We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

For a short break in early summer this is an ideal place to spend a few days. The hotel is easy to get to, has a friendly atmosphere, rooms comfortable and clean. The menu is interesting and varied and the food is cooked extremely well. Staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating. The hotel is in a very scenic area but when we were there the sea by the lido was polluted so didn't swim. This is the third year we have been back to the Ambasciatori in Sorrento and will return again next year.
Try it for yourself it worth it.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view of the sea. Side view is good as you don't get the breeze off the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Guest

We are pleased that also this third experience at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori left you with good memories and that once again we were up to your expectations.
We are sorry you could not enjoy the sea, but because of heavy rains and strong storms that we had until almost the end of May in the sea there still were debris came down from the coast,
however we tried our best to clean up as soon as possible, within our possibility.

We look forward to welcome you once again and send you our
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,146
    267
    60
    23
    14
See reviews for
317
918
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

When we booked the hotel we paid for bed and breakfast, but on arriving at the hotel, we were informed we were half board. We went to our room which was spotlessly clean, modern and spacious and checked our paperwork, which stated bed and breakfast. We went to the reception and checked twice more on what board we booked, only to be told by two different staff that we were half board. Upon booking out of the hotel after a fantastic stay I was given a food bill for 300 euros (for two people four nights), The food was very good, some of the best I've eaten and well worth the 300 euros, but the reception staff should of got this one right.
Other than that, the hotel was lovely, hotel gardens beautiful (lots of little romantic spots), the cleaners, restaurant staff and bar staff were all very helpful, accommodating and pleasant.
I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again but I would be sticking with my paperwork on our board status next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank william a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Staying at this hotel was like a dream come true for us, the staff was wonderful, the room gorgeous and the views from our terrace of the bay were breath-taking. We're already planning to return when I retire in a few years.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jnf60201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for this nice review, your words are the right mordant for our work,
thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori and for being with us.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This was one of the best hotels I have ever been to. The decking area near the sea was relaxing and cool. The staff were attentive and friendly, we got upgraded to the sea view room and the view was breathtaking and the rooms were spotless and comfortable. The town itself was buzzing and full of new restaurants and things to try. Try the long island cocktail and the food was delicious, especially the pool bar which serves the nicest lunches and milkshakes!

Room Tip: Get the Sea view room, it is a little more expensive but the view will make up for everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Guest

We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori and that you appreciated the comfort of our rooms, the restaurant, the quality of our food, and the atmosphere offered by our hotel.
Thank you also on behalf of our Staff .
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We have just returned from staying 12 days on HB at this hotel.

We booked a garden view room and were also very pleased to have a view of the sea. The rooms are immaculate, clean, light and airy with well equipped bathrooms. The chambermaid ensured that the room was kept in an exceptional condition on a daily basis.

The food was amazing. We arrived late and the restaurant had been kept open. There is a huge selection and variety at the buffet breakfast, fresh fruits, cereals, cooked breakfasts, home-made
pastries, cheeses, meats etc. The evening meal was "fine dining" with choices from a daily menu, chef's recommendation or the a la carte menu. This coupled with the very attentive and professional restaurant staff made eating here feel like a special occasion. We are really pleased we booked HB. In comparison to other restaurants offering the same standard of food this hotel was excellent value.

The reception rooms in the hotel were immaculate. The indoor areas, the pool, the decking area by the sea and the gardens were fabulous.

The town centre was a pleasant ten minute walk away with no inclines and with views across the
bay.

On a final note, all the staff are a huge credit to this hotel. They really do try to make your visit as enjoyable as possible. We would highly recommend this hotel and would not consider staying anywhere else in Sorrento.

Thank you to all at the hotel who made this visit truly special.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you for spending your time in writing this nice review.
The location is certainly great, it is a point of strenght for us; just 10 minutes walk from the beautiful town centre, but at the same time away from the city chaos.
Once in Hotel, you can only apprecite the calm of our beautiful garden, the breathtaking views of the Golf of Naples and the culinary delights of our Restaurant.

Wish you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. The hotel is let down by very poor management - the service is non existent. Staff do not appear to be interested in assisting and are quite rude and unhelpful. Breakfast is sub-standard, you have to make your own tea, options are limited, and the waiters are non- attentive. It's a shame as the hotel location and building are very good, a change of ownership or management is really needed here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nish p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We are terribly sorry to know you left our Hotel with such a great disappointment,
Your words leave us astonished as your review is the only one so negative among hundreds positive. Our Staff is really attentive to Customers needs and always runs out of his way to satisfy
all the requests. We hope you‘ll be back one day, and hopefully you’ll give us the chance to redeem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, this time with sons and girlfriends in their 20s.
The hotel was beautiful before, but the refurbishment that has taken place since our last visit has improved and updated the reception and bar area greatly.
The rooms are well appointed and serviced excellently by the daily maid service. Little extras, like a choice of pillow is very welcome.
The staff at the concierge desk and in the restaurant and bars are very friendly and professional. Should you wish to garage cars here, there is a charge and getting into and out of the gates is an experience in itself, but the staff are willing to help.
There is a short, 10 minute walk into Sorrento, but a bus service is available just beside the hotel.
One suggestion for improvement would be the provision of mattresses for the sun beds beside the pool and down at the deck over the sea. We had suggested this after our last visit and were disappointed to see the same uncomfortable sun beds still in use.
We enjoyed our stay here, and would return
I would recommend this beautiful hotel in it's convenient location.

Room Tip: Some less expensive rooms are below street level, built into the cliffs, with windows opening onto a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for coming back to the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori.
We are glad to know you liked and appreciate the refurbishment of these last years.
We alway try to improve ourselves and to give our Customers the maximum comfort, in the service and facilities.
We hope you will be back again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,092 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,663 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing