We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View ti ful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Everyone has a preference of location when selecting a hotel and for us Ambasciatori delivered. We were not fortunate to get a sea view room which did not matter because there are plenty of places to enjoy the stunning view from the hotel grounds. The hotel is not situated in the heart of Sorrento the advantages of this are decent daily walks and being away from the harbour which is quite busy with constant ferry crossings. Not all of the hotels have access to the sea, which is another reason why this hotel is a good choice.

The hotel interior is elegant and the grounds very clean. The food at the beach snack bar was standard choice at a reasonable price. The breakfast was satisfactory. Overall I enjoyed my stay the only problem was keeping our room for a few extra hours in the afternoon. I thought the price for 4 hours was ridiculous and having to shower at the beach improper.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcj1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

I booked a weeks stay here as a surprise for my husbands 50th birthday and boy did it live up to expectations. Everyone and everything from the wonderful, helpful staff (who helped me make a fuss of my husband on his special day) to the decor inside and out. The hotel is situated about ten minutes walk from the main square and it is a lovely walk with many things to see. The only downside to our stay was, as the floors in the rooms are tiled, noise really travels especially when there are young children running around at unsociable hours and screaming. Thankfully this was not for the entire stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel is traditionally furnished, but with unexpected modern features. It's about 10-15 minutes walk from Sorrento centre and the station, which feels close enough, but not right in the heart of the town.
We took advantage of the hotel's April offer including room upgrade to Junior Suite, with discount vouchers, a free meal and welcome drink. Also waiting for us in the room was a bowl of fresh fruit and a bottle of Prosecco on ice, topped by a stunning view from the cliffs over the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius.
The room had everything we needed, and was extremely comfortable. The service at the desk and in the restaurant and bars was discreet, helpful, and perfectly timed. The food at breakfast, in the poolside bar, the Muse restaurant, and in the rather expensive 'a la carte' was all first class.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is such a beautiful and we'll kept hotel. The entryway is bright and we'll decorated. The staff are very friendly. We were initially given a premium room with an ocean view. However, since it was raining, the ceiling leaked as we first entered our room. So, they upgraded us to this beautiful seaside suite with a massive room and bathroom. The room had central air and was easy to access the main part of the hotel. The bed is a very comfortable king which is hard to find. We did pay for parking but it was nice that the hotel had their own lot which was protected. The breakfast in the morning was a lovely display in their main dining room. The waiters are wearing traditional white coats and there is a great selection of food. This is not a roll out of bed and start eating kind of place, FYI. The people that wore flip flops and jogging shorts definitely stood out. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra money and get the premium rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear valued customer,

thank you very much for your splendid review written on tripadvisor web site.

We are pleased to read that you totally enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in particular our Suites recently refurbished and renovated all with stunning view over the sea and the Gulf of Neaples.

Thank you very much for mentioning our buffet breakfast with its vast choice and variety of food served in our main restaurant on the sea.

All the Staff at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori hope to welcome you again very soon.

Warmest regards

Customer care department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed the most amazing views, beautiful food (including buffet breakfast) and wonderful staff. Be careful not to book a room on the road side as it's very noisy! Reception are all too happy to help with any question and always go above and beyond

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank PULS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Valued customer,

thank you very much for your feed back left on Tripadvisor concerning our Hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your 4 nights stay at our properties and appreciate the professionalism of our staff.

We hope to welcome you again in the nearer future.

Best Regards

Customer care department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Had three days on the coast. Very nice property. Walking distance to main square. Helpful staff and amazing views of the Naples bay. Bar is a little stuffy, but the end of our days, we just wanted to collapse in the room. Nice full breakfast included. Rooms are typical European size. Our superior suite would be considered a standard room in the US, but the view more than made up for it. Would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clyde C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear valued customer,

thank you very much for the time spent in writing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased you have appreciated our Hotel and its facilities during your short stay.

Thank you for appreciating our staff as well since they work very hard to meet the needs of our customers.

We hope to welcome you soon again and remain

Warmest regards

Customer care department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A beautiful hotel just over 5 minutes walk from the centre of Sorrento. The hotel is situated on the cliff edge which gives stunning views over Sorrento town and Vesuvius. Hotel rooms and the surrounding hotel are tastefully decorated in a classic design. Bedrooms and bathrooms are spotless, double rooms have a super king size bed and large flat screen T.V. which includes several English channels. The high quality bed linen was changed every 3 days and towels were changed daily. There is also a fully stocked mini fridge with beers, spirits, wine and soft drinks. There is also free Wi-Fi for the duration of your stay.
The grounds surrounding the hotel are beautifully maintained and include lemon trees. The hotel pool, bar and terrace were also well maintained. There is a lift down to the bathing platform although this was closed during our stay (opens in May).
Breakfast at the hotel was excellent. Breakfast is self service and included fresh fruits, yoghurts, cheeses, meats, bacon, eggs, sautéed potatoes, toast and a large selection of pastries. There was a good selection of tea’s and coffee in addition to fresh fruit juices. The dining room is very elegant and has magnificent views out to sea and overlooking Vesuvius. The waiters are very attentive and if there is something you want that isn’t on display they will get it for you. The evening meal was excellent and exceptionally good value for money, with a good selection on offer.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, its location, rooms, décor and more importantly all the staff who work there were attentive, polite and nothing was too much trouble. Out of interest I clicked on some of the bad reviews that have been posted on TA as I was amazed that there could be a bad review on this hotel. Please do not believe any of the negative reviews this hotel has posted against it as they are simply not a true reflection of the hotel, the Excellent/Terrible ratio speaks for itself and any negative reviews are totally unfair in my opinion.
This is an amazing hotel in a fabulous location with outstanding staff and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have the best views and if it states garden view you'll also have a sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear valued customer,

thank you very much for writing such an excellent review and sharing it with all readers on Tripadvisor.

Your description concerning our Hotel and the services provided is very accurate and attentive and for this we are very grateful.

You have exactly highlighted our strengths that with great sacrifice our staff seek to achieve daily.

We hope to welcome you soon in order to give us the opportunity to surprise you more and more with our attention to your needs.

Warmest regards

Customer care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £166 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing