We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here in September 2013 for 10 nights as part of a Kuoni wedding package. The hotel came highly recommended and it did not disappoint. The service, food, facilities, views, grounds, staff and atmosphere were all superb. Giuseppe, the events manager, made us feel like we were the only guests at the hotel, and he planned our evening wedding reception down to the smallest detail. He even managed to surprise us with an unexpected fireworks display at the end of the evening, which was the icing on the cake! Giovanni and his team of waiters were all fantastic, keeping our guests fed and watered throughout the evening without any hiccups or problems at all. It literally couldn't have gone any better. All of our guests (most of which weren't staying at the Ambasciatori) commented on how professional the staff were and how beautiful the grounds were.

Aside from the wedding reception, the hotel itself is a stunning venue. The view from our room (706 - we recommend it) was unbelievable, and the room itself met all of our needs. We ate in the restaurant on one of the "Sorrentine Evenings", where we ate a selection of local cuisine, and again this was superb. There were even local musicians that serenaded the room with classic Italian music.

All in all, we would highly recommend this hotel, either as a place to relax after a hard day's walking in Sorrento or as a place to celebrate a memorable wedding.

We can't thank everyone at the Ambasciatori enough for all they did to make our wedding and holiday the most memorable and happiest time of our lives. We will definitely be back! Grazie mille!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view room - the views are breathtaking looking out over the bay of Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prestonj85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    258
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
302
906
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

From the moment we walked into the Hotel our magical stay started. We recently stayed in September 2013
The service, staff, location and cleanliness were outstanding and then we went down to our rooms and were blown away. The suites were excellent, roomy, clean and the balconies large and spacious with a magnificent view. A pleasant slow flat stroll into Sorrento made it an even better location.
Great old fashioned service from staff who appeared to enjoy us staying at the hotel as much as we did
thank you again to every at the Ambasciatori - you have given us yet another reason to come back to Sorrento.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade to a suite -
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kirbs1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review that make the management proud or running the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
We feel totally gratified when we read reviews like yours because the customers’ satisfaction is our main aim in our daily duties.

Truly delighted that you enjoyed the property overall, the staff, the central location, and the room decorated in traditional Sorrento inlay woodwork.

It was a real pleasure to have the opportunity to welcoming you and we look forward to a next future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Ambasciarori in September 2013. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite with magnificent views from the balcony over the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. Breathtaking!
The staff were outstanding throughout our stay - we could not have asked for more.
Thank you all.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TechBoy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for telling your experience at the “Ambasciatori” on Tripadvisor.
We are very proud about your kind words; a strong message to enforce our will to do always better and offer to all our the guests a truly unique experience out of the time.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Everything in the Hotel was first rate, great location, 15 minute flat walk into Sorrento. spotlessly clean and extremely polite and helpful staff. Direct access to the sea from the ample decking area, great snack areas, old Italian feel, nice garden, nice pool, and excellent 5*service. The breakfast was fantastic and we have put on weight.!!
We choose this Hotel because of its location and direct access to the sea along with the excellent reviews. Our son was married in Sorrento, the Hotel Ambasciatori gave them a superb Full Sea view room and along with several friends, we all had great sea view rooms - thank you for making our son and his wife a holiday / honeymoon to remember, and for making the entire holiday a memorable experience. We will all be back :)

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the FULL Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting such a nice review that makes us feel really happy and proud for having been able to offer you a wonderful holiday.

We work hard everyday for our guests and when we receive a review like this, we really feel satisfied and encouraged to do more and more. On the other hand it’s a reason of pride for us to see you noticed the particular attention our Staff put in keeping the rooms and the whole hotel always clean and fresh.

It’s a pleasure to see that you appreciated the kindness of our staff and feel bold that you enjoyed the food in our wonderful restaurant which offers you a definitely huge choice of dishes from all over the world, exalting of course our gorgeous Italian kitchen.

Thank you for spending your holyday at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori,
Waiting for you to come back and feeling confident you will,
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Ambasciatori last year. It was wonderful and we couldn't resist returning this year. As last year, we could not fault anything. There had been changes which we felt were an improvement. We understand that the hotel now caters for B + B customers which has made the hotel feel even more relaxed. The menu is better, much more selection (we stayed half board). Our room was overlooking the road and was a little noisy but we enjoyed watching the football practice! Our room was immaculate as is the rest of the hotel. The staff are efficient, work incredibly hard and lots of fun. The view overlooking the bay is something out of a film, breathtaking. We arrived on Thursday and the evening meal was served outside, what a perfect start to the holiday. We hope we are able to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the road can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you so much for the precious time you have spent on commenting your last stay at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori.
We are so pleased to have had the chance to read such a beautiful comment as yours. We are so happy to know that you have once again appreciated the service, the wonderful staff and our great food. Indeed, this year, except for some strange comments, all our customers are delighted with our excellent dishes, the huge choice and improvements made to our restaurants.
We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Having scoured Sorrento in May 2013 for a dream location for our wedding reception, we stumbled across the magnificent Grand Hotel Ambasciatori. The views from their terrace of Mount Vesuvius across the beutiful sea drew us in and as we carried on walking further into the hotel through the numerous terraces overlooking the sea, we knew we had found our location. We met the incredible Giuseppe who proved to be the most helpful, efficient, pleasant and professional manager we have ever come across. This is no mean feat as my husband and I are well travelled and used to first class hotels.
When we returned this September for our wedding we stayed in the hotel for 5 nights. Our room was excellent, with a balcony overlooking the hotel's private beach, and it was kept spotless by the excellent chambermaids.
On the day of the wedding, our 27 guests were greeted with cocktails and canapés on the terrace, followed by a superb meal in the open top restaurant.
Nothing was too much trouble for us, our last minute request to change the seating arrangement was greeted with a smile and Giuseppe even accommodated our request to book a band we had heard the day before the wedding.
We also enjoyed the beach area and again nothing was too much trouble for the helpful staff in attendance.
We will certainly be returning and cannot recommend highly enough the Hotel as a venue for anyone marrying in Sorrento or for those seeking accommodation in Sorrento.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review,
We are extremely happy that your experience at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori exceeded your expectations and to be now part od your good memories.
We will pass your complimnts to Mr Giuseppe and to all the restaurant staff, they will appreciate for sure, as your satisfaction is our main goal.
We really look forward to welcoming you again,
kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have just had an 11 night stay at this hotel, from the 16th to the 27th September and enjoyed every minute. We went with friends and had two suites next to each other overlooking the Bay of Naples, Bliss! The staff were so helpful and friendly making the holiday even more special. We went on two trips booked through the hotel which included the Amalfi coast drive and a boat trip to Capri. Both these trips were excellent. My husband and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to return in the not too distant future. Gill and Keith Jones, Chester

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cormack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently following your recent stay with us.
On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did.
I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed the ambience throughout the Hotel and that you have appreciated our services.
I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,625 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing