We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty spectacular hotel in a stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pretty spectacular hotel in a stunning location”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Visited the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori end of May for a long weekend. The journey from the airport through Naples is pretty depressing but as you climb to reach Sorrento the views are to die for. Hotel situated on a hairy bend with no drop off zone, cars/taxis have to pull in on the opposite side and you have to navigate the road with care!. Very efficient check in and we were given an upgrade - which was great. Suite was lovely, loads of space to hang/store clothes, comfy bed, very clean, large shower. Spectacular balcony with chairs, table, sun beds and jacuzzi. Breakfast good- check out the homemade marmalade - delicious, quick, efficient egg station. We opted for the meal deal, lovely food and lots to choose from. I will say, if an amuse bouche is served then it would be a good idea to explain to the participants what they are eating, the waiters failed to do this on two occasions! The only other downside was the bath in the bathroom did not dispense hot enough water too bathe in, there was clearly something wrong with the lever that delivers the water. I did make the front desk aware of this but they did not act on this complaint. If I had paid full price for this suite, I would have been disappointed. The weather was a little cool when we visited and it would have been lovely to soak in a hot bath before dinner. Friends stayed in the suite next door and did not have any problems with the temperature of their water. To end on a positive note - all staff from the waiters, bar tenders, gardener etc are a credit to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donmat1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spending your time to write your nice review, we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
The location is certainly great, just 10 minutes walking to the beautiful town centre, but at the same time away from the city chaos.
We are pleased you appreciated our rooms, the restaurant, the quality of our dishes, the services offered by our hotel, the courtesy and the friendliness of our staff.

We apologize for the inconvenience occurred; we can assure our Staff promptly warned the maintenance to provide. Maybe it took longer than expected, that's why a room change was also offered , but you preferred to stay as you liked the room very much.
We really care for Customers satisfaction and wish you will return very soon for an even better experience

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,142
    266
    59
    23
    14
See reviews for
316
914
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanklin, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Spent 4 nights in a sea-facing room, following 3 nights in Rome. We had a delightful stay, staff very helpful, and the food was delicious. Glad we upgraded as the room was on a corner, plenty of space, and a lovely en-suite bath and shower. Everything worked, very tidy and fresh and clean. Electronic shutters which could be opened bed-side were a nice touch. Breakfast had plenty of choice and the evening restaurant had a warm atmosphere with far reaching views over the bay to Vesuvius. Food first rate although we only had one evening in the hotel as we like to explore the local towns. Easy walk into Sorrento for plenty of bars and eateries of a wide range in price and standards. Beach and pontoon very comfortable for resting with a bar for drinks and snacks. The pool seemed a little disappointing, but everywhere is tight on space in this region, and all the hotel pools looked rather small. We would love to go back, but rarely visit the same place twice!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the nice review ;
We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that you appreciated the comfort of our rooms, the restaurant, the quality of our food, and the atmosphere offered by our hotel.
Thank you on behalf of our Staff and hopefully you'll be back for a second time.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Have recently returned from a weeks stay at the The Ambasciatori and have nothing but praise for the hotel management and staff. It is an extremely professionally run hotel with standards of service that are sadly lacking in many 4 star hotels these days. Choice of room is very important as we had a beautiful recently refurbished full sea view room with an uninterrupted view across the Bay of Naples to Mount Versuvius. Unless you are on a strict budget avoid the rooms facing inland as I imagine they would suffer with traffic noise. Service around the pool and restaurant was first class and the restaurant experience could truly be described as ' Fine Dining ' All in all an excellent and memorable holiday

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest

We wish to thank you for choosing us, for sharing your positive experience with this review,
and most of all thank you from all the Staff for your nice words.

We hope to welcome you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just back after a fabulous week in The Ambasciatori Hotel in Sorrento. The staff are wonderful, the food brilliant. Above all- beach was fantastic. We want to go back now, but unfortunately reality beckons!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buadhach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori;
our Staff, our Restaurant and our beach are already waiting for your return to cuddle you once again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Hotel Ambasciatori, May 24 – 28, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful hotels in Sorrento and the views are spectacular. An artist friend actually painted me a picture of the hotel from a photo after my first visit because I raved about it so much. But be very careful when booking this hotel. The description of a “superior” room states that there is a garden and partial sea view. That is what we had on our first visit and what I booked again for $400. per night. What we got was a room overlooking the next door pool, parking lot and a roadway. We were offered another larger room but with a worse view and told that only deluxe rooms had the garden/sea view. It was a huge disappointment. There have been other cuts and changes that have lowered the value of this hotel in my opinion. Last time we could sit at the window in the fabulous dining room at breakfast to enjoy the view. Now those tables are blocked and only available at dinner. The breakfast still offers a large selection but gone are the freshly baked assorted croissants, replaced by store bought sweets. The chafing dish items were cold by 8 am. Also gone is live music in the piano bar, except on Thursday nights, the fine linen hand towels and pansy boxes on the balconies. Small things but all are evidence of cutbacks even though the prices have almost doubled for the same time period over the past three years. Still a beautiful hotel but not the value it once was.

Room Tip: You need to book a deluxe room now to get the preferred garden/sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimbledon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed here for my wedding anniversary and loved it a week wasn't long enough!
The staff are attentive without being overbearing. Food lovely plenty of choice. Amazing views. Central enough to town centre without being too close as centre very busy but only a 10 minute wander with lovely views on the way.
The only thing I was disappointed with was the pool was absolutely freezing but I assume at the beginning of the season it hasn't had the chance to warm up and listening to guests at other hotels this seemed to be the case for most if the pools this time of year.
Would/will defiantly return to this hotel.
Rooms a good size. Plenty of wardrobe space. No irons or kettles provided (hotel said due to health & safety) so bring your own. The hotel does have a dry cleaning & ironing service and does have room service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori with Trip Advisor Community and for writing such a lovely review.
We are glad to learn that you appreciated the courtesy and professionalism of our staff.

We hope you 'll be back soon
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I cannot praise this hotel enough. It is the second time I have stayed there and it more than lived up to expectations. The hotel staff were , without exception, helpful and friendly, the rooms clean and spacious and the view across the bay to Vesuvius outstanding. The hotel is a 10 minute level walk from the main square ,in a quiet location. The walk to the station , with trains to Pompey and Herculaneum, takes even less time.We had 3 evening meals in the hotel restaurant and were more than happy with the quality of the food and the price!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Customers' satisfaction is our main attitude and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our staff is so thankful for mentioning their attitude towards you during your stay.
We have appreciated all your positive comments on the hotel and we hope to see you soon at the “Ambasciatori”.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,087 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,659 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing