We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rota Suites(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zi Teresa(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Tourist(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Capri(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,631)
Filter reviews
1,631 results
Traveller rating
1,244
285
63
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,244
285
63
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewthe cliffbay of naplesbeach barbathing platformprivate beachhotel groundssmall balconylovely hotelour honeymoonten minute walksun deckamazing viewshalf boardtown centrejunior suiteevery evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
776 - 781 of 1,631 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The property is really lovely, far enough from the crowds of Piazza Tasso, and my husband and I had a great room, large and stately, with unbeatable views of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. The physical property is breathtaking and serene, with lots of lovely gardens, and a quiet beach. Perfect for a relaxing vacation. However, the problem we had with this hotel was that it was not the most welcoming and hospitable to a gay couple. Every morning when we went to breakfast, we were pretty much ignored by the staff. Straight couples were eagerly greeted with a hearty bon giorno and promptly escorted to tables with a smile. We were ignored most days and seated ourselves. Because of this, we chose not to take any of our meals at the hotel, or spend additional euros for their special offers. In all fairness, the front desk was very helpful. The friendliest person that we encountered at the hotel was the chambermaid who always had a kind greeting for us. Due to a sense of uneasiness towards us evident in this hotel, and Sorrento in general, this may not be the most comfortable place for gay travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for posting your kind feedback following your recent stay with us.
We have appreciated all your positive comments on the hotel as the location, the great service,the nice decoration and so on..
We were disappointed to read that you felt that the Restaurant Staff did not, on this occasion, deliver the standard of excellence that so many of our customers have experienced previously; we will check on this.
We hope you will change your mind and that you’ll come back again to visit us, the way to give us the possibility to show you the real essence of the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Me and my wife stayed for 14 nights for are honeymoon. The hotel, it's staff, the location was amazing. We will 100% be staying again. Highly recommended and well worth the money. The food is first class, with great service. The alcohol is slightly expensive but when you are having a drink on the gorgeous terrace overlooking the sea you have to realise why it's expensive. The evening music, live by a singer and piano are first class. Buy far are most enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesgroom1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, there are no words to describe how grateful we are!
We are extremely happy that your experience at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori exceeded your expectations and we really look forward to welcoming you again,
kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

lovely clean hotel,short(5mins)walk from town center,old fashioned décor,but from the terraces & dining room fabulous views of the bay of Naples & mt Vesuvius .food was plentiful & delicious.Friends staying in a rival hotel said it was awful & the food was sub standard !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gareth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for telling your experience at the “Ambasciatori” on Tripadvisor.
We are very proud about your kind words; a strong message to enforce our will to do always better and offer to all our the guests a truly unique experience out of the time.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel lobby and dining room are very gorgeous, as are the many outdoor seating areas and the beach. I wasn't wild about our room or the overall vibe of the hotel. The breakfast, while complimentary, was "meh" and nothing special. The concierge were not as helpful or friendly as I had hoped.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank clynam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and we are sincerely very surprised because your review comes after hundreds of extremely good ones.
Our hotel is renowned for the friendliness and professionalism of the staff (again please have a look at the very many previous reviews).
Anyway we are very grateful for your feedback because every review, no matter whether positive or negative, helps us to improve all the time.
We hope that you may reconsider to return to visit us on another occasion, for sure we will be able to make your stay a very nice one.
With kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have returned to Sorrento for twenty six years and stayed in various hotels but the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori is our all time favourite. We have stayed here for the last five visits and cannot speak too highly of the accommodation. On arrival you are greeted in an extremely friendly and efficient manner. The rooms are very well furnished and decorated and the ones with sea views are out of this world. Cleanliness is excellent and all the staff are friendly and very efficient, nothing is too much trouble to make your stay memorable. The food is excellent with the menu offering a huge choice. The evening entertainment is of a very high standard.
Travel to the Amalfi coast is very easy either by bus, coach or sea. There is so much wonderful scenery to take in around the coast that a book on walking in the area is a must.The icecreams are heaven. Sorrento and surrounding area is paradise. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens and sea have the best views however all rooms are well furnished.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ashers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you for your wonderful feedback.
In your words all the future readers can find the essence of the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori in Sorrento.
We always try to be genuine and smiling people and treat each Guest as an old friend, coming to visit us after long time. The daily efforts to maintain the high quality of our services are reinvigorated by your words.
We will share your review with the hotel staff and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon .
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews