We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2008

We booked our honeymoon through sovereign via a travel agent.
from the outside the hotel looked impressive. upon checkin the staff were anything but friendly. we had room 607-horribly decorated, infested with ants but a nice view-we paid £370 a night and it was unbelievable how disgusting it was.

the minibar was full of drinks that had been half drank and it wasnt even clean!the bathroom was also dirty. we couldnt believe this was our honeymoon! we had a meal in the hotel on the first evening and i was sick that night and woke up the next morning unable to move my hands, id had an allergic reaction to either the food or an ant bite! we came home on the second day...we couldnt stay any longer!

DON'T GO-EVER!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank astra08Derry_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,253 - 1,259 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2008

we have been visiting the Ambasciatori for many years. When we arrive the reception staff welcome us with a big smile.
We keep returning to the Ambasciatori because we were so impressed on our first visit btythe friendliness and helpfulness from the staff in all departments.
The hotel is absolulety spotless in everyway, the rooms are freshly made every morning left spotless by rosanna who greets us in Italian when she sees us because she knows we are learning the language.
The food is excellent with a wide variety to choose from.
The gardens are very beauitful, romantic settings with lots of different areas to sit in and once a week a gala buffet dinner is held in the gardens over looking the bay of Naples with the sun setting over Ischia.
There's a lift which takes you down to the beach which is run by Salvatore and he makes sure that everybody on the deck doesn't get too much sun and there's also a nice snack bar.
We use to have a little chat to the night porter when we came in from the town.
This year we found he had retired and we have a new night porter Francesco and we found him to be very friendly and helpful, always greeted us with a smile when we would stroll in late from the town. He would ask us if everything was alright, did we have nice evening and if there was anything we needed.
And we find that really makes our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Positano8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

We stayed at the grand hotel Ambasciatori for 2 weeks during which time we got married at the cloisters in sorrento. we booked our wedding with Thomas Cook who recomended this hotel in their wedding brochure and as soon as we arrived at the hotel we knew we had made the right choice even more so that we decided to have our wedding reception at the hotel, with its stunning views and beautiful gardens. The staff are so friendly and helpful they made us feel very special our room was very clean and the food was out of this world. We enjoy our holidays and have visited many countries but the grand hotel Ambasciatori is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in.Our Thomas Cook wedding co-ordinator organised everything for our wedding and the hotel manager organised everything for our reception,he was lovely and made everything perfect for us, we had personalised menus wtih 5 courses it was great. Our guests were staying elsewhere in sorrento and they all said that when they return to Sorrento they would stay at the Ambasciatori, we didnt want to leave so we will definately be going back especially on anniversaries.Our wedding and honeymoon couldnt have been more perfect. Lisa and Craig Bradbury.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank brad76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

We wanted somewhere child and lager lout free, and found it in Sorrento in the Ambasciatori.

My parents had been at the hotel 19 years ago and raved about it so gave it a go.

Good location and we booked half board. Clean, tidy, and very helpful staff.

Only real let down was the food which was not that great, probably more like a three star effort. I like a good buffet breakfast, but this was maybe a 5 ot of 10. For a foreign country you would expect fesh fruit and juice, but sadly all tinned and concentrated.

Nevertheless, the bathing area at the sea was a delight and the wee man there, Salvatore, was great. Booked a boat trip to Capri via the Hotel which was good but a tad expensive.

Rooms were fine, clean and tidy although we did get bitten every night so doubt the matresses are new!

All in all, a good place to go for a relaxing break free of kids and lager louts.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

We have just returned from two weeks at The Ambasciatori and enjoyed the experience. The views were stunning from our balcony and indeed from the gardens and terraces around the hotel. The rooms are simple Italian style and the bathrooms are a little dated but they are kept spotlessly clean and there was a lot of natural light in the bedroom helped by all of the mirrors. The food was very good with four or five choices for each course for the evening meal and the buffet breakfast has everything you need. We have stayed at hotels with a larger selection of hot food in the mornings but we did not miss this as the selection was very good. I am vegetarian and I enjoyed my meals as did my husband who isn't vegetarian. We found most of the staff in the hotel helpful and friendly but there are a couple of members of staff in the restaurant that don't seem very interested in helping the guests but this definitely does not apply to all waiting staff. The bar staff are extremely helpful and friendly whether it be during the day around the pool or at night in the bar or gardens. There is a gala buffet dinner on Tuesday evenings on the terrace which is a wonderful setting and the food is fantastic and plentiful. The swimming pool is small and the hydromassage pool only seems to have a couple of jets working. My husband likes to swim lengths and it certainly is not big enough for that. We didn't use the beach platform but lots of people seemed to enjoy it down there. We sunbathed in the garden near to the pool where there are lots of lovely little areas to sit or lay whenever we were not out and about. The public areas of the hotel are very nice with lovely orchids and other plants around. We enjoyed the walk into the town it takes about ten minutes and its good to walk off some of the wonderful food.

The only downside to our visit was that we arrived at 11.45 am by taxi from the airport on a Thomson's flight to a Thomson allocated room to find our room was not ready. This seemed fair enough at first as check in time is 2 pm and we realised we were quite early although Thomson's guests must arrive at this time every Friday. We were told to go and sit in the garden and have a drink (not a welcome drink we had to pay for it) and that our room might possibly be ready before 2 pm. We thought they would contact Housekeeping and get our room ready for us but we waited outside in our travelling clothes getting very hot and feeling quite tired as we had an early flight and hence had to be at the airport very early, until we had to move back inside to keep cool. Nothing happened and 2 pm came and went and I was thinking that I would like to contact Thomson and get moved somewhere else when at 2.45 my husband enquired again and they said it was ready. I think to keep guests waiting for three hours even when they have arrived before the official check in time is not really good customer service. I think they should be a bit more adaptable. Interestingly our room was never cleaned before 3 pm on any day that we were there so I think they have a fairly rigid routine and not enough chambermaids. We were also rather surprised to be charged 42 Euros to use the safe in the room for two weeks. We have stayed in many five star hotels where it is free.

Having said all that after that first day we relaxed and came to really like the hotel and can see why people return. We loved Sorrento and the surrounding area.

I think this hotel is a good four star and with some improvements has the potential to be five star it already charges five star prices for drinks!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwigsOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

After marrying in Tuscany, Italy my husband and I were really excited about our honeymoon in Sorrento, particularly our stay in the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, which we were told by Classical Collection Holidays was a perfect hotel for a honeymoon couple. When my husband told me he’d paid £375 per night I was expecting something really special. We arrived at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori and first impression was good, because the exterior looked elegant. On entrance we were not made to feel very welcome which I was shocked about, especially for a hotel of this price. Then came our room which was such a poor standard and it was from here that our problems started. The room we were given was very disappointing. The decor was tired and the bathroom had not been decorated in years. We couldn’t believe the standard remembering the reputation and price of the hotel. The room had a balcony with a sea view. The view was stunning but our balcony was so small the two of us could barely fit on it together. We couldn’t believe we were in the room we had booked for £375 per night. We contacted the reception and were then shown two other rooms to choose from. They were both almost identical, but even worse bathrooms. This is not the standard we expected.

When we returned to our room having been gone twenty minutes we found a sea of ants all over the desk in the bedroom. We called reception and a maid was sent up with a can of ant spray. She sprayed she desk and the door leading to the balcony and told us to keep the balcony door shut as this was where the ants were coming from. I was now in tears. This was our honeymoon. The room stank. Not once did a senior member of staff come to aid us and make us comfortable.

We’ve stayed in hotels all over the world, some at half the cost of the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori and were far more superior and a much higher level of service.

We decided we would give the evening meal in the hotel a try and went down for a meal at about 9pm. It was possible to sit outside overlooking the sea so we asked for a table right at the front of the restaurant with a view. When we asked to sit there we were quite rudely told that the table was set for four people and we were shown a table at the back of the restaurant for two. During the course of the bland meal nobody sat at that table and there was not one party of four in sight. It may seem a minor incident compared to the others, but this was the most unwelcoming experience we had ever experienced.

The next day we decided in order salvage the remaining 4 nights of our honeymoon we would have to move hotel. We telephoned Classic Collection Holidays (our travel agent) and an Italian rep from Classic Collection Holiday found us a more suitable boutique style hotel (perfect for honeymooners). Our rep couldn’t believe we had been recommended the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori for our honeymoon. He told us the hotel was living off a good reputation and perfect for the over 60’s!

Our experience was heartbreaking. It was that bad that we moved hotel and paid again, because the hotel would not refund any of our original booking, despite our upset and polite nature.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank reb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

My new husband and I have stayed at the Grand hotel Ambasciatori numerous times over the last 2-3 years and each time the experience just gets better. Never before have we met more friendly and courteous staff and more importantly the hotel Director Giovanni and Reservations Manager Massimo could not have done enough for us. Throughout the last 18 months Giovanni has helped us considerably to organise our special wedding day which took place in May and ensured that everything ran smoothly. The majority of our guests even complimented the hotel and staff and made a point of telling us it was the best wedding that they had ever been to which is thanks again to the wonderful staff there. The location of the hotel is fantastic with stunning views, beautiful Italian gardens with lemon trees plus the hotel offers a private beach area and a lovely pool where there is a bar in which you can get a drink or snack. The hotel is also just a short pleasant stroll from the Piazza Tasso.

As it was our wedding we decided to treat ourselves and book a sea view room, when we arrived we had the most amazing large balcony overlooking Mount Vesuvius. During my stay, I did visit some of the standard rooms which our friends were staying in, the rooms are large and although there are some references to them being like dungeons in other reports, yes they have got internal balconies however this is clearly stated on their website and you are given the choice to book a different room for a slightly higher price.

As soon as we can we will be booking our 1st wedding anniversary there and we can honestly say that we have never had or do not have a bad word to say about the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori.

Carl & Sara Toft

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Toft0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £178 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing