We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Found this Hotel by googling and what a gem!
Centrally located, a 15-20 minute walk to the port to board a boat to the Isle of Capri.
Less then 10 minute walk to Sorrento city center and 5 minutes to the nearest BancoMat.
We spent 7 nights at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori (wish it was more)
We booked 2 tours online through the hotel beforehand and at check-in, the very professional and friendly concierge was on top of it. Even booked the 3rd tour right then!
Recommend splurging for the room with a bay view and Mt. Vesuvius.
Our room had to be 300 feet above the sea (5th floor)-there are lower level floors, as well as a very "healthy" walk down the stairs to the beach dock. (Elevator is also available)
Not only was the food exceptional, but so was the service!
The gardens are beautiful, there was an abundant amount of places to relax, smoke, drink and eat.
We are already thinking of returning next May with our son and daughter-in-law.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to learn that you were pleased with your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori and appreciated the courtesy and professionalism of our staff.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you again
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,110
    255
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
299
890
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

From the moment we went thru the doors of the hotel we were made to feel extremely welcome,everyone was so friendly and the bell boy took our bags straight up to our room whilst they had kept the restaurant open for us as we arrived late,the service was second to none in all respects from management to housekeeping,the room was immaculate and very large overlooking the sea,just gorgeous views from our balcony too
We were independent travellers with a hired car and the concierge was very helpful with suggestions of day trips etc....
We had an absolute 5* experience

Room Tip: Rooms with the sea view spectacular . The C floor rooms have just been refurbished and just beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mk1613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review that literally make us feel proud of running the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori.
We feel totally gratified when we read comments like yours because the Guests satisfaction is our main aim.
It was a real pleasure to welcoming you and we look forward to a future occasion.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We returned from a truly exceptional full week holiday at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori in May. Looking back in trying to decide where would stay in Sorrento - we were so glad we chose the Ambasciatori. The room was perfect - though not direct sea view, we were on the right side of the hotel with a peak a boo view of the ocean. The room was absolutely immaculate and the daily service exceptional. Ah, the breakfast room. What a great way to start the day! Delicious breakfast foods with outdoor or indoor dining. Omelettes made to order and yummy crepes. Each waiter, each server, each food preparer, showed so much care in their work. The grounds were beautiful and the views to the Marina and Mt. Vesuvius so relaxing. The seating on grounds compels you to sit, have a beverage, relax and take it all in. The Front Desk team is exceptional - professional and very helpful. Definitely attend one of their midweek special evenings with dinner and music - wonderful!! The walk in to town is pleasant and we found that we saw different things as we took different routes. We enjoyed being away from the hustle and bustle of town and yet close enough to walk to everything. Working in the hospitality industry, I was so impressed by the care and attention that was given to every detail of our stay.We are already dreaming of a return some day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reporting that the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori is an excellent hotel.
We do our best to improve the hospitality we offer; our Staff is really genuine, smiling and willing to maintain high the standards of the Hotel.
Thanks again for this review, good comments are always welcome
we are all very proud of your words.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Visited the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori end of May for a long weekend. The journey from the airport through Naples is pretty depressing but as you climb to reach Sorrento the views are to die for. Hotel situated on a hairy bend with no drop off zone, cars/taxis have to pull in on the opposite side and you have to navigate the road with care!. Very efficient check in and we were given an upgrade - which was great. Suite was lovely, loads of space to hang/store clothes, comfy bed, very clean, large shower. Spectacular balcony with chairs, table, sun beds and jacuzzi. Breakfast good- check out the homemade marmalade - delicious, quick, efficient egg station. We opted for the meal deal, lovely food and lots to choose from. I will say, if an amuse bouche is served then it would be a good idea to explain to the participants what they are eating, the waiters failed to do this on two occasions! The only other downside was the bath in the bathroom did not dispense hot enough water too bathe in, there was clearly something wrong with the lever that delivers the water. I did make the front desk aware of this but they did not act on this complaint. If I had paid full price for this suite, I would have been disappointed. The weather was a little cool when we visited and it would have been lovely to soak in a hot bath before dinner. Friends stayed in the suite next door and did not have any problems with the temperature of their water. To end on a positive note - all staff from the waiters, bar tenders, gardener etc are a credit to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donmat1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spending your time to write your nice review, we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
The location is certainly great, just 10 minutes walking to the beautiful town centre, but at the same time away from the city chaos.
We are pleased you appreciated our rooms, the restaurant, the quality of our dishes, the services offered by our hotel, the courtesy and the friendliness of our staff.

We apologize for the inconvenience occurred; we can assure our Staff promptly warned the maintenance to provide. Maybe it took longer than expected, that's why a room change was also offered , but you preferred to stay as you liked the room very much.
We really care for Customers satisfaction and wish you will return very soon for an even better experience

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanklin, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Spent 4 nights in a sea-facing room, following 3 nights in Rome. We had a delightful stay, staff very helpful, and the food was delicious. Glad we upgraded as the room was on a corner, plenty of space, and a lovely en-suite bath and shower. Everything worked, very tidy and fresh and clean. Electronic shutters which could be opened bed-side were a nice touch. Breakfast had plenty of choice and the evening restaurant had a warm atmosphere with far reaching views over the bay to Vesuvius. Food first rate although we only had one evening in the hotel as we like to explore the local towns. Easy walk into Sorrento for plenty of bars and eateries of a wide range in price and standards. Beach and pontoon very comfortable for resting with a bar for drinks and snacks. The pool seemed a little disappointing, but everywhere is tight on space in this region, and all the hotel pools looked rather small. We would love to go back, but rarely visit the same place twice!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the nice review ;
We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that you appreciated the comfort of our rooms, the restaurant, the quality of our food, and the atmosphere offered by our hotel.
Thank you on behalf of our Staff and hopefully you'll be back for a second time.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Have recently returned from a weeks stay at the The Ambasciatori and have nothing but praise for the hotel management and staff. It is an extremely professionally run hotel with standards of service that are sadly lacking in many 4 star hotels these days. Choice of room is very important as we had a beautiful recently refurbished full sea view room with an uninterrupted view across the Bay of Naples to Mount Versuvius. Unless you are on a strict budget avoid the rooms facing inland as I imagine they would suffer with traffic noise. Service around the pool and restaurant was first class and the restaurant experience could truly be described as ' Fine Dining ' All in all an excellent and memorable holiday

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest

We wish to thank you for choosing us, for sharing your positive experience with this review,
and most of all thank you from all the Staff for your nice words.

We hope to welcome you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just back after a fabulous week in The Ambasciatori Hotel in Sorrento. The staff are wonderful, the food brilliant. Above all- beach was fantastic. We want to go back now, but unfortunately reality beckons!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buadhach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori;
our Staff, our Restaurant and our beach are already waiting for your return to cuddle you once again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing