We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakthtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2008

My husband and I just loved this hotel. It was so grand, the views were breathtaking and the rooms lovely. We were on one of the upper levels with a small bird's nest balcony but we felt so privileged to be there and gaze out at the most beautiful views I have ever seen. The staff were always obliging especially in the restaurant. It took us only 10 minutes to walk into central Sorrento so it was very convenient. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any of my friends. A seafacing room is so worth it. Just check out my photos to see for yourself.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank estatictravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,256 - 1,262 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2008

My husband and I had been travelling throughout Germany and Italy. We stayed in The Ambasciatori and just loved it! Our middle grade room was great with a view of partial sea and courtyard where you could hear the live Italian music from below at night. The reception area was full of high quality wood inlay and the internet was great. The walks into town (10 minutes) helped to walk off all of the great Italian food we had been eating. One day we stayed at the hotel all day as the setting is just too beautiful to not enjoy it, plus we needed the day to chill. We swam at the beach, had lunch poolside under a beautiful arbor, and then swam in the pool. It was a great way to chill from all of our travelling. The food was good, we did have a chef make breakfast in the main dining room as you watched and lunch was super as well. Dinner was good, nothing to write home about, but the view of Mt. Vesuvius and the sunset was just spectacular. I would highly recommend it.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank mezzegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2007

Beautiful hotel, view, lobby, pool, restaurants. Our room however, was kind of dingy and dark and had no view but the rest of the hotel made up for staying there. If you want a beautiful room with a view, prepare to pay major dollars. Wait staff was excellent espeically Valentino. Taxi from train station to hotel is very pricey but we were
told that was the normal price. Concierge helped us book day trips to Capri and Pompeii. Within walking distance to the center of Sorrento.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovTaTravelNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2007

We stayed at the Ambasciatori for a week in December, 2007 before the holidays. This was of course off season so my wife and I were two of the few quests in the hotel. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, as were the public areas. The restaurant was closed during most of our stay. The breakfast was typical. The staff were very friendly and helpful and most of them spoke at least some English. It is located a short 10 minute and enjoyable walk to the town center. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2007

Upon arrival, we were shown to our room which was very dark and small. The third bed for our son had been pushed against the doors to the balcony, almost blocking the door. We asked to be moved to another room, after showing us 2 other rooms, we accepted the largest, which was actually a suite. This room was nicely furnished, still quite dark, but as it was larger, was more acceptable. The shower screen was very rusty, but the bathroom was clean.

The restaurant was very poor, both for dinner and breakfast. At breakfast, the selection was average, with no hot food on offer at all. The juices tasted watered down and hot drinks took an age to arrive. Dinner was exceptionally poor, with two of our three main courses being sent back. We chose not to eat there again. Retauarant staff were miserable.

Reception staff were excellent, very helpful at all times. Shame the rest of the staff did not follow suit. The reception area gave a very nice impression.

The hotel location was very good, far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the centre, but still within a comfortable walking distance.

We paid 300 euro's a night for our room for 3 including breakfast and I feel this is very steep for the standard of this hotel. I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Roy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2007

Enjoyed a 4 nite stay at the Hotel Ambasciatori in October. The grounds are beautiful, the views spectacular. Service personnel were generally friendly and helpful. Hint: avoid dealing with the front desk except during the day..the evening staff has limited English and
administrative skills. The breakfast buffet, esp the omellette station and pastries were excellent. Had one dinner in the restaurant
(incl in our package) and was surprised at the high quality. Only disadvantage is the walk into town (a good 15 mins) which is problematic when it's raining or after you've spent a long day touring.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank marlboro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

My wife and I have just enjoyed an excellent week at the hotel (12th to 19th Oct). All the staff, but particularly in the restaurant were very helpful and courteous. The food was plentiful, varied and prepared to a high standard. Our sea view room was splendid and the views of Vesuvius & Capri always ensure a perfect start to everyday. I would strongly recommend this hotel to everybody

Stayed: October 2007
4  Thank bowlerMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,436 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £183 - £555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing