We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel we have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel President
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
enfield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best hotel we have stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

my fiancee and i have just returned back from a week stay in grand hotel president sorrento, we went to sorrento to research for our wedding next year!
the grand hotel president is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, the food was beautifull and drinks are not over priced at all
the views are amazing from every level of the hotel , it is a well kept hotel and so clean.
the staff go above and beyond for you, every single member of staff at the hotel are so polite and friendly we asked for toothbrush's and on the short walk back to our room they had already been delivered!
we cannot fault this hotel we are in progess of booking our wedding for next year and we will be returning to this hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashaaylott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    245
    61
    27
    8
See reviews for
226
721
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

We chose Sorrento as our wedding destination and stayed at the Grand Hotel President, we were not disappointed! The majority of our guests also chose to stay at this hotel with us and so we were pleased we found such a lovely setting. On arrival, everything was made very easy, plenty of staff available to check in the bus full of people, and a nice touch – a waiter bought a tray of cakes out to welcome everyone.
We were pleased with our room, we had chosen a superior room (not sea-view). We had figured since we were travelling in a large group we would be spending the majority of our time in the communal areas, and this was exactly what we did. The outside terrace area was stunning both during the day and in the evenings. You can't explain the view – you have to see it to believe it! The comfortable chairs and the bar where they kept us supplied with drinks and nibbles added to the ambience.
During the days, we enjoyed the walk down the steep hill into town and back, although most of our guests preferred to take the courtesy bus. Must mention Tony the bus driver, he was excellent, even offering us late night complimentary soft drink as he took us back to the hotel! He deserved his tip at the end of the week!
The second day we were there it was one of our guests' birthdays. We hadn't mentioned it but the hotel had obviously seen her passport and baked a birthday cake, complete with candles and left it out for a suprise! They also left us a bottle of champagne and some fruit in our room on our wedding night – perfect!
We did find it much cheaper to organise trips out ourselves rather than book through Thomson although there are plenty of options if you don't mind paying.
The food at the hotel was super. The buffet breakfast was more than enough to keep us going all day, there was so much food and loads of options of hot and cold. In the evening it is waiter service. The maître-d obviously enjoys his job and all of his team are happy to help in anyway they can. About half our group (including us) are vegetarian and we didn't have to worry about the food. It was delicious and there was always an option that people liked, both meat-eaters and vegetarians.
If we have to pick out a bad point about the hotel, the only thing we can think of is the fact that no drinks are included, even with meals and they are quite expensive. As you don't pay for drinks up front, they ask for your room number each time and get you to sign, its very easy to clock up a big bill for the end of the week without realising it.
All week the entertainment was varied and good and most people joined in although there were quiet areas you could go if you didn't want to some nights.
Obviously the highlight of our week was our wedding, but we can't wait to come back to Sorrento in a couple of years for an anniversary trip and we'll definitely be booking back into the Hotel President!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pink-spotty-suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

We have just returned from a two week break at the Grand Hotel President. It is a fantatic hotel. We upgraded to a Superior Sea view room - it was a fantastic view and well worth the upgrade. We have been to some fantastic places but this was the bext view we have ever had. The room was large and there was lovely fluffy dressing gowns and complimentary mineral water everyday. The food was very good and the service from the waiters was fantastic. The weather was very hot but there was some entertainment at the pool during the day which occupied your time. The chic roof top bar was fantastic overlooking m. vesuvious and the bay and the band D&A are very good. The Thomsons trips are expenses and we made our own way to pompeii, capri and amalfi coast - very easy. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaPinot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

we stayed at The Grand President for two great weeks we had a wonderfull holiday very clean hotel staff very polite the entertainment was fab Victoiria David Jonny Jill and D&A you made our holiday thanks to you all, any one with walking problems they have a courtsey bus to take you down into Sorrento town drinks are expensive you pay 4 euros for a small beer cocktails 8euros we had three trips the best was Amalfie coast fantastic scenery trip

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edna54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

We had standard sea view room which was lovely. Amazing views of Sorrento from our terrace. Room was very clean, no complaints about it. Waiter service in restaurant was excellent. Big portions and the food was lovely. We always asked for an outside table as views were so good of Sorrento, Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. Breakfast was buffet style, with good selection. Chef to do your eggs how you wanted.
Pool was perfect. We always had a sunbed. Some activites from the Thomson team during the day - aerobics, quiz, pool games. Just enough going on, otherwise it was very peaceful.
Courtesy bus was very useful to get in an out of Sorrento. Bus driver was very friendly.
Evening drinks were lovely up on the rooftop bar, again for the views. They had a duo singing, also had entertainment in the show lounge. Syd Little was there doing a performance last week!
Great hotel, highly recommended.
PS. We did train trips to Pompeii and Herculaneum for 4 euro return. Very frequent trains there and back. You then just pay your 11 euro entry free. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7thoctober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

we have just returned from the grand president and what a fantastic hotel it is. The staff at the hotel are really friendly, the food outstanding with plenty of choices. The views from the terrace/pool are the best ever overlooking the whole bay of naples. The thomson reps are great and very helpful, the entertainment team are very professional, the duo that sing in the piano bar (D & A ) are lovely to listen to after evening meal. The courtesy bus is great as it is a fair walk down to the town. Can i just say that the previous bad reviews are just not true as i could not find fault at this hotel at all.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank www2504www
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

A week was not long enough, i went with a friend for a bit of relaxation and a what good choice.
The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you, the rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. The views are spectacular, dine on the dining room balcony overlooking Sorrento and the Bay of Naples under the stars, you can't get any better. I recommend you pay extra for a sea view its worth every penny. The Thomson entertainment group were first class, great entertainment. My friend will be going back but with her husband next time - its such a romantic place. Amalfi coast drive is a must, the Isle of Capri is lovely and take your credid cards with you.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_hurtley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Property: Grand Hotel President
Address: Via Colle Parisi 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel President, 4 star hotel in Sorrento Italy, overlooks the Sorrentine Peninsular and the Bay of Naples offering one of the best views in the world . A view which has inspired many artists and song writers for centuries. The splendid terraces of the Grand Hotel President with their sea views, the swimming pool, the beauty and fitness centres and the refined panoramic restaurant are all part of the services that combine to guarantee the full attention of the staff which is always attuned to satisfying the desires of the guests . The tranquil atmosphere in which the Grand Hotel President is immersed , accompanied by the scent of flowers and scrubs from the hotels very well maintained gardens, make it the ideal place for a relaxing and restful holiday. The centre of Sorrento which is only 3 klms away, is easily reached thanks to the free shuttle service of the Grand Hotel President. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing