put towels over beds, and then complain loudly to the wonderful Niño when you find them removed. You managed to look a prat and should be ashamed! The sea view rooms are obviously the best in the hotel, and the joy of waking up and taking the first coffee of the day watching the bay from your balcony takes some beating. Everything you purchase at the hotel is put on your room tab, never had any problem with fully itemised bills at the end of your stay. The shuttle bus is very reliable if you want to go down into town. Do attend some of the hotels 'in house' talks, the limoncello talk was very interesting ( hic!) Thank you Grand President for a wonderful fortnight, we will return again and again and again!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a sea view room if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KAZMUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We spent 4 nights here after 3 in Venice, and what a wonderful hotel it was to relax at. I must especially mention the fantastic food and service in the restaurant. After many years of family self catering holidays, it was a first to go half board and I was not disappointed. The rooftop bar and views were outstanding and it was a great place to relax after dinner. I was surprised at the wide range of ages staying at the hotel. Although there was a wedding there one day, it didn't impact on our holiday at all. The only downside was the location being outside of Sorrento meant a shuttle bus into town and back. But this was also a bonus location wise as you were away from the busy town centre and noise during the evening. Be warned - if you don't want to wait for the first bus back in the evening and go for a taxi, it will set you back EUR 30 for the 5 minute drive!! I really can't recommend this hotel enough and we will certainly come back here again. Although we didn't have a sea view room, ours was behind reception on the top floor and was very private with an extended terrace which had a seating area and room for two loungers. Although it was the height of summer and the hotel was busy, we had absolutely no problem getting loungers in the afternoon. You do have the usual problem of people 'bagging' loungers first thing by putting towels on them, but on the whole this was quite minimal. Don't bother with arranged excursions for Pompeii etc - the train costs EUR 4.40 return per person and drops you off right outside! It will save you a fair bit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoSargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Superb stunning scenery which never failed to be breathtaking every morning. It's well worth compromising on the central location to avoid the hectic noisy roads of the town. We are a family of 5 with 3 teenagers who never complained about being out of town, they all appreciated the stunning setting and embraced the hotel. All the staff were courteous, friendly and approachable probably the friendliest cleanest hotel we've ever stayed. We didn't have the sea front rooms but will know for future stays to book. Cannot fault a single thing about this hotel, even Tony the bus driver was amazing at rescuing us from another hotel half way up after we got on the wrong courtesy bus!
We didn't do any of the tour operators trips, it's much more cost effective to do all the day trips yourself.
We had a great choice of food every night, wine was surprisingly reasonably priced (€16-€22).
Thank you to all the staff for such a memorable holiday.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Property: Grand Hotel President
Address: Via Parisi 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel President, 4 star hotel in Sorrento Italy, overlooks the Sorrentine Peninsular and the Bay of Naples offering one of the best views in the world . A view which has inspired many artists and song writers for centuries. The splendid terraces of the Grand Hotel President with their sea views, the swimming pool, the beauty and fitness centres and the refined panoramic restaurant are all part of the services that combine to guarantee the full attention of the staff which is always attuned to satisfying the desires of the guests . The tranquil atmosphere in which the Grand Hotel President is immersed , accompanied by the scent of flowers and scrubs from the hotels very well maintained gardens, make it the ideal place for a relaxing and restful holiday. The centre of Sorrento which is only 3 klms away, is easily reached thanks to the free shuttle service of the Grand Hotel President. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing