We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Newmarket
2 reviews
“Amazing hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in 2012 and have just returned after another amazing stay because why would you go anywhere else when you have everything you need here. The view from the dining room and terrace is breathtaking, whether it's breakfast overlooking the glistening blue bay or the evening with the twinkling lights of cruise ships and Naples in the distance. The staff are first class and are so attentive to your every need, whether it's a cold drink on the bathing platform or recommending a superb local wine at dinner. We chose to book half board because the food is SO...good, again why walk down to the centre of Sorrento when you can sit in the beautiful spacious gardens with a pre-dinner drink and relax. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We were lucky in 2012 as we had a bedroom overlooking the pool of the hotel next door, this year unf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suffolk_UkJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for been with us again.
We are glad to learn that once more we met your expectations, and that you enjoyed again the view from the dining room with the lights of cruise ships, the sea and the lights of Naples in the distance. It is definitely a breathtaking scenery, which never fails to fascinate also the natives.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    255
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
299
893
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Still at the hotel but wishing I was not.
Our idea about this hotel for the last five years is quiet, stress free relaxation. This hotel in anything but that this year.
An influx of children in a hotel we always believed was not suitabe for children has occurred and has forced us to be pushed out ofan area of the hotel we enjoy but cannot take the noise. The parents dont really care. They are hear for only five days and so why should they. I remember being told to play quietly as a child...I guess something has changed.
The road by the hotel makes the pool area noisy. mainly caused by motorbikes and scooters racing by.
So one would hope for peace in the room but that has gone also. I am not sure whether the door slamming that happens day and night is due to stupid selfish people or automatic door closers being poorly maintained and allowing the door to slam. The noise has to be heard to be believed.
We have spent the last days out of the hotel, as dont really want to be here any more, looking for hotels for next year. Sorrento is a great place to come to so just ned a different hotel.
The food is superb and the resturant is well run by the Maitre d Hotel who is a lovely person and is a credit to the hotel as are his staff.
Sadly the Food and beverage Manager named Gusieppe is not so good. Whilst he may good sat his job he allowed all of his bars to be unmanned including the bathing platform as a potential medical issue began. When challenged he assured me alòl his bars were fully manned but having just raced round them all that was most certianly not the case. Calling your customer a liar is not clever. The man on the bathing platform is the lifeguard and yet was awy from his post for nearly 45 minutes.
So sad this our last time...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happytraveller55880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We're sorry that this year your holiday has not been as beautiful as the other years.
It is true that this year, in the Hotel, there were some children, all pretty lively.
Many times we asked to stay calm and more than once we asked the parents’ cooperation, but … as you said, they are young as we were, and certainly we can not and do not want to prevent families with children to come to Sorrento.
Regarding the inconvenience occurred with the food & beverage Manager, there must have been a misunderstanding, and we are sorry you didn’t give us the opportunity to clarify and apology, whilst you were still here, but you preferred to review negatively your experience instead; We would never, ever allowed to miss of respect; it would not be polite and professional on our part.
On the other hand if it was not like this, we wouldn’t receive so many positive comments towards our Staff.
However we do apologize if you felt offended, but allow us to repeat that it was just a misunderstanding.
We hope to welcome you again in the future,
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The hotel was excellent in a superb location within easy walking distance to the harbour and the centre of Sorrento.The staff wer brilliant,nothing was too much trouble.Will certainly be going back next year.

Room Tip: Sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mirek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your nice words, we wait for your return.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed for 10-days in August and loved everything about the hotel, the staff, the food and the area. We chose deluxe rooms with sea views which were a reasonable size and well worth the additional cost for the fabulous views across the bay and out towards Ischia and Vesuvius. The area has a great mix of a good size bustling town in Sorrento, amazing coastal drive to Positano and Amlafi, the superbly preserved history of Herculaneum and Pompei and the overcrowded but nonetheless worth a trip Capri.

The Grand Ambasciatori has a great pool area set amongst a wonderful garden area with plenty of options to find a quiet corner to settle and read (aka sleep). The hotel has its own private 'beach' (beaches in this area are often a platform area with sunbeds and shades) and bathing area - again all excellent. The food at the hotel is really, really good - hotel food often becomes a bit dull but we were never bored and the quality and variety were superb. We thought we'd eat in a couple of times but it was so good we ended up eating in most nights!

Finally... the staff - absolutely excellent, particularly the restaurant staff; they made us really welcome, were always really friendly, always smart and always smiling.

Recommend to anyone - we will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review and for having spent you holidays here at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori in Sorrento.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your time with us: from the comfortable rooms which offer you a breathtaking view all over the Naples bay, to our lovely gardens, swimming pools and sunbathing areas which are the best places to relax and have a unforgettable time.
It’s a pleasure to see you did also enjoy our high-quality food and found the Staff polite and helpful .
Thank you also for highlighting the wonderful position of our hotel, which is just 10 minutes walking from the station so that you can easily move around by train and by bus and reach wonderful places such as Pompei, Herculaneum, Naplesand the Amalfi Coast.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon,
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This has to be one of the finest hotels in the world! The property is absolutely gorgeous with beautiful gardens and stunning views. Our room was very spacious and and beautifully decorated. And the service - outstanding. You couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review that literally makes us proud or running the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
We are truly delighted that you enjoyed the property overall, the staff, the central location, and the room decorated in traditional Sorrento inlay woodwork.

We wish to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This Hotel was superb.

The staff were first class, the food was excellent, and we certainly would go again. A real experience, with a wonderful atmosphere. This location was ideal for the harbour, with a short walk into the town of Sorrento.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view, but the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank djw131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for all your compliments about the location and the staff .
It is important for us to know that Guests feel relaxed at the Ambasciatori.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Our weeklong trip to Ambasciatori was to celebrate a joint retiral of granny and grandpa(we are very young!). Fantastic! Altogether we comprised a group of 8 aged from 2 to 55 and had a fantastic time. Rooms were clean and cool; views absolutely exceptional; pool was wonderful; sea swimming was easy and remarkably pleasant for even less confident swimmers. Gardens were a delight - shaded areas; lots of quiet spaces; our 2 year old enjoyed them a lot(We kept her away from the beach area as there was a lot less to do for a 2 year old). Staff are always the most important thing in a hotel and here they were impeccable(they love children and families) - even when they had a large wedding(which is always a possibility in a superior Italian hotel with a view) they still maintained the same high levels of service to hotel guests throughout the hotel. To our shame English was spoken very well(bars, pools, restaurant, reception and maids), but they can cope with other languages as well I am sure. And the restaurant - we booked in for "Table d'Hote" to be presented with what I can only describe as an extremely extensive menu with perhaps 20 choices for first and second courses and 10 for dessert(I thought it was the "A la Carte"!). And there was an extensive wine list. Unusually for an Italian hotel they actually delivered the diverse menu and wine list(there were eight of us) in an extremely punctual and visually attractive fashion - we ate there 5 nights out of 7; they have a discounted rate if you pre-book 3 meals and I would recommend this if you can do it. Location is 10 minutes from the Circumvesuviana train station; 10 minutes from Sorrento and all its restaurants and shops; taxi transfers from the airport were excellent, and given my experience of taxis in Napoli, very good value for money. Will definitely be back - possibly as a smaller group as it looked ideal for couples as well!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamnotabanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your nice review and for your nice words.
We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your party at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori and hope you will return one day.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing