We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel.”
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We have just returned from spending a week at this hotel and cannot fault it. The food was of a very high standard, the views from the back of the hotel across the Bay of Naples were stunning and the hotel grounds were beautiful. The views from the front of the hotel, over a road and into a small football stadium were not so stunning, but it did not detract from our stay there at all.
Ask for a walkers map at the tourist office and there are many walks into the hills and across the peninsular that are well worth doing. We hardly met another person on any of the walks we did and the paths are through orange and lemon groves, olive groves and into tiny villages clinging to the hillside.

Room Tip: Watch the sunset from the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    258
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
302
906
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Fantastic location, wonderful seaview rooms with balcony overlooking the bay of Naples.Very helpful staff. Great food (breakfast and dinner).Beautiful gardens and pool area surrounded with ladened lemon trees.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedbirdbhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

My husband and I stayed here in Sept 10 on the second half of our honeymoon. When we arrived it was raining but it didnt take away from this beautiful hotel or its gardens. We were given our room key (cant remember the number but as you look at the hotel from the water, its the only one with the round porthole window looking out onto the water), and went up to the room, which was large bright and had lovely views of the deck and the sea. However the very small balcony (which we had paid extra for) was at 90 degrees to the balcony from the room next door. This wasnt an issue on the first day as the other room seemed to be unoccupied (or the occupants didnt venture out in the rain) but when we were both out on the balcony at the same time it was very uncomfortable. We were literally looking into each others faces. Plus because we smoke and would have liked to have had a cig with a glass of wine in the evening, it felt very uncomfortable for us as we wouldnt want to blow smoke into their faces! So on day 2 of our 7 day stay i mentioned this to the front desk, and explained the situation, and asked if there was any other available room. The man at the desk was very polite and said he would look into it and come back to us, but we didnt hear another word about it for the remainder of the stay. It was a disappointment to us, not that there wasnt another room, but that no one had the manners to inform us. Also I would recommend that the Ambasciatori take a leaf out of the hotels in Romes books, and put a bottle of Cava or alternative in rooms which they know a honeymoon couple will be staying.. (and this could be a €3 bottle from supermarket - its the thought that counts) .. ps i filled in my comments and email address on the comment card in the hotel and posted at reception but again heard nothing in response. Poor service from such a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaMaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We stayed in the Ambasciatori for our daughters wedding in August and had an amazing time there. All the staff were extremely professional and helpful and could not have done anymore for us.
Giovanni, the general manager, Giovanni, the maitre d and Salvatore at the jetty were exceptionally helpful during our stay.
We will definately be returning to the hotel and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryNaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

In summary, the friendly, professional service, combined with the overall beauty of the place, the peace and quiet (it’s not a place for young families or loud music) the comfort of the room and the sumptuous food made this a wonderful holiday that we both felt was really good value for money. It’s the first time we’ve stayed somewhere we wouldn’t hesitate to return.

In detail, we stayed here in the last week of July 2010, the weather was sunny all the time. The Neapolitan taxi driver knew of it and found it easily; a benefit of it being long-established. On arrival mid-afternoon we were checked in efficiently and shown around our room. We had paid extra for the “Premier double room with sea view balcony, luxury furniture and bathroom in fine marble”. It was spacious enough, the bed was very comfortable and nearly everything worked. The hairdryer (one of those European ones with a hose attached to the bathroom wall) didn’t; after calling down in no more than a minute the porter had arrived, attended to the problem and fixed it (a fuse box switch hidden inside the wardrobe needed resetting).

The room was set into the cliff into which the hotel is built so raising the blackout binds (a slightly James Bond moment) revealed a truly staggering view. There was a sheer drop so the balcony was in fact set over the water. The entire Bay of Naples, including Vesuvius, was all clearly visible and along with the lapping azure water, white ferries and lazy sun it was a sight we never tired of. One down side; if you’re only one level down from the lobby you’ll have the sound of breakfasters shifting chairs along your ceiling in the morning and diners doing the same in the evening as these rooms are just underneath the restaurant.

One main reason we were attracted to the place was its sand-free beach; all the pluses of a day sunbathing on the coast without the flies, rubbish, passers-by or pets to worry about. It was everything we hoped it would be – peaceful and restful. We loved the sun-loungers with built in sun shades and had a dip if it got too hot. The at-table service for beers, cocktails and food was friendly and efficient; the manager that runs the beach section works 12 hours a day 7 days a week during the high season but is always chatty and accommodating. One day they had a problem getting hold of enough beach towels for everyone so he organised some spares from housekeeping to ensure we didn’t run short.

When we first arrived we didn’t quite know how the place worked and struggled to get a quick drink. Nothing here is rushed! So you have to relax a bit from the normal speed of life but once we did, we found everything was well-organised. There is the opportunity to get food throughout the day - we had the odd day-time steak or risotto by the poolside - but we found that the evening meals were worth holding ourselves back for.

The restaurant itself is very classy and one of the most romantic places to have an evening meal. If you get there early (7:00pm-8:00pm; and sit inside to avoid the chance of becoming a bite yourself) it’s the perfect place to watch the sun set and enjoy a great bottle of wine from their well-stocked cellar. Their sommelier has sourced a wide range of good local wines and a decent selection from other parts of Italy; there are international options as well but we found the ‘Chef’s suggestion’ complimented that day’s menu very well.

We weren’t left to our own devices, either, and everyone from the Maître d’ down was wonderfully personable and genuine in their efforts to ensure we enjoyed every moment. In particular Giuseppe who always looked after us. One evening we’d discovered an amazing bottle of red wine and even though it wasn’t on the menu, he put together a cheese course for us. As with everything else, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjerros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Ref rooms 104 105 603 from 15th-22nd October 2010. All members of our party would like to express our sincere congratulations to you on the excellence of the staff in your Hotel. Everybody was so kind and helpful and made our stay extremely enjoyable. Special thanks to Carla, Barbara and Stefano on reception, Toninio and his staff in the bar, Marco for his excellent omelettes and brilliant service. Last but by no means least Giovani the Maitre'd who made running the restaurant look like sliding the smoothest silk over highly polished marble. We would be extremely grateful if you would pass our thanks on to all those mentioned and indeed to all the staff as each of them contributed to the pleasure of our stay. Our thanks also to the lovely lady who looked after our rooms so efficiently, her bright and cheery manner was delightful.
Grazie mille di la vacanza

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theevansfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2010

My wife & I had the pleaseure of staying at the Hotel Ambasciatori in Sorrento Italy for 3 wonderful nights in October 2011. The room was spacious, and the views were beautiful. The staff was very attentive to all our needs.

We had a wonderful dining experience two evenings at the Le Muse Restaurant in the hotel. Giovanni,our host, made the experience memorable. He ,helped us with our Italian,recommemded wines & food that were excellent.
I would recommend him & the whole staff to anyone.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank augie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,625 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing