We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel on the Amalfi Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel on the Amalfi Coast”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 and couldn't have found a lovelier hotel. The views are amazing, the room was very spacious and clean, the staff very helpful and friendly. My only compliant is that we didn't stay longer! The have beautiful grounds that we didn't have time to explore or enjoy. We loved having breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. It would be my 1st choice for a return visit to Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie0459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,110
    255
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
299
890
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I’m unsure what I can add to what has already been said – but I will try!. The hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed in; we were fortunate enough to have a superb sea view over the bay, the room was large and comfortable, the restaurant is very good – Giovanni and his assistant, whose name I didn’t quite get, run it well and they are always there to assist, all the staff are friendly and attentive. The evening entertainment is colourful, the gardens a delight to walk in at night, that’s if you don’t want to wander down into town and have a coffee. The swimming pool is ok - very bracing when you first get in, the pontoon beach area is a good idea – what more can you wish for – sea, sun and a bar.
I can however understand some of the ‘picky’ comments made – I was also surprised that there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms – perhaps its like the irons – they are not allowed to have them – or they would prefer you to order from room service and use the laundry service.
The hotel does have free internet in the bedrooms - providing your not wireless – so if you have a laptop with a usb port your ok, if you have an Ipad or similar and want internet access its 18 euros a week and you can use it throughout the hotel, or there are a couple of PC’s in the entrance hall that you can use and you just pay per hour for internet access if you need to.
So to summarise – its not a budget hotel, you pay through the nose for everything, from the view out of the window to the water you drink – so go for it and enjoy it – we did!
A quick note on tips, should you wish to leave any - the restaurant and kitchen share, so just see the Maitre D, if you want to give Tony or Simon in the bar one do it separately.

Room Tip: Go for a sea. or a garden view if you can, there is a football stadium opposite the hotel and its on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silfinfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Just returned from a two week holiday at the Grand Ambasciatori which having read the reviews and cancelled a booking at another Sorrento hotel to come here we were very much looking forward to. There is much to like about the hotel and we really want to love it but there are also a number of off-putting things which a hotel of this quality should get right.there is also a definite feel of 'money grabbing'.This is not a cheap hotel and on price alone it is competing with long haul destinations such as Mexico where the hotels are superb and everything is provided to very high standards.
The first major disappointment was that even booking a room with a full sea view, the best and most expensive room that can be booked with Thomson, and booking a year in advance of our holiday, did not guarantee a good sea view room. Despite booking a full sea view room, we were given room 203, a small, poor, inferior room on a lower floor with a stone wall immediately to the side of and extending beyond the balcony. We paid a large supplement for this room and although it did have a sea view it was very much a restricted sea view and we would have been better off booking a cheaper side garden view room with limited sea view. At least we wouldn't have been looking out at a stone wall ! When we complained we were offered a move to room 405 which is located immediately beneath the restaurant. We asked about noise and the manager assured us that due to insulation there was no noise whatsoever from the restaurant. The room was much larger than room 203 and showed what a poor room that was and had a stunning sea view. However, we were woken every morning at 7am or earlier when the restaurant opened for breakfast by the scraping of chairs on the restaurant tiled floor. My wife said that she could tell that the manager was not happy about our changing rooms so we mentioned the noise in the second room to the Thomson Rep. She was very helpful when we complained about the first room but was not interested in any comments about the second room. Neither of these rooms were satisfactory for a two week holiday especially having paid such a large room supplement. The Thomson Rep said that the best upper floor rooms were all suites but it was apparent that during our stay these rooms were primarilly reserved for people who had booked direct with the hotel rather than through a tour company.
'Money grabbing' was evident in the room facilities where we did not even have a box of tissues. A hotel of this standard should provide bathrobes and slippers but these again were kept only for guests who had booked direct with the hotel. For the cost the hotel should also provide tea and coffe making facilities in the room (but of course they want you to spend in the bar etc.) a bottle of water each day and an iron and ironing board if these are allowed in Italy.The safe was to cost 3.50 euros a day which was extortionate but when we checked out after some confusion we were told there was no cost ?
On the plus side, the views from the hotel are splendid, the food excellent and the staff superb. We have to give a special mention to Giovanni, the restaurant Maitre d' who was briiliant but we found all the staff very friendly and very helpful. The food is some of the best we have had on holiday but sometimes at dinner the salad bar dishes were left empty for some time and not re-filled quickly enough. Whilst the food is excellent, the main courses are small in size but you get a good size starter, which again seems like 'money grabbing' giving more of the cheaper ingredients in the starters, and the desserts are good. Breakfast was good but not adventurous. Lunch was good and although sandwiches etc. were expensive you get a good size portion and very good quality. The a la carte menu is expensive and you get no discount if you are on half board having already paid for a meal - this is totally unreasonable and another example of 'money grabbing'. Lunch in the bar right across the road is much cheaper with sandwiches less than half the price but they are no where near as nice. Drinks in the hotel are expensive and again much cheaper in the bar opposite or to buy in the supermarket and drink on the balcony. We accept that this is to be expected but it is a great shame that the hotel does not reduce its drink prices which would encourage more people to stay in the hotel, particularly in the evenings, and improve the atmosphere. The hotel does have some 'happy hours' but knocking just 15% off a gin and tonic costing 10.5 euros doesn't make much difference. We found the evenings in the hotel pretty boring but the centre of town is only a 10/15 walk away.
All in all, would we return ? - we would love to but would only do so if we were guaranteed a sea view room on one of the upper floors.

Room Tip: Try to ensure a sea view room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We have stayed in Sorrento six times as we enjoy exploring the many wonderful places in the town and the surrounding areas. We have stayed at some fantastic hotels there and this time chose The Grand Hotel Ambasciatore as we had visited it in the past and knew it to be an elegant and gentile hotel; a beautiful place to celebrate our wedding anniversary.We were not disappointed.

We arrived late evening in torrential rain and were given the warmest welcome. We were requested to leave our cases and go straight to the restaurant as we were just in time for a meal. Our holiday started well with the most delicious meals served by very friendly and attentive waiters.

Our room was spacious and comfortable.The maid was friendly and helpful. The decor was lovely and there was adequate storage space. The bathroom was clean with large towels and lots of toiletries.

The hotel itself is beautiful with comfy furniture to relax in. The gardens are pretty and the pool area very clean and compact. There is a fantastic bathing area overhanging the sea; a perfect place to while away the time.

The best parts of all -for us- was the quality of the food and the excellent service in the restaurant. The waiters must have been getting very tired as they were coming to the end of the season, but every one of them was superb - very professional and extremely cheerful. The chefs were first class and every meal was proudly served, beautifully presented and totally delicious. There was an extensive wine list, and the Maitre D' was helpful in his recommendations.

This is a hotel for adults who enjoy an understated elegance. Some low key entertainment is provided. We were looking for peace and relaxation and this is what we got.

To all at The Grand Hotel Ambasciatori we say a huge thank you for your welcome and hospitality.

Room Tip: As the hotel is right on a very busy road ,rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter and have bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marfordtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DONCASTER
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Having had a bad year my wife and I decided to have a week doing nothing somewhere warm, and we picked Sorrento. I researched many of the local hotels and we picked the Ambasciatore largely based on positive feedback. It was an excellent choice. The hotel is extremely well appointed and is, as many others have pointed out, in a great location right on the cliff top with excellent views and yet within easy walking distance of the centre. Our room was elegantly and tastefully furnished, as were all the public areas. The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. We had booked half board with the intention of eating out a couple of times in the evening however we never did so because the food was so good that it would have seemed perverse to go elsewhere. I had intended to eat sparingly, as I am carrying quite a lot of excess poundage, but this was a vain hope. Beautiful resort and a brilliant hotel. Just don't forget the mosquito repellant!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLDBRITDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We got married in September 2012 and booked Hotel Ambasciatori for our honeymoon. While we booked this hotel through our travel agent, we investigated the hotel on the net mainly through trip advisor. The travel agent spoke highly of it and subsequently 3 work colleagues stayed there and recommended it.

The Hotel Ambasciatori didn't disappoint and has a real wow factor. When you walk into the hotel lobbey its decadent, spacious and bright. Our hotel room was on the top floor. We paid extra for a balcony with a sea view and view of Mount Vesuvius. Every morning we woke up to sound of the sea and could see all the cruise liners pulling in and out. At the weekend we watched the fireworks display.

Food in the hotel is excellent. We were half board and had a choice of menu every evening and the buffet breakfast has everything from ham, cheeses, pastries, cereal, fry to freshly made crepes from the chef.

The pool has its own private restaurant, so you can leave your lounger to eat by the pool in your swin gear and then return later. Staff are lovely, very helpful, polite and go out of their way to help you in any way they can.

The hotel is about a ten minute walk from Sorrento town which is perfect as its full of the hustle and bustle but the hotel is lovely to go back to and just relax and get away from it all. Sorrento is really romantic and really is for couples, newlyweds or wedding anniversary holidays. Its not really a holiday for the kids.

We would recommend this hotel and cannot wait to go back. Everything you read about it that is good is true.

Room Tip: Pack some outfits for dining in the restaurant in the evening - smart casual for the men (not suits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed here on a tour. Sea view room was delightful. Food, staff, service, breakfast; Cannot complain about anything here, will not dissappoint...............................................................

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing