We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic hotel, amazing views, convenient location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Romantic hotel, amazing views, convenient location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We visited Sorrento for our silver wedding anniversary and it was all we had hoped for. The hotel is beautiful inside and at mealtimes the view of Vesuvius and the bay of Naples was stunning! The staff were always helpful and pleasant. Sitting by the pool on the clifftop was idealic and again there were great views of the bay. It was lovely to be able to get the lift down to the private "beach" (decking) where we swam in the sea and then sat for a very pleasant lunch. Service was excellent. Totally perfect! We had half board and enjoyed all our meals which were varied and of a good standard. Our room was at the back (sea side) of the hotel and again the view was amazing. We had one of the lower level rooms and the room and bathroom seemed a little "tired" but comfortable and very clean. The hotel was located a pleasant 10 minute walk from the town centre. On our anniversary we took a fabulous cruise along the Amalfi coast - a great way to see this coast. We took public transport to Pompei which was easy. There was a fantastic Ice cream parlor in Sorrento which we visited daily!

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying for the sea view and balcony especially as this was our special anniversary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    249
    56
    23
    14
See reviews for
282
862
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed here briefly during my trip in Italy while meeting some friends. The rooms were dated, but had a good amount of room which was great. The lobby was beautiful and had a scenic view of the water which made the morning breakfast a nice treat. The buffet was better than others we had in Italy which was nice. We spent one evening dining on the terrace (which is very pricey) with a private butler/waitor (whatever you want to call him). It was a great sunset experience overlooking the water that it was one of the best moments we had. The dessert was amazing. I really should upload some photos of this which I will try to do soon. Getting to the hotel we took a taxi which took only a few minutes, however, the drivers all charge the same amount no matter how far your hotel is from the train station. Overall, this was a nice place to stay while in Sorrento. It was close to downtown as we walked from our hotel into town and was nice not have to use a taxi.

Room Tip: Request view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveldoc555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

One our first stay we had a wonderful full sea view. This time around we stayed in the cheap seats, in one of the rooms overlooking the road. There was nothing to worry about as we couldn't hear a thing. The views from the terraces and dining room are spectacular.

The hotel had a bit of a facelift, but the staff were still the same, relaxed and always ready to help. It's only a 10 minute stroll to the centre of Sorrento.

The jetty is a great place to relax, read, swim, sunbathe, eat, drink...

I can't wait until we return for the third time!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fireystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

What can I say. No complaints, but then again we were on honeymoon. Incredible sea views from a fabulous room. Presecco and fruit awaited us on arrival. Dining room has excellent views. Brilliant staff, could not do enough for us and all with a smile. No complaints with the food. While you are here you must travel down the amalfi coast and visit Positano, how beautiful, also visit Capri and Pompeii. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Book direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

This hotel was utterly breath taking!
We had a Premier Double Room with gorgeous sea views...the best hotel we could have wished for on our honeymoon! The room and hotel in general were immaculate.
We were shown to our room by a very friendly member of staff where we found a bottle of Prosecco on ice.
From check in to check out every member of staff were friendly, courteous and extremely helpful.
The food was of an extremely high standard with a buffet breakfast that included omlettes cooked on request. The evening menu's changed on a daily basis but never failed to impress.
The hotel grounds including private jetty to the sea were perfect and the hotel itself was in a great location, taking just a short walk to reach Sorrento centre and harbours.
Over all we would definitely recommend this hotel and we can't wait for an excuse to be able to stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Lovely hotel, room good, clean etc however two main plus points for hotel are the bathing/ sun platform and the outdoor dining terrace.

Straight down in a lift through the cliffs to the large platform - much better than a swimming pool - good service from the bar down there too!

Food was of a very high standard at breakfast and diner - but the a la carte food was exceptional with a view over the cliffs out to sea and Naples in the distance - fabulous!

Room Tip: We had side sea view was fine , some rooms may face road so check
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Great value hotel, with amazing old charm beauty..the location on the cliff is stunning.I loved spending hours on the hotel gardens, enjoying gorgeous spring weather with a mesmerizing scent of orange blossoms all around. I will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony facing the see are exquisite, with great sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaboub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing