We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity in Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Serenity in Sorrento”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Great value hotel, with amazing old charm beauty..the location on the cliff is stunning.I loved spending hours on the hotel gardens, enjoying gorgeous spring weather with a mesmerizing scent of orange blossoms all around. I will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony facing the see are exquisite, with great sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaboub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    258
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
302
905
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel with Citalia at the beginning of September 2012. The hotel is lovely, very clean and well maintained and a large percentage of the staff extremely helpful and friendly. We had a side sea view room which was satisfactory but not luxurious.

We had a couple of issues:- we were charged 1.50 euro per night for use of safe in the room which we felt was a little excessive. Also there is no free Wi-Fi in the hotel.
One night there was no table for us at dinner so we were asked to wait in the bar until a table became available. Over three-quarters of an hour later we were still waiting! Eventually Marco, a very helpful member of staff at the hotel, alerted the Restaurant to this and we were shown to a table. It would have been appreciated if we had
a) been offered a drink in the bar or
b) wine in the restaurant at no charge, as a gesture of an apology for their oversight, but this unfortuantely didn't happen.

One point we would make if you are considering staying at this hotel is that while we were there for 7 nights there were at least 3 weddings taking place which we found quite intrusive when wanting to sit on the balcony for some quiet time as children attending the wedding were running and screaming around the pool completely unchecked.

Also, the hotel is a good 15 minute walk into the centre of Sorrento which we didn't mind at all but some less mobile guests may want to take this into consideration.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LoveLucca62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The Ambasciatori has had a facelift of the public areas - it's much brighter with drapes removed from windows and white paint. The rooms are as lovely as ever - especially if you spring for a room with a balcony. The service continues to be exemplary at the front desk, in the restaurant and at the pool bar. Breakfast is a wonderful buffet with the opportunity to sit outside overlooking cruise ships with Vesuvius in the distance. They have created a numer of dining experiences. With the hotel being a bit of a walk from town, I can see how guests would really enjoy it. We didn't attend any of the dinners, but there were large numbers of guests there. The evening entertainment is a nice touch too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Festina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori for two nights in October as part of a Viator tour to Pompeii, Naples, Sorrento and Capri. As part of a tour group we didn't get the best room of course but it was quite a good room. From our balcony we had a peek-a-boo view of the outdoor pool and the sea. The hotel's public areas reflect a classic European resort with oversuffed sofas and chairs opening onto a large and beautifully landscaped patio overlooking the sea. The hotel is built on a cliff and the views are spectacular. Nearly a hundred feet below on the water is a sun deck for lounging.
The room we had was nicely decorated in a traditional manner. Of the five hotels we stayed in Italy this hotel had the best choice of English speaking channels. Of course, we were not in our room very much except for sleeping but it is nice to come back to the room and watch the news or a bit of an entertaing program.
Breakfast and dinner were both included in our package. The breakfast was buffet style and quite good. The dinner included a choice of appetizers/soups, etc., the choice of about six entrees and a selection of deserts. The food was very good and the service was excellent, comparable to the service on a good cruise ship. There is nightly entertainment in the bar as well.
The hotel is a ten minute walk from the shopping area in Sorrento but you might as well be miles away when you are looking out to the sea from the hotel's large patio. To sum it up, there is a sense of relaxed sophisitication at this resort hotel.

Room Tip: I don't know about the noise factor if you are located in a room near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattletheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed at the Ambasciatori in October 2012 for 4 nights. What a beautiful place! Sorrento is a slice of heaven. Hotel location is one of the most picturesque places I have stayed. Watching the sunset from our balcony was breathtaking. We had an extra large balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples. The only complaint I could have about the room is that the bathroom was a bit dated. It is a nice walk into town to enjoy shopping and restaurants. The hotel grounds are fantastic, pool water was a bit on the cold side, and we experienced a lot of biting flies while we sunbathed on afternoon. Breakfast was excellent, with a lot of variety and the happiest people working the egg station. We enjoyed an a la carte dinner out on the patio one night.While the menu is pricey, it was well worth it. Try to risotto! Best I have ever tasted.
Free internet access in our room.
This is not a cheap hotel - but it is a great place to stay. We will go back.
Another small thing to note - with the prices we were paying for our stay there ---we were stunned to learn that we had to pay for a bucket of ice!! I refused to pay for it, so they did allow me to have two glasses of ice.

Room Tip: Sea view room is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karentitanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Visited the hotel in June 2012 with my wife which we chose largely based on previous reviews and we were not disappointed. Our particluar highlight was the food,excellent choice at breakfast and we did not have a bad meal in the evening and the "Gala Eveing " was very impressive. The selection of wines was adequate and not overpriced. Seafood dishes our favourites. Staff in the restaurant and the bar good, especially Genaro and Tony. With regard to the room, the interior was of a good quality and very clean but we would definitely make sure we had a sea view next time as we were roadside and missed not having a balacony with a view to wind down on. We always managed to get sunbeds either by the pool or on the deck.Waiter service for drinks by both good,food by the deck was disappointing, much better by the pool. Reception is functional and found the reception staff the least amiable and were not able to offer any room facilities for a late check out, "hotel full " tough luck basically. Overall a good quality hotel with great food and a nice ambience, we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pistols12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

We spent our two week honeymoon here.....it was a truly unforgettable experience. We couldn't have asked for anything more from the hotel....... It looks beautiful and ornate, the staff are so polite and friendly and made us feel right at home. The food was absolutely stunning, we couldn't wait to see what we had to choose from every night..... Desserts were so delicious. The landing platform is just idyllic looking out across the bay with an awesome view of mount Vesuvius and the gardens around the hotel are pretty and well maintained. Even the snack bar by the pool in the day offered such a good choice of food.....not just limited to a ham toastie. The location on the cliff top is fantastic and we'e so glad we upgraded to a sea view view, it just made the relaxing time in the room much more picturesque. It's only a ten minute walk into the centre of sorrento so we had the best of both worlds...... A relaxing hotel location with a bustling centre just a short walk away. Loved their cocktail specials too! I don't usually return to the same hotel when I'm abroad but I know we'd go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,625 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing