We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice staff, well furnished”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Staff were helpful, good place to stay and walk around Sorrento, We enjoyed free internet. Rooms were clean. The restaurant has awesome views. Our room had partial sea view (and view of vesuvius).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chemist2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,560)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Ambasciatori. My daughter and I felt we were going home. The welcome is always outstanding and staff exceed any expectations. The hotel has had a bit of a brush up over winter and is looking amazing. More than anything the hotel has quality, style and elegance and I am returning again in July and most likely in September .

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel - speak with Imma or Massimo they will help you with the best room to s...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We spent an enjoyable week in Sorrento despite 7 days of rain. Yes, it rained on all 7 and thunderstorms on 3 ! Apparently it is still the same. Anyway this is no fault of the hotel although it allows me to confirm definitely that the roof does not leak! Yes we liked it. Courteous staff, clean, nice a la carte dinners (not those dreadful buffet things) and a beautiful garden, pool, and scenery. Irritating that they charged about 3 euros a day for a room safe box. This is usually free. But on the whole very good services.

Why oh why can't a hotel like this in Italy provide good bar coffee ? I'm not talking about the horrible brown liquid called coffee which is served at breakfast in almost all 4 star hotels and below worldwide. No, I mean the nice bar coffee that goes down so well after a good meal when you would like to relax and chat at lunch or evening. I did tell them. They waved their hands, looked sad, and promised it would be put right. All very Italian. I hope they do fix the coffee though. I might go back.

As for the weather .......................... be warned!

Room Tip: Get a seaview or garden room. Not one above the busy road at the front.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this fabulous hotel. We had a sea facing room which was very comfortable and kept spotless by cleaning staff We had fantastic food every night served by very pleasant friendly staff in sea facing dining room with views over the Bay of Naples.
Although we didnt have very good weather this hotel was a delight to stay in and Sorrento is a good base to explore the surrounding area
All staff were very good but must mention the bar staff Antonio who makes amazing cocktails and Gerrano who never stops smiling and is such an enthusiastic member of staff, sure he will go far!
We hope to return in September when the sun will be shiningand we can enjoy the beautiful gardens

Room Tip: Higher sea facing rooms and room 402 has a large balcony
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FelixstoweSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed for a week to celebrate wedding anniversary, the staff were very friendly, the food fantastic and the location perfect. Ideal for days out, near the railway station for a visit to Pompei. easy to access the boat for a trip to Capri, or just sit in the square drinking fantastic coffee watching the world go by. We were very lucky with the weather, it was warm enough to sit in the beautiful gardens but not to use the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Initially accomm offered was very grand with two bedrooms but it was in the front of the hotel on th...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We are here at present for one week, although the weather is cool and damp, we are well compensated by the friendly atmosphere provided by all staff, a credit to the hotel management.
The meals have been excellent in quality, quantity and have been served up ina very friendly courteous manner by all the dining staff, especially Marco who is very attentive to every detail, all this has been overseen by a very friendly and courteous maitre de.
The piano bar is staffed by a very experienced staff namely Antonio and his ability to mix his wonderful cocktails is a wonder to behold, he is very abley assisted by a very charming and attentive young waiter Generro who is a credit to the Hotels training team.
All in all our stay at the hotel has been excellent thanks to the devotion of the hotels staff, we highly recommend a stay here

Room Tip: All rooms have great views over the bay of Naples
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank artymedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We wanted the perfect holiday researched on and off for 4 weeks then booked with Thomson who advertise this hotel as a 5 star platinum hotel.

Booked the standard room with a balcony as we felt this would be fine as it is a Platinum hotel. As soon as we walked in the room our hearts sunk, the decor was tired and the bed headboard fabric worn out. The balcony in our room looked straight over one of the main roads into Sorrento with constant traffic both cars and motor cycles sounding their horns day and night.

Got in touch with Thomson who advised us to go ask for a room change which we did but were told all the standard rooms were located over the road. If we wanted to upgrade it would cost a further £350 for a garden view or £550 for a seaview. Also safety deposit box in room charged at 3.50euro per night and wifi 6euro per hour.

Refused to upgrade as if this is a platinum 4-5 star rooms should be of good quality and not over a main road making it impossible to have balcony doors open let alone sit out on it.

Will say tho staff were great and good food.

After only 2 nights we decided enough was enough and we packed up and went to Rome for 2 days catching a flight home 3 days early with ryanair.

Have been to Sorrento before and would suggest picking hotels above Sorrento as they are peaceful and the views are amazing.

So our long awaited relaxing holiday costing £1096 booked through Thomson turned into a nightmare.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Michmosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,396 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £198 - £823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing