We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We returned to the Ambasciatori for our 6th visit on 12 may, bringing 4 family and friends with us.Once again the hotel exceeded all our expectations. We had a junior suite overlooking the sea and the room was very large and spotless.
Guiseppe and Valentino in the restaurant together with all their staff were as friendly and helpful as ever, and the food was delicious, with an astounding choice of dishes and wines.
We can't forget Tonino and Gennaro who run the bar with flair and charm.
The hotel is a pleasant 10 minute walk from the centre of town, which even I found easy though needing a stick to walk with.
We will certainly be returning to our friends at the Ambasciatori as soon as we can.

Room Tip: If you can afford a small surcharge, try for a room with a sea view, though you can see the sea from...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetwodavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

thank you so much for such a positive feedback that helps us to do our job with more and more passion. This is our aim and we are glad we managed to make your stay an enjoyable one. We all look forward to welcoming you very soon.

Warm regards,

Customer care department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,553)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

My Husband and I have just arrived home from an amazing trip to Italy to get married with 40 of our friends and family.
We had our ceremony at the cloisters in central sorrento and then had a drinks reception on the bottom terrace at the Ambasciatori. The atmosphere and service was excellent and Guiseppe, our event organiser, was present from beginning to end.
After a couple of hours drinking and mixing with our guests on the terrace, we then continued our celebrations in the beautiful restaurant. The restaurant is a bright room with gorgeous white tables and chairs, big beautiful chandeliers and views of the sea and mount Vesuvius.
Guiseppe organised everything to a T, and as the weather looked like it could rain, he even allowed us to use the restaurant for the meal. It is not usually used for parties of under 100 but he said the weather was too risky to eat outside.
The tables were laid out beautifully and the hotel organised lovely rose and gypsophila flower arrangements for each table. We had an amazing 5 course dinner, as we couldn't decide on which menu we liked, Guiseppe allowed us to choose two different menus. Nothing was too much trouble for Guiseppe. The food was out of this world and a large amount of our guests approached me after the wedding to say it was the best wedding food they had ever had, and I agree with them!! One of the best meals I have ever had!!
The Ambasciatori Hotel will always be very special and mean a lot to us and we hope to visit in the future.
If anyone is thinking of having their wedding reception at The Ambasciatori, please do not hesitate to contact me for me information.

Thank you to Guiseppe and all the staff at the Ambasciatori!

Mr and Mrs Blyth

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sle_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

From the rooms to the views, resonably pricing and restaurant, you can't go wrong. Wonderfully clean, great sea view, beautiful gardens and amenities, this hotel is a must. The only thing I can say is that if you're a night owl, you may want to find another place. The walk into town is about a mile - or 15 minute walk, so be wary if you have issues getting around. There is no fitness center or spa here, but would stay again.

Room Tip: Definitely get a sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duchess2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Fantastic hotel with a stunning location!!! We were there on a half board plan the food was just amazing! 4 course dinners were fantastic and everything was prepared with an extreme attention to detail. If you can upgrade to the full ocean view rooms do that because the view is nothing short of amazing. The staff are great as well and make you feel welcome!

If you're going to be in Sorrento stay at this hotel 100%!!

Take a day tour to POSITANO and AMALFI it's really amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bilal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel has a real WOW factor when you enter it. It is on the cliffs overlooking the Bay of Naples. It has lovely gardens, pool area and a terrace bar overlooking the bay and the restaurant also has great views. We loved watching the sunset when we ate in the restaurant. We found the hotel restaurant to be very good. The hotel was offering a special deal if you ate in the restaurant for 3 nights and it was very good value. We particularly enjoyed the special Sorrento night when there was live music and a special menu. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice in cold dishes, including a variety of fresh fruit. The chef was also on hand to cook fresh eggs and crepes. Our room had a partial view of the bay and it was nicely furnished and comfortable. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the centre of town along a very busy road. This is a hotel I recommend highly. You can really relax and enjoy the wonderful setting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrgS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Everyone has a preference of location when selecting a hotel and for us Ambasciatori delivered. We were not fortunate to get a sea view room which did not matter because there are plenty of places to enjoy the stunning view from the hotel grounds. The hotel is not situated in the heart of Sorrento the advantages of this are decent daily walks and being away from the harbour which is quite busy with constant ferry crossings. Not all of the hotels have access to the sea, which is another reason why this hotel is a good choice.

The hotel interior is elegant and the grounds very clean. The food at the beach snack bar was standard choice at a reasonable price. The breakfast was satisfactory. Overall I enjoyed my stay the only problem was keeping our room for a few extra hours in the afternoon. I thought the price for 4 hours was ridiculous and having to shower at the beach improper.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcj1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I booked a weeks stay here as a surprise for my husbands 50th birthday and boy did it live up to expectations. Everyone and everything from the wonderful, helpful staff (who helped me make a fuss of my husband on his special day) to the decor inside and out. The hotel is situated about ten minutes walk from the main square and it is a lovely walk with many things to see. The only downside to our stay was, as the floors in the rooms are tiled, noise really travels especially when there are young children running around at unsociable hours and screaming. Thankfully this was not for the entire stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
2,432 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £200 - £847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing