We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Exceptional Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Here is an email I sent to the Hotel:

We are now home after the most enjoyable and fantastic holiday. I am so very proud to be Italian and to enjoy with my English partner the beautiful Sorrento and Amalfi coast was for me an unforgettable experience. I cannot convey enough just how wonderful Ambasciatori hotel is. The staff are so professional whilst maintaining excellent friendly communications with the guests at all time. You all excelled and triumphed as the beautiful Italian people you are, and i cannot thank you enough for making our holiday so amazing. We hope very much to return to you next year. Baci e tutti
thank you all from our hearts
Carmelo

Room Tip: Room with a Sea View if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hstaunton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Sig. Carmelo

We wish to thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Amabasciatori and for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor.
Thank you on behalf of our Staff for all your nice words.
We hope to welcome you again very soon

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

We had a wonderful week in this magnificent hotel. It exceeded our hopes and expectations by being efficient and professional but with a relaxed and friendly staff. The location was spectacular with stunning views over the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius which we enjoyed from our balcony and from most other locations in the dining areas inside and out in the surrounding gardens.
Our very favourite area was the 'Beach', which was an immaculate wooden pontoon for sunbathing and swimming with a beach bar for drinks or light lunch all looked after a charming Barman who couldn't have been more helpful. I'm definitely back there A.S.A.P.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tillyrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to be now part of your good memories and that you enjoyed your first visit to Sorrento and to the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori.
Our beach pontoon is one of our point of strenght, it is an oasis of peace that only the hotel Guests can enjoy. Sipping a drink while watching the sea and the predominant Vesuvius, is a pleasure that has no price! We are pleased that you appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here for a week from 15th June on two recommendations .
I can not rate this Hotel highly enough it was a dream.
We had a wonderful room with clean bed linen and towels changed ever day , with a wonderful view of the beautiful gardens and side view of the sea, which we had already requested by upgrading our rooms before arrival.
The Hotel Staff are always happy and genuine and very attentive.
The breakfast was very very good with plenty to choice from everyday.
The walk into the centre is only about 10-15mins easy stroll if you can bear to leave your surroundings we will be repeat guests.

Room Tip: If you are able upgrade to a garden/ sea view it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your beautiful words and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are so glad to read that your stay with us exceeded your expectations
We will be more than pleased to welcome you again in the near future,
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This hotel, its location,its staff and the excellent food, makes this probably the best I have ever stayed at. See my reviews of i) The Chedi Muscat and ii) Colony Bay, Barbados which were both superb, but I think the Ambascatori beats them overall.
The rooms with their little balcony's, ours was facing the sea, are a delight to sit out watching the ocean and viewing the surrounding countryside.
There was a large double bed which was very comfortable and the air conditioning very effective.
There is a nice little pool with a number of loungers, we never had a problem getting two, serviced by very friendly and efficient bar staff bringing drinks/snacks to you.

Excellent grounds with clifftop views of the Bay of Naples and of course Vesuvious.

But the best of all was the food and the restaurant location ,which was on the cliff facing out over the sea and from practically wherever you sat you got a fabulous view.
Every night we watched the sunset over the water,we were very lucky with the weather with wall to wall sunshine and no clouds, so of course the sunsets were unobscured.

BUT the food was incredible, we had half board- great value, with an enormous selection of meats, poultry, fee and pasta and I can say that every night was a feast.
Anyone who complains about this hotel are beyond satisfying.

Room Tip: A partial if not full seaview is really worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJC_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Customer

thank you for your review, so full of nice words and so detailed.
We are pleased to learn that you had a nice stay at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori and that you enjoyed our facilities in every detail. We pay great attention to the details and a devote special attention to our restaurant and our cuisine, which can suit every palate, with nouvelle cuisine specialties and traditional dishes, accompanied once a week, even by live music, with guitar and mandolin.
We are glad to be part of your good memories and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards
I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for a week, half board, at the end of May early June. This is quite a refined hotel in an ideal position and should have been perfect . The evening meal was a superb food experience, we loved the waiter service. All the dining room staff were attentive and very accommodating and the wide choice and quality of the food and wine excellent. The buffet breakfast choice was also good, small milk jugs to take to your table with pots of tea would be helpful. Lunchtime snack menu is also of a high standard and reasonably priced. We sampled this only once as we spent a lot of time sight seeing this fantastic area. The outdoor facilities are good with a small pool and various seating areas at ground floor level and a sun bathing deck and bar at sea level
We were very disappointed with the bedroom, Had we have been told that we would be overlooking the back of a football stadium stand we would not have booked. The room was quite cramped and natural light was limited. The bathroom was well appointed and bedroom furniture was classy. We knew that there was no facility for making a hot drink so came prepared.The balcony was very tiny and very public. Thomson , who we booked with had e- mailed the hotel before our arrival , I saw the e- mail, stating that due to my medical condition I needed to spend some time in the room or on a balcony.
We bumped into the Thomson rep by accident as the hotel reception staff had not given us any information on our arrival. She asked about a room change or even upgrade with additional payment, we had already paid £2600 for 2 people for a week, but were told the hotel was full.This seemed strange to us as it wasn`t evidenced by the number of people in the dining room, bar or outside areas.
The décor in the public rooms could be described as what people imagine typical classic Italian style. The hotel gleams .
Individual staff were very friendly and helpful. We felt that the hotel is managed more to meet their needs rather than the guest needs. If there are no problems then the hotel experience would be wonderful, but a hotel is judged by how good they are at responding to the problems experienced by a few. Another example of this when we checked in we were not told that a meal was available, and received a phone call from the dining room at 10 o`clock asking us if we were eating. Had we not have experience these problems we would most certainly come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Beware of standard rooms overlooking the back of the football stand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank head29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had a gorgeous trip to Sorrento and the surrounding area. This hotel is fabulous! We stayed here after it was recommended to us and we totally understood why. The staff were all very attentive and friendly, they made staying here all the more pleasant. Wonderful food, wine and scenery. The view from our balcony was breath-taking. The weather in mid April was beautiful, just what we wanted. The garden and pool area are lovely, a great place to relax and enjoy a drink and the wonderful mozzarella and tomato sandwiches. Another special touch is that they don't just have a room service menu...they also have a cake and champagne menu! We will definitely be returning to the same hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orcalesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your nice review.
We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciate our pool area and our garden of which we are very proud of. We always take good care of our facilities, trying to get the maximum comfort for our guests and to create a magic atmospher for every single moment spent with us, it is for this reason that we have also a cake & champagne menu, to make single occasions and special occasions really unforgettable.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

As this was our first holiday without children and grandchildren for 15 years it was important that our 2 weeks were special! The Ambasciatori did not disappoint. It is a wonderful hotel, sitting on the top of a cliff and 10 mins walk from the centre of Sorrento, with spectacular views of Vesuvius, the island of Ischia and evening sunsets across the Bay of Naples. It also has beautiful gardens with secluded spaces to sit, relax, read or have a drink, a delightful pool area with a lunch restaurant and access to swimming in the sea from a decking area reached by lift or steps. The staff were the friendliest, most courteous and professional we have encountered in many years, particularly in the dining room, at breakfast and dinner, where they were so ably led by Maitre d' Giovanni and his assistant Valentino and in the lounge bar where Tonino and Gennaro provided a faultless and cheerful service.

We stayed on a bed & breakfast basis because we wanted to sample the night life and restaurants in Sorrento, which we did, but undoubtedly the best food and service we had was in the hotel where we dined on 8 of our 14 nights, always outside where we witnessed some spectacular sunsets. I would be inclined to stay on a half board basis in future.


We had a room at the front of the hotel facing the road and if we return we would definitely have a room with a sea or garden view, which although more expensive would be worth the extra cost. The room was kept immaculately clean by the maid, who was commendably unobtrusive.

My only criticism is of the lack of a courtesy room for use on the day of departure. We had to vacate our rooms at 1100 and didn't leave the hotel until 1730 and I consider it unreasonable not to have somewhere to change and shower.

PS It is a 10 min walk to the railway station from where Pompeii can be accessed on the Circumvesuviana line in 30 mins (€4.20 return) and Herculaneum in 40 mins (€4.40 return).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djroberts40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to learn that you were pleased with your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori and appreciated the courtesy and professionalism of our staff.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you again
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £178 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing