We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel and view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

From the rooms to the views, resonably pricing and restaurant, you can't go wrong. Wonderfully clean, great sea view, beautiful gardens and amenities, this hotel is a must. The only thing I can say is that if you're a night owl, you may want to find another place. The walk into town is about a mile - or 15 minute walk, so be wary if you have issues getting around. There is no fitness center or spa here, but would stay again.

Room Tip: Definitely get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duchess2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    252
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
292
871
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Fantastic hotel with a stunning location!!! We were there on a half board plan the food was just amazing! 4 course dinners were fantastic and everything was prepared with an extreme attention to detail. If you can upgrade to the full ocean view rooms do that because the view is nothing short of amazing. The staff are great as well and make you feel welcome!

If you're going to be in Sorrento stay at this hotel 100%!!

Take a day tour to POSITANO and AMALFI it's really amazing!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bilal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel has a real WOW factor when you enter it. It is on the cliffs overlooking the Bay of Naples. It has lovely gardens, pool area and a terrace bar overlooking the bay and the restaurant also has great views. We loved watching the sunset when we ate in the restaurant. We found the hotel restaurant to be very good. The hotel was offering a special deal if you ate in the restaurant for 3 nights and it was very good value. We particularly enjoyed the special Sorrento night when there was live music and a special menu. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice in cold dishes, including a variety of fresh fruit. The chef was also on hand to cook fresh eggs and crepes. Our room had a partial view of the bay and it was nicely furnished and comfortable. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the centre of town along a very busy road. This is a hotel I recommend highly. You can really relax and enjoy the wonderful setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrgS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Everyone has a preference of location when selecting a hotel and for us Ambasciatori delivered. We were not fortunate to get a sea view room which did not matter because there are plenty of places to enjoy the stunning view from the hotel grounds. The hotel is not situated in the heart of Sorrento the advantages of this are decent daily walks and being away from the harbour which is quite busy with constant ferry crossings. Not all of the hotels have access to the sea, which is another reason why this hotel is a good choice.

The hotel interior is elegant and the grounds very clean. The food at the beach snack bar was standard choice at a reasonable price. The breakfast was satisfactory. Overall I enjoyed my stay the only problem was keeping our room for a few extra hours in the afternoon. I thought the price for 4 hours was ridiculous and having to shower at the beach improper.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcj1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I booked a weeks stay here as a surprise for my husbands 50th birthday and boy did it live up to expectations. Everyone and everything from the wonderful, helpful staff (who helped me make a fuss of my husband on his special day) to the decor inside and out. The hotel is situated about ten minutes walk from the main square and it is a lovely walk with many things to see. The only downside to our stay was, as the floors in the rooms are tiled, noise really travels especially when there are young children running around at unsociable hours and screaming. Thankfully this was not for the entire stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel is traditionally furnished, but with unexpected modern features. It's about 10-15 minutes walk from Sorrento centre and the station, which feels close enough, but not right in the heart of the town.
We took advantage of the hotel's April offer including room upgrade to Junior Suite, with discount vouchers, a free meal and welcome drink. Also waiting for us in the room was a bowl of fresh fruit and a bottle of Prosecco on ice, topped by a stunning view from the cliffs over the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius.
The room had everything we needed, and was extremely comfortable. The service at the desk and in the restaurant and bars was discreet, helpful, and perfectly timed. The food at breakfast, in the poolside bar, the Muse restaurant, and in the rather expensive 'a la carte' was all first class.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is such a beautiful and we'll kept hotel. The entryway is bright and we'll decorated. The staff are very friendly. We were initially given a premium room with an ocean view. However, since it was raining, the ceiling leaked as we first entered our room. So, they upgraded us to this beautiful seaside suite with a massive room and bathroom. The room had central air and was easy to access the main part of the hotel. The bed is a very comfortable king which is hard to find. We did pay for parking but it was nice that the hotel had their own lot which was protected. The breakfast in the morning was a lovely display in their main dining room. The waiters are wearing traditional white coats and there is a great selection of food. This is not a roll out of bed and start eating kind of place, FYI. The people that wore flip flops and jogging shorts definitely stood out. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra money and get the premium rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear valued customer,

thank you very much for your splendid review written on tripadvisor web site.

We are pleased to read that you totally enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in particular our Suites recently refurbished and renovated all with stunning view over the sea and the Gulf of Neaples.

Thank you very much for mentioning our buffet breakfast with its vast choice and variety of food served in our main restaurant on the sea.

All the Staff at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori hope to welcome you again very soon.

Warmest regards

Customer care department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing