We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Returned to Hotel on 9th May for our annual family holiday, our 9th visit. Again the hotel meets its excellent high standard of service and attention to detail. Garden view rooms, spacious and clean overlooking the well tendered gardens and pool area with views over the bay of naples. Food of a high standard and variety to suite all requirements, served by a team of staff with attention to detail. Car Parking on site, hotel situated a 10 min walk from Pizza Tassa (flat route). reception and reservation staff professional and organised in managing requirements of guests, nothing is ever a problem to them. Lovely hotel and we shall hope to return again, Thanks you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    258
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
302
906
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Ambasciatori is an absolutely wonderful hotel! This was my first trip to Italy and I really wanted to stay in a lovely, traditional Italian hotel and this certainly did not disappoint. The location of the hotel was very good being about a 12 minute walk to the Piazza Tasso. The views from the rooms, terraces and public areas are amazing. The pool area and the gardens are very well kept. The hotel was immaculately clean. Our room, which was a Prestige room, was first class. We did pay a little more for it but it was certainly worth it. It was so beautifully decorated and well appointed. I absolutely loved the bathroom and of course the views from the balcony were stunning! It was a very spacious room with a nice sitting area by the French windows. It was so nice just after arrival to have a bottle of sparkling Italian wine and a basket of fruit delivered to the room. We found all the staff members working in the hotel to be extremely friendly and helpful. Erme Linda, who worked on the front desk, was particularly helpful with suggestions for walks, restaurants etc. We ate one dinner in the Hotel which was fabulous. I have been showing all my friends a photograph I took of the chocolate desert which I had. It was so nicely presented! I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and if I ever return to Sorrento I will definitely stay at the Ambasciatori.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 405, which is a Prestige room with fabulous views overlooking the Bay of Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottewendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for the time spent to write such a wonderful review on your recent stay at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori. We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed the décor and beauty of our rooms, the location right on the bay of Naples and finally the staff; it was really rewarding for us to hearing you found all staff members helpful and cheerful. This is our main aim and we are really happy we made your stay unforgettable. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Warmest regards,

Customer care department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori for 7 nights starting May 11th and found the accommodations to be first rate. The room was great, the service exceptional, the staff friendly and the food was absolutely outstanding. (Breakfast was included). We had two dinners at the hotel and both were amazing.
The beach and pool areas were also quite beautiful.
The only issue we had was with inconsistent WIFI service (2nd floor-room 501) but that seemed to resolve itself after a few days.

Room Tip: Book a room with either a Sea View or partial Sea View as the rooms facing the street seem like they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugarloafer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear valued Guest,

thank you for sharing your positive experience in our hotel, from our recently renovated rooms to the friendly staff as well as the quality and choice offered at breakfast and dinner. Also thank you for reporting the problem of the wi-fi connection which was solved immediately. We hope to welcome you back very soon for another unforgettable stay in Sorrento!

With warm regards,

Customer care department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We spent 4 glorious days in Sorrento and we used this Hotel as our focal point. From here it was easy to tour Capri, Amalfi Coast and Pompeii. Also, the closeness of all of the amenities in the town made our walks very enjoyable. But best of all, the Hotel is absolutely gorgeous with views of the Bay of Naples from our balcony to top it off. The poolside bar area was an added pleasure as we sat there upon arrival with a bottle of wine and small plates and enjoyed the view of the Bay while being served by an excellent staff. Our room was always tidy and clean and the breakfast buffet is to die for which included a very well stocked omelet station. The remainder of the staff from the front desk to the bellman all were so friendly, kind and most helpful which made our stay incredibly pleasant. We have discussed returning just to Sorrento for a whole week so we could enjoy another stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are so pleased you had such a wonderful time whilst staying with us and that you have appreciated the hotel location together with the service provided and food. Your kind compliments will spur us to do better and better and we all look forward to welcoming you very soon.

With kind regards,

Customer care department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We returned to the Ambasciatori for our 6th visit on 12 may, bringing 4 family and friends with us.Once again the hotel exceeded all our expectations. We had a junior suite overlooking the sea and the room was very large and spotless.
Guiseppe and Valentino in the restaurant together with all their staff were as friendly and helpful as ever, and the food was delicious, with an astounding choice of dishes and wines.
We can't forget Tonino and Gennaro who run the bar with flair and charm.
The hotel is a pleasant 10 minute walk from the centre of town, which even I found easy though needing a stick to walk with.
We will certainly be returning to our friends at the Ambasciatori as soon as we can.

Room Tip: If you can afford a small surcharge, try for a room with a sea view, though you can see the sea from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetwodavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you so much for such a positive feedback that helps us to do our job with more and more passion. This is our aim and we are glad we managed to make your stay an enjoyable one. We all look forward to welcoming you very soon.

Warm regards,

Customer care department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My Husband and I have just arrived home from an amazing trip to Italy to get married with 40 of our friends and family.
We had our ceremony at the cloisters in central sorrento and then had a drinks reception on the bottom terrace at the Ambasciatori. The atmosphere and service was excellent and Guiseppe, our event organiser, was present from beginning to end.
After a couple of hours drinking and mixing with our guests on the terrace, we then continued our celebrations in the beautiful restaurant. The restaurant is a bright room with gorgeous white tables and chairs, big beautiful chandeliers and views of the sea and mount Vesuvius.
Guiseppe organised everything to a T, and as the weather looked like it could rain, he even allowed us to use the restaurant for the meal. It is not usually used for parties of under 100 but he said the weather was too risky to eat outside.
The tables were laid out beautifully and the hotel organised lovely rose and gypsophila flower arrangements for each table. We had an amazing 5 course dinner, as we couldn't decide on which menu we liked, Guiseppe allowed us to choose two different menus. Nothing was too much trouble for Guiseppe. The food was out of this world and a large amount of our guests approached me after the wedding to say it was the best wedding food they had ever had, and I agree with them!! One of the best meals I have ever had!!
The Ambasciatori Hotel will always be very special and mean a lot to us and we hope to visit in the future.
If anyone is thinking of having their wedding reception at The Ambasciatori, please do not hesitate to contact me for me information.

Thank you to Guiseppe and all the staff at the Ambasciatori!

Mr and Mrs Blyth

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sle_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

From the rooms to the views, resonably pricing and restaurant, you can't go wrong. Wonderfully clean, great sea view, beautiful gardens and amenities, this hotel is a must. The only thing I can say is that if you're a night owl, you may want to find another place. The walk into town is about a mile - or 15 minute walk, so be wary if you have issues getting around. There is no fitness center or spa here, but would stay again.

Room Tip: Definitely get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duchess2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,625 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing